We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 488: English reviews
Easingwold, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 October 2015

3rd visit to hotel still a good place to stay very friendly staff, good entertainment. A very good driver food very good bathroom a bit small but did move us to a bigger one had a very good week and good trip out

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank backy113
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear backy113 Many thanks for your kind words. Glad to see you back with us for a third time. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday. The majority of our bathrooms are unfortunately on the ‘bijou’ size as we are a Victorian building, and they were an addition many years later to the...

Swadlincote Derbys
Reviewed 21 September 2015

This is our second visit to this hotel and it has been updated since our previous. The alterations are good and the room we had was first class . The replacement towels were not clean as though they had been from the previous guest with makeup on them,we had a word with the cleaner who assured us they were clean...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scaniaman
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear scaniaman Thanks for your review. Apologies for the issues relating to your linen and experience in the restaurant. We are not quite sure how your towel was soiled, as they are all boiled cleaned and supplied by a local linen company, but the issue was raised with our head-housekeeper. The comments regarding how the food was presented/prepared at your...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2015

Stayed for 1 week, went with Shearings. Did not realise the journey would be 9 hours!! so, alas, wont be doing it again. We have not holidayed like this in this country before so were a bit let down after the hotels abroad. The hotel is quite old & our room was OK ish but the bathroom was made to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pattibonbon
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pattibonbon, Thank-you for taking the time to review us. It’s a pity that the long journey dampened your spirits, and, as you acknowledged in your review, we are in the throes of on-going refurbishments, which will of course continue to improve our décor amongst many other things. Many returning guests are already seeing the benefits. Apologies for the small...

basildon
Reviewed 16 September 2015

we stayed at the bay esplanade at paignton for long weekend break the staff are brilliant very helpful cheerful nothing is to much trouble the food was very good the portion was fine for me but unfortunately a bit small for my husband its a lovely hotel right on sea front but the thing that will stop us going back...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank susan m
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear susan m Thanks for reviewing us. Our small but dedicated team here at the Esplanade often get great reviews, so appreciate you contributing another one! We have now increased our portion sizes after several other similar comments, so we are listening! You are still welcome to inform your waiter/ess if you require additional portions. Glad to read you will...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2015

We returned to the esplanade after a few years after reading about the refurbishment we were quite happy with our room it was well decorated and we'll improved since our last visit two years ago the lounge dining room. Reception have all been refurbished the breakfast is good and the evening meal suited us the staff have always been good...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ocean52
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ocean52 Many thanks for your complimentary review. Thank you for your comments about the food and staff and refurbished area's. We constantly state about the ongoing refurbishment work here at the Esplanade in our replies, so appreciate your reference to it in your review, which hopefully verifies what we’ve been saying. Sometimes, meal-times can be a little hectic when...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed in the bay esplanade in Paignton for a week from 22nd to 29th August on a shearings holiday which I thoroughly enjoyed from start to finish I thought the foof was really good well prepared and nice and hot. The entertainment was really good and also the rooms were comfortable the only thing was the bathrooms were pretty...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank A TripAdvisor Member
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear A TripAdvisor Member Many thanks for your 5 star review, so pleased to read your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your holiday, and hope that you’ll return to the Esplanade very soon, and thanks for leaving nice comments for any other potential guests to wanting to holiday here and I am very happy you...

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Have just been to this hotel travelling with Shearings. our room was very small and the bathroom was smaller than a broom cupboard. the service in the rest was very slow but the food was ok. breakfast was not good. Hotel is in a nice position. sorry wont be returning.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 45Pamela88
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 45Pamela88 Thanks for your review, although, admittedly one we don’t want to receive. It is always disappointing to get such comments, and frustrating particularly when you consider I’ve just replied to one titled “Best Shearings hotel I have stayed in”. I do of course appreciate that every comment is about an individual experience, and in your case we clearly...

Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Just stayed for 4 nights at the Esplanade hotel. We had a nice refurbished room, bathroom was on the small side. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Doville on reception she had a bubbly personality. The food was good, but the service was very slow on 2 nights. Our waitress Sandra was very nice, but rushed off her...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John V
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John V Glad you had a good experience with us, and of course thanks for sharing it on Tripadvisor. We will pass on your kind comments regarding our staff, in particular to Dovile, whom is a newer addition to our staff here at the Esplanade, and is proving an asset to our front of house team. Thanks for stating...

Wokingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

The Bay Esplanade was disappointing. It had some saving graces; the location, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the bar/lounge area was roomy and had recently been refurbished. At breakfast, after juices and cereals had been collected from a buffet, waiter service for hot food was excellent. At dinner choices were rather limited and the food was below average. Wine...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maurice M
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maurice M Thank you for sharing your holiday experience. We are in an excellent location in Paignton, and we are very proud of our newly refurbished lounge areas that you also liked! I am sorry you didn't enjoy our menu, there are always 3 starters, 5 main courses and 3 desserts to choose from and our chef only to...

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 August 2015

We went to this hotel on a family holiday because its where my dad wanted to go. I'd never have chosen to go there myself, but its what he wanted. Here are all the positives about the hotel: The staff are very friendly and helpful, my sister is very ill at the moment and they couldn't do enough to help...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aliandneil
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear aliandneil. Thank you for your review. We hope that your father enjoyed is stay, and that your sister is well on the road to recovery! We acknowledge that there are some areas of our hotel that need modernising, and are continuing with refurbishment of rooms each year. As you can appreciate, we are a large hotel, and this does...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.9 km away
Premier Inn Paignton Seafront (Goodrington Sands) Hotel
0.5 km away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paignton
289 reviews
4.0 km away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#30 of 89 in Torquay
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Bay Tor Park Hotel
Bay Tor Park Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
468 reviews
1.6 km away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 18 in Paignton
264 reviews
1.0 km away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#6 of 18 in Paignton
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: ₹ 4,162 - ₹ 11,262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
9 months ago
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
Leigh, United Kingdom
1 month ago

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Seafront rooms have a small surcharge but are worth the extra.”
 of 5 bubbles jikabob, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The sea facing rooms, in my opinion, are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles rodd61, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for a sea view on an upgrade its worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles dixie11uk, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“. You can book a particular room by paying £10 extra.”
 of 5 bubbles tempo1962, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“pay the extra and pay for a sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles gordoncooper1, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5