We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
4-6 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN England
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
StayForLong
Agoda.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (432)
Room & Suite (163)
Dining (15)

About

#47 of 50 in Shanklin
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
So many travelers make Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel their hotel of choice when visiting Shanklin. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers an array of amenities designed for travelers. Rooms at Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel provide a flat screen TV and a desk, and getting online is easy, with free wifi available. In addition, Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel offers a pool and continental breakfast, which will help make your Shanklin trip additionally gratifying. And, as an added convenience, there is free parking available to guests. Nearby landmarks such as St Blasius Church, Shanklin (0.7 mi) and Shanklin to Ventnor Coastal Walk (1.3 mi) make Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel a great place to stay when visiting Shanklin. When you’re feeling hungry, be sure to check out Fisherman's Cottage, The Waterfront Inn, and The Corner Grill House, which are some seafood restaurants that are popular with locals and out-of-towners alike. Best of all, Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel makes it easy to experience some great Shanklin attractions like Rylstone Gardens, which is a popular garden. We’re sure you’ll enjoy your stay at Melbourne - Ardenlea Hotel as you experience all of the things Shanklin has to offer.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Game room
Mini golf
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Public wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Windsurfing
Fishing
Walking tours
First aid kit
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
746Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 134
  • 137
  • 116
  • 93
  • 266
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Yvonne B wrote a review 11 May
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
Food was cold most days, no organisation at breakfast, staff were pleasant but no idea of service. Only plus was entertainment . Room was okay, I was lucky compared to some that were on same coach trip. Never again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Gemma B wrote a review 9 May
33 contributions46 helpful votes
Needs were basic and dated but if you’re tired enough you’ll sleep, the window had to be held open with a designated bit of wood, the heating was on full with. No way of turning it down but the water was like ice. TV was basic. Towels were good and the staff were so sweet and kind. The bar was poor, the alcohol was old and out of date or flat. Door are heavy and slam. The entertainment on the Saturday night was nice though one party was over loud.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
K1126SCalbertp wrote a review 6 May
Orlando, Florida8 contributions6 helpful votes
Do yourself a favour if you travel to the Isle of Wight and avoid this slum at all costs! The list of negatives is just too long to list out here and there aren’t any positive’s. Plenty of the other reviews on here will tell you all you need to know.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Alex L wrote a review Apr 2022
1 contribution2 helpful votes
I have booked 2 days at Melbourne Ardenlea Hotel, checked in on Monday 11 April 5.40 pm, as I felt spooky and smelt of cigarette smoke on my arrival to the hotel, I tried to ask if I could cancel the following day, The reception lady agreed with my cancellation and She said she would only charge me for 1 day but she took my money twice accidentally - due to the faulty payment machine (first one looked as declined but actually gone through), which means I paid 1day +1day = 2 days. When I found this incidence in the evening on Tuesday, 12 April, I went back to the hotel for a refund at 7pm, the reception lady wasn’t there, back again at 8.30pm, their staffs and families were happy hour in the hotel bar room, they were talking very loud and rude to me, they said I wasn’t allowed to hold a can of cider into the hotel and rejected to provide receipt and evidence that I have only stayed for 1 night. They said their finance base in Dubai, so they couldn’t do anything here in UK. Then I found the reception lady whom agreed with 1 day payment on my arrival, confirmed by reception lady and the manager, we all agreed the fact that the hotel agreed to cancel one night on my arrival, and I was advised by the manager to phone booking.com to amend my booking for 1 day, hence I left the hotel and called booking.com at 10pm, it was able to do so, but when booking.com called the manager to confirm, she denied to change the booking to one night, I was shocked that she lying to booking.com , so I went back to the hotel again at 9am in the Morning on Wednesday 13 April. , then she said this has been escalated to the finance and will contact me for a result and their finance team (base in Dubai) to decide whether I can get a day refund. (5 days passed still not heard from them) So I have to tell everyone - Do NOT book this hotel, because their staff are not friendly and helpful : 1. No bin, no toilet brush in the toilet, light is so dark, told Reception, they said Engineer were on the way but no one came. 2. No bin in the bedroom, the Reception told me to go outdoor, there was giant one. 50% of light bulbs were broken, no headboards, no bedside tables for both double and single bed, only bare split wall with 6 holes on it. 3. Carpet and Curtain were shabby, dark colour, very dirty 4. Full of cigarette smoke in the hallway and outside my bedroom 5. 