We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (32)
Pool & Beach (3)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good7%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“harbour room”(13 reviews)
“bay view”(10 reviews)
“dvd library”(10 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Amber House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
259
20
2
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
259
20
2
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbour roombay viewdvd librarydog friendly beachhome made cakesdog ownersafternoon tea coffeeeach afternoonspecial dietary requirementson arrivalbrixham harbourgoodrington parkshort walk into townhuge bedberry headquiet locationa fantastic place to stay
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

We just stood there for 5 Nights. Unfortunately the room Rockpool has a mold problem. These Family rooms in the ground floor are damp .... the towels never go dry for example. The whole house looks very clean, but the owner does not heat the...More

Thank sazhanna
Response from amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber HouseResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your review, you have the right to your opinions and have chosen TripAdvisor to air them. In response, I will state, as I did to you during your stay, Rockpool is not mouldy or damp, the heating was turned on when requested,...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Amber House is situated half way up/down one of the many hills that Paignton has to offer, but is still well located for a 10 minutes, or so, stroll to the town or beach. We were too late to book one of the best reviewed...More

Thank David B
Response from amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber HouseResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We do try to keep the Guest House as clean as possible, especially being dog friendly, and we are pleased you had no adverse reactions to the dogs that were here when you were. Hopefully, if you are down in...More

Reviewed 12 August 2017

Just got back from a week at Amber House. Lovely house with very welcoming hosts who cannot do enough to make your visit a pleasant experience. We stayed in the Poirot room which was a large room with plenty of storage, and a wonderfully large...More

1  Thank Finchy660
Response from amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber HouseResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future if you holiday in the Bay. Best wishes Debbie and John

Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

We ended up booking Amber House completely out of chance when the weather washed out our camping trip, we booked really last minute with little research - but what a find! A home away from home! On arrival we had the warmest welcome, the whole...More

Thank Chickenadventures
Response from amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber HouseResponded 31 July 2017

Your washed out camping trip was our gain, it was lovely to host you both at Amber House. You will always be welcome here come rain or shine. Best wishes Debbie and John

Reviewed 29 July 2017

My husband and I came across this beautiful guest house by accident whilst looking for somewhere to stay in Paignton.. it was a bonus that they accepted dogs! decision made, 4 nights booked with dogs in tow. Right from the warm welcome with tea and...More

Thank fairybelle55
Response from amber_house_paignton, Owner at Amber HouseResponded 31 July 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and the dogs had such a good time too. We hope to see you all again in the future. Best wishes Debbie and John

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Paignton
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 59 - US$ 125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 59 - US$ 125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (56)
Room & Suite (32)
Pool & Beach (3)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fireblademalc2016
31 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from amber_house_paignton | Property representative |
Hello Thank you Sarah S for your comments. Yes, Lloyd and Christine have moved back north. We took over in January 2015, hopefully you will find us as good as before and we still take dogs. Best wishes Debbie and John
1
Vote
baildondave
1 June 2015|
Answer
Response from amber_house_paignton | Property representative |
Hello, yes we have a large car park
0
Votes
Room Tips
"ps room has lovely views towards Brixham."
Read review
"Tall Ships & Harbour Room"
Read review
"We were too late to book one of the best reviewed rooms but our room (No. 6 - Agatha) was okay."
Read review
"Poirot if you plenty of room, but there are other rooms with better views. Unable to comment on size."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing