We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Empress Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$ 107*
View Deal
10/06/2017 11/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 133*
US$ 107*
US$ 133*
US$ 107*
US$ 133*
US$ 107*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Empress Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Empress Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 547: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Central location on the prom, with bus stops close by and a pedestrian crossing making it easy to get across the road in busy times. A good view of the bay. Our double room was small, but more than adequate for our 5 night stay. Shower was over the bath and very powerful, which was great. Free toiletries - shampoo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dirtydawn
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed as a group of 31 four nights at this well located large hotel. The rooms are good, bathrooms very good. Staff friendly and very efficient. Breakfast good, Dinner good. No real weaknesses.......but note shaver points different from UK

 Report
Helpful?
Thank david r
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear david r Thanks for your kind feedback. Glad your group had a good stay and hope you will return again in the future. Not sure which room you were in as the shaving points at the hotel are all UK standard ones, but thanks for your comments. Regards Neil Gray Business Manager

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was a return visit. The location and sea view is fantastic. Our room had been refurbished. We enjoyed the friendly helpful atmosphere. The breakfast was the best one throughout our 3 week vacation in the UK. We liked the young energetic young servers. We especially must mention Dimitra who takes special care of diners in the dining room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valcanada2016
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear valcanada2016 Many thanks for your 5 star review. I'm sure all of the staff will be pleased to see your comments after their hard work to ensure we look after guests as well as possible. I do hope you are able to return again in the future. Regards Neil Gray Business Manager

Carnforth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have previously stayed here before hence booking again. Only booked night before with Booking.com Checking in fine efficiently .Room clean and large facing the rear but quite and was not a problem Had bar meal which was good,entertainment good, seemed to cater for the elderly but that was no problem we had to leave and returned later. Breakfast excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank philcalvert
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear philcalvert Thanks for your 5 star review. I'm glad you had another great stay. Rather than booking on a 3rd party site and to save you money, go to our website and either book on the advance purchase rate which saves 10% if you pay in advance, or use code DIRB to save £5 a night on our flexible...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent refurbished executive sea view room. Extremely comfortable beds. Fantastic view. Amazing choice for breakfast. Hotel has friendly and helpful staff. Early check in not a problem if room is ready, check out up to midday on request, usually 11am

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Winston B
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Winston B Thanks for your kind review. Glad you liked the newly refurbished sea view room with new beds and also the breakfast too. Hope to see you again soon. Regards Neil Gray Business Manager

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have stayed at The Empress for the past 4 years and have to say that the standard of service has declined. Despite our group booking booking for a week for a sporting event which necessitated early morning starts we were put in a room on the first floor directly over a very noisy disco on the Friday (beware of room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PennyPIR
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PennyPIR Unfortunately some people expect the hotel to open breakfast earlier on occasions than our 6.45am opening to suit your own plans. As we offer a continental breakfast before this time every day, I think your comments are very unfair as to cook a full English breakfast earlier involves a cost of 4+ staff coming in even earlier and...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were on a five-day holiday excursion to Isle of Man, and the Empress Hotel was where we stayed. The Hotel is centrally located on the Promenade in Douglas and the perfect location for the Island. Accommodation, food and service are all first class, whether taking breakfast, or the excellent evening meal. The varied menu suits all tastes including vegetarian...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank davec17carter
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear davec17carter Thanks for your 5 star review. So glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and all aspects of the hotel. The sea view rooms are available for a small upgrade supplement and well worth the extra cost with larger rooms and Sky & BT channels in each room. I hope you can return again and try one of those...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just stayed in hotel for two nights with business, on arrival put in room at back of hotel next to noisy extractor fan, phoned down to ask for more to be told sorry full booked hotel and to bad the fan will go off around 9p.m. which it did, all in it was a poor room also next door to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flyer94
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear flyer94 Thanks for your review but sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. As the busiest hotel in Douglas, we do run at near capacity for much of the year, and unfortunately means that we are not able to move rooms on those occasions when guests want to move. The housekeeping office near your room opens at 8am when the...

Sutton Coldfield UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying for one night while here for work. Hotel is right on the front and I bet it could be a bit off if the weather was grim. It's a beautiful art deco style but looking a bit tired round the edges. However, it is clean and tidy and welcoming . Reception was very welcoming on arrival. Three places to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StuInSutton
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear StuInSutton Thanks for your review. Our food variety allows for different budgets with the Manx Burger & Grill restaurant offering a main meal for around £11-12 and The Brasserie providing a 3 course meal for around £25-28 which I think is very good value for the high quality. I'm glad you also found the bar staff to be helpful...

South Brunswick, New Jersey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Smallish room although it’s a single. The bathroom is small but adequate. Clean room, comfortable bed. The Wi-Fi is free. No safe, though. Not enough electrical outlets. The hotel is right on the beach so I’d say it would be great during the summer. No dedicated parking which was a large problem in that I had a terrible time finding...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
HEHotels, Manager at The Empress Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane K Thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay. Like all hotels on the Promenade, we have no parking at the hotel, but the Prom does provide free parking directly in front of the hotel offering several hundred spaces on a first come first served basis. I am not aware of any hotels in Douglas that offer...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (30)
10/06/2017 11/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Douglas hotels
0.2 km away
The Welbeck Hotel
The Welbeck Hotel
#1 of 22 in Douglas
369 reviews
1.0 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#4 of 22 in Douglas
347 reviews
0.5 km away
Sefton Hotel
Sefton Hotel
#10 of 22 in Douglas
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Best Western Palace Hotel & Casino
0.3 km away
Ascot Hotel
Ascot Hotel
#2 of 22 in Douglas
338 reviews
0.2 km away
Mannin Hotel
Mannin Hotel
#3 of 22 in Douglas
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Empress Hotel offers three star comfort and has 102 bedrooms of which there are 3 luxurious executive suites with separate lounge area. There are a number of Executive Sea View rooms and a fantastic top floor Penthouse overlooking the whole of Douglas Bay. All of the remaining Classic single, double and twin bedrooms are fully equipped with the comforts of home. For dining, we have The Brasserie Restaurant offering an ala carte selection of carefully prepared dishes by our expert team of chefs and this is located by reception. Alongside the restaurant is the Piano Bar which is open from 11am until late with our resident pianist playing 4 days a week and Sky Sports also available for Sports fans. Our Manx Gourmet Burger Restaurant is open on the lower ground floor, serving the best locally produced burgers on the Island. The hotel has a small gym, sauna and steam room for residents only use, along with our Beauty & Massage Suite operated by Halcyon Beauty. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Empress Hotel

Address: Central Promenade, Douglas IM2 4RA
Region: United Kingdom > Isle of Man > Douglas
Price Range: ₹ 6,058 - ₹ 10,769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Empress Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Empress Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Douglas
Empress Hotel Isle Of Man
The Empress Hotel Douglas, Isle Of Man, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Empress Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Empress Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A sea view would be my recommendation .”
larpsmacc, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the bay give you the sun and the view.”
hpbondsfarm, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“our second floor Suite was very quiet and had lovely views over the Bay. Well worth the modest extra cost over a superior double.”
O2566PLstevenc, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Try a seafront - could be better - avoid 317...”
Paulinderwick, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Make sure you have a sea view room as high up as possible to avoid creaking floors above you”
AllanUlv, 15 May 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$ 107* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 107
Booking.comUS$ 107
HotelQuicklyUS$ 133
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates