We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shanklin Beach Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shanklin Beach Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

456 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 453: English reviews
Start your review of Shanklin Beach Hotel
 Click to rate
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just back from The Shanklin Beach Hotel and have had a lovely experience at this two star hotel. Our room was on the first floor and facing the sea. It had been recently decorated and was very comfortable. As we have had great weather the balcony was used each day. The hotel is very clean and the staff were always...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyeating2016
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the worst hotel I have ever visited. Be aware that it is owned by the Britannia chain of hotels. The room I was first allocated was tiny and depressing, with chipped paintwork, dirty carpet, scratched furniture that must have been lifted from a Skip and a bathroom that featured a cracked shower basin. I politely complained but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _maureen_rob
Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived later than planned, receptionist literally said here's your keys, the lift is there and your meals are being served now. We were on a coach tour so there were 41 of us all trying to book in. First impression was that this hotel needs a total revamp and redecorating throughout. Food was absolutely disgusting, slopped on the plate, no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reaysproat
Wales
Reviewed 1 week ago

just back from shanklin beach hotel with leisuretime,we requested a room . high floor sea view, the view we had was of a brick WALL !! shower was warm sometimes , asked Jason if we could have a room with a sea view ? a woman interrupted (I think she is the manager ) rudely ! "were full ". most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonypandy
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review following your stay at Shanklin Beach Hotel. We do apologise that we were unable to meet your request of a sea view room, but with it being Easter, a majority of these rooms were unavailable before you arrived due to the time of year. There was a notice on reception stating that we were...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well I must say room was poor bed was lovely shower did not work had to go down and asked to find a room that no one was using to have a shower got one soon enough the waiters and all the housekeeping staff are brilliant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janeL4880VH
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just returned from a five day coach trip at this hotel ,with leisuretime,and we're very disappointed ,firstly we were told that we would be staying at the marina bay hotel in sand down which had a pool ,leisuretime then changed our hotel to this one ,they told us that there was no single room supplement, after speaking to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katrinarussell
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at Shanklin Beach Hotel. I cannot comment for Leisuretime and their decision to change your venue as that is entirely their choice, nor can I comment on room supplements. However I can understand that these frustrations would have automatically made you disgruntled upon arrival. Room requests...

london
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bed as hard as a rock & munching toilet very temperamental. But great value, lovely warm shower, perfect size room for us lovely sea view. Local places to eat were not good - more for drinks so drove up the hill for food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller100000
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the hotel before our team played a football match. The staff made us feel very welcome and the rooms where more than adequate. Good showers. The bar could've stayed open a bit later than 10pm but they were short of staff with it being out of season. Breakfast was excellent with the staff once again being very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ian P
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had visited this hotel before and had to give it a bad review. Visited it again on a coach tour a couple of weeks ago , and it was like I was in a transformed hotel. Had a really good holiday, the rooms have been updated and nice to be in. The meals were excellent. The staff very efficient...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itellthe
London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent the weekend at the hotel with my family. Cannot complain at all. Our room was kindly changed by Matt who was a very polite and helpful member of staff. The room was immaculate, heater worked, shower was hot, beds clean and comfortable and we could hear the sound of the sea all night. It was just perfect actually and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SadiaHussain
Martin H, Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at Shanklin Beach Hotel. I am so pleased that everything was to your satisfaction and would love to welcome you back again in the future. Kind regards Justin Assistant Manager

129 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
3.3 km away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sandown
299 reviews
0.2 km away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#18 of 54 in Shanklin
371 reviews
0.4 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 54 in Shanklin
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Royal Esplanade Hotel
0.2 km away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#12 of 54 in Shanklin
161 reviews
0.3 km away
Auckland Hotel
Auckland Hotel
#36 of 54 in Shanklin
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Earlier this year The Shanklin Beach Hotel went under a massive refurbishment program. With modernised rooms, new electrics,new Steakhouse, computerised reservation system, as well new decking on our Sea View balcony rooms. Thank you for all your comments and patient whilst this transition from old new has been going on. And we look forward to your continued support.We are located withing 30 metres from the water and beautiful sandy beach. Close to the gaming arcade, shops and childrens theme park.Best wishes Management and staff at The Shanklin Beach Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shanklin Beach Hotel

Address: 35-38 Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range: ₹ 3,890 - ₹ 5,640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shanklin Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Shanklin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Beach Hotel Isle Of Wight
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shanklin Beach Hotel staff and other travellers.
21 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (21)

Questions? Get answers from Shanklin Beach Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“A sea view room on the first floor has to be the number one choice”
happyeating2016, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I was told that the only decent ones are at the front with a sea view.”
  • Television connection
  • This is the Black Mould Spores in the right side of the Bathroom.
  • Part of the Bathroom, the corner behind the door.
_maureen_rob, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“not 130 check when you arrive”
tonypandy, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Not all rooms have a sea view so you would need to request that on booking.”
bandrews2017, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“132 lovely views and balcony terrace”
, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5