14 inch TV wasn’t working properly. In the drawer there was a bible but some pages has been tore off, so spooky. 6. Heating on maximum level but just slightly warm, hot water was boiling hot with no mixer tab, 2 seconds washing has already melt my child’s water bottle, so I left it for the hotel. 7. No menu on the breakfast table, I placed my order about 10 seconds then the breakfast waitress said "you confused me!” so I ended up my order immediately to stop confusing her. Fortunately, I was able to find a nearby fabulous hotel to replace this awful one immediately.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Melbourne Ardenlea Hotel, General Manager at Melbourne Ardenlea Hotel
Responded 17 Apr 2022
Thank you for you review When you checked in you advised that you would be only staying one night of the two night stay. You had booked a non refundable rate which therefore meant if you where to cancel at any point you would be charged the full amount. The receptionist on duty at that point only charged you for one night to give you time to contact booking to change the booking, as at that point we where willing to reduce the stay for you. At no point that evening or morning did we receive a call from b.com to say you had reduced your stay. When you came down to reception the next day at midday day you asked if you had to leave your key with reception again with no indication that you where checking out early hence why the card was charged for the second night. It wasn't until later that evening you came in to the bar area drinking alcohol that you proceed to speak to the staff regarding this. You where told again to speak to b.com which point you where asked to leave as you where drinking your own Cider and being verbal aggressive to staff. B.com did call and where advised on the situation and also stated that you should have called the evening before as you where advised by reception on checking in. Your wife came in the next day and spoke to the Manager and they had a pleasant conversation and the situation was again explained to her, she advised she would call b.com but as of yet we have not heard anything from them. Also The staff where at no point rude to you and even when you became aggressive with them they where calm and polite and informed you to call booking.com as your where advised the night previous. All rooms do have signs in the bathroom to state that the water is hot water so to take caution, with the warm weather we have been having also the heating is set to a low level otherwise the room can become unbearable hot.
Read more
Dave and jane wrote a review Apr 2022
2 contributions3 helpful votes
My god, where do I start. We arrived and were greeted by police arresting some bloke from this so called hotel. We had to wait for our room to be cleaned so decided to get a well earned drink from the bar. The lady behind the bar serving said oh We have no draft beer you will have to have bottles !! The deal we had was for bed , evening meal and breakfast. We arrived in the freezing dining room in our coats to be served fish and chips. Oh my god, plates were freezing cold and microwaved meal DISGUSTING! Couldn't eat that so we complained that we were expecting real fish but the waitress wasn't interested, so decided to eat out. We arranged accommodation elsewhere and checked out first thing. On reception there was no one there, so we left. Please anyone booking here I recommend you cancel immediately.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$58 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
melbourne ardenlea hotel, melbourne ardenlea shanklin
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandIsle of WightShanklin
NUMBER OF ROOMS
50
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Melbourne Ardenlea Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Melbourne Ardenlea Hotel?
Nearby attractions include JURASSIC JIM (0.3 km), Shanklin Theatre (0.2 km), and Shanklin Beach (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Melbourne Ardenlea Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Melbourne Ardenlea Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Melbourne Ardenlea Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Melbourne Ardenlea Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pendletons, Pencil Cottage, and Amici.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Melbourne Ardenlea Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Melbourne Ardenlea Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Godshill Church (5.7 km), Arreton Barns (7.4 km), and Appuldurcombe House (4.3 km).