We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

495 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 495: English reviews
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Stayed on a 5 day holiday here 20th-24th April with Shearings. The holiday was worth every penny( £129). We had a luxurious coach ride from Warrington interchange(left our car there for £4 day) much better than going in the feeder coaches you save so much time. Left around 10.15 got there around 5 ish. Hotel in a lovely position right...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank sunsetgirl59
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you sunsetgirl59 for posting a review of your recent holiday with us. I do remember talking to you about the shower hose in your bath and am very pleased to read your great review. The weather was fantastic during your stay and I am pleased you got to see some of the lovely cliff walks to Goodrington and around...

Reviewed 25 April 2015 via mobile

We stayed here 24/4/15 the staff were pleasant friendly,our bathroom wasn't clean had black mould growing in the shower the shower was terrible,the sink was dirty there was hair in the plug hole!the sheets on our bed had marks sorry they didn't look like they had been changed.Our evening meal was very rushed no sooner had we finished our starter...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Custardsoup32
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you custardsoup32 for posting a review. I am very sorry you were dissatisfied with your holiday. As you will see from other reviews, we have undergone a major refurbishment of public area's and many of the bedrooms. I am surprised to read you found problems with your room, as I did not receive any complaints during the weekend of...

newcastle upon tyne
Reviewed 23 April 2015

Stayed at the esplanade in Paignton on a Shearings coach holiday, Monday - Friday break,April 20-24th,Arrived after a 12hour drive from the Newcastle.The hotel and room was clean and pleasant,nice comfortable bed.clean linen.and towels,We were in room 12,on the ground level,so no lifts or stairs required,The room didn't offer a view as this was at the rear of the hotel,Which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank theledd
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you theledd, for taking the time to post your review. Well what can I say?, what a great review and pleased you found the refurbishment good. It seems you had a very enjoyable holiday with us and great weather too! I am very pleased to read your review and happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. I...

Reviewed 17 April 2015

Stayed here Easter weekend hotel is being done up downstairs lovely also our room 129 also had bath which was bonus .food though small totally adequate just ate 3 courses not 2.staff friendly in fact everything was good and price was excellent. The main gripe was creaking floor boards but to be honest on the whole I would recommend and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Denise P for taking the time to post a review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and found the room, food and service to your satisfaction. I am glad you would recommend us and return to holiday again in the future.

Reviewed 13 April 2015

We stayed here for the Easter Weekend. The room we had was clean and luckily newly refurbished, small shower room but perfectly adequate. As the hotel was busy, some of the cold breakfast buffet items ran out, but quickly replenished when mentioned to staff, cooked to order breakfast very tasty. Good choice of menu in the evening, and special mention...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KJE30
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you KJE30, for posting a review of your break with us. I am pleased you found our newly refurbished room to your satisfaction. Thank you for your comments regarding Simon and the food and service (and the cream eggs!) I hope you may return to holiday with us again in the future.

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2015

This an hotel we use 2 or sometimes 3 times a year. The reception, lounge, bar and restaurant areas have recently been refurbished. Everyone we encountered staff-wise was very friendly and welcoming. The food is of a very good standard as is the evening entertainment. We are already booked for a return visit in October. I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alan P
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Alan P for posting a great review. I am pleased you found our newly refurbished area's to your liking and of thank you for your comments regarding the food, staff and entertainment. I am very glad to read of your 2-3 prior visits to holiday here and look forward to your October holiday, see you then.

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Just returned from a shearings easter weekend break at this hotel. The coach driver was very friendly, although the journey there was extremely long. This was due mainly to the volume of motorway traffic. The hotel was very clean. The twin room we had was very spacious and the beds very comfortable. There was a good selection of food at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol B
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Carol B, for taking the time to post a great review. I am very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your comments to the team, who will be happy to read your review. Thank you for your recommendation and I hope you will holiday with us again in the future.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 April 2015

Arrived on last week of Shearings inclusive 5 day break ( 30-03-15 / 3-04-15) glad we did as bar prices are pretty high for such an average hotel. Our sea view room was in need of refurbishment and the window could have done with a good clean for us to enjoy the view we had paid a supplement for. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NoreenandMick
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NoreenandMick Thanks for taking the time post a review. Sorry you didn’t feel 100% satisfaction in some areas. We do have an on-going programme of refurbishment, with all ground floor being refurbished in January 2015. We do have our windows cleaned on a regular basis, but it can, at times be difficult to keep up with our good old...

Widnes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2015

just returned from esplanade, we had an excellent driver called Guy entertaining and very knowledgeable from start to finish, all staff were very helpful and friendly, we had a problem with our room but Dee sorted it out as soon as we made her aware of it food very good and plentiful. first time visit but probably not the last.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Fred wilkie w
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fred wilkie w Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Driver Guy is proving popular, always a pleasure to have him on our tours and I’ll pass on your comments to him and also our chef. from time to time, like any establishment, we do encounter problems and appreciate you notifying Dee at reception, so we...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Just returned from a 5 day break with shearings, holiday started with the most friendly driver Guy, he was such a pleasant and informative driver always happy and nothing was to much trouble , we could do with alot more drivers like him . Hotel has been refurbished since we were last there, it has been done lovely, food was...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank dotgilly
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dot Gilly Thanks for your great review, we’re always pleased to receive them! We are receiving many positive comments already about our refurbishment new look. Thanks for your comments regarding the great food and entertainment. I will pass on your comments to driver Guy, as well as Sandra and Lisa. Look forward to seeing you at your next proposed...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.4 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 17 in Paignton
292 reviews
4.0 km away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#28 of 88 in Torquay
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#5 of 17 in Paignton
465 reviews
1.6 km away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 17 in Paignton
265 reviews
0.6 km away
The Palace
The Palace
#4 of 17 in Paignton
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: ₹ 6,734 - ₹ 10,724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
Birmingham, United Kingdom
16 days ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“our room 18 was very easy to get to & very cosy”
slippers2013, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Front and Sea Views”
shendaseven, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Seafront rooms have a small surcharge but are worth the extra.”
jikabob, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The sea facing rooms, in my opinion, are quieter.”
rodd61, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for a sea view on an upgrade its worth it.”
dixie11uk, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5