We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bay Esplanade Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

493 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bay Esplanade Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 493: English reviews
Bolton
Reviewed 13 March 2017

The Esplanade Hotel Paignton. My wife and I stayed in this lovely seaside hotel late in 2016. For three nights. Upon arrival we were immediately impressed with the very classy reception area. The staff were equally impressive, being very professional, helpful and smiling. Very quickly allocating our room which had a spectacular sea view was extremely clean. Well fitted and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jikabob
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jikabob Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We appreciate your comments regarding our friendly staff. I am proud that this is a recurring statement we are fortunate to receive. Pleased that the hotel was to your liking, we always strive to give an enjoyable stay, and it’s great that we hit the mark in all departments for...

Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Excellently located hotel, level walk on seafront, bus and railway stations close by, as is the town centre. The hotel service was friendly and efficient, the restaurant was very well managed to serve 3 coaches as well as private guests. My room was sea facing , 2nd floor very close to the lift and stairs. I will be revisiting this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rod d
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rod d Thank you for reviewing us here on Tripadvisor. Pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Bay Esplanade. Great that you’ve taken the time to acknowledge our convenient location and friendly staff, and award us a five star rating. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back with us upon your return visit!...

Redditch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Stayed for three nights in room 228 at bay esplanade.Paid upgrade for a sea view room.the room was nice and warm with a lovely view of the bay.a down side was the bathroom.no shower just a bath and one very small towel rail.The food was good with very nice staff always willing to help .the evening entertainment was also good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dixie11uk
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dixie11uk Many thanks for reviewing your weekend break with us here at the Bay Esplanade. Sorry to read that your bathroom contained a bath when you would have preferred a shower; I don’t know if you contacted reception, but we would have been more than happy to swap your room for one with a shower had one been available....

manchester
Reviewed 26 February 2017 via mobile

Came here with my wife to celebrate Valentines Day and came down to Devon with Shearing Coaches Lovely clean hotel with good choice of food both at breakfast and dinner A well stocked bar was also a bonus and nightly entertainment was very welcome Hotel is in a great position facing the sea and well worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lynnbaz
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear lynnbaz Many thanks for reviewing your stay, and choosing our hotel to celebrate Valentine’s Day. Glad that it was to your liking, and thanks for reiterating our position; ideal for the town and the beach just across the road! Hope you’ll give us another chance to offer you our hospitality once again in the near-future.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2017

We booked a five day bay inclusive weekend by Shearings coach. The coach travel was great but the wait in Stretton could do with speeding up. The hotel upon arrival looked dismal, this being due to the pink colour on the building. It made it look dirty from the outside presumably due to weathering. It looked far better outside when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tempo1962
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tempo1962 Thank you for your review. Pleased to read that you enjoyed your break with us. We will look into the comments you made, and forward them to the relevant departments. It is difficult keeping our exterior pristine due to us being a sea-front property, but we do have an ongoing refurbishment programme. Glad you found us to be...

Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Another great start to the New Year. Thank you Greer and all your fantastic staff for all the hard work you put into ensuring your guests have a great time. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and the staff were very quick to help the less mobile. I had some lively chats at the toast machines! The restaurant staff stayed calm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jemima73
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jemima73 Thank you for using us to see in 2017 again, it is a pleasure to welcome you, and I really appreciated your kind words and the Black puddings, Yummy...... It was a great atmosphere as I’m sure you’d agree, and your 5 star review is extremely appreciated! We do have a high volume of returning guests as you...

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Stopped here for the New Year (Friday-Monday). Enjoyed the whole experience. All the staff went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable, the entertainment was excellent. Our room 132 was overlooking the sea front and was spotlessly clean, bathroom a bit small but served the perpose. Breakfast was buffet style and plenty of things to choose from, all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordoncooper1
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear gordoncooper1 Thank you for taking the time to review us and share your experience. Glad to read that you enjoyed your New Year break with us. As you can imagine, it does take a lot of preparation to ensure all of our guests have a memorable stay, and a review such as yours is appreciated, and feedback helpful to...

Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017

This Hotel has Steps so if you cant manage them don't go but if you are willing to combat them do go... The Staff here cannot do enough for you, there is always a route round to what ever the problem is! there is always Technical hitches but they will do everything in their power to get it right, Just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue G
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sue G Thank-you for choosing to see the New Year in with us here at the Bay Esplanade Hotel. Pleased to see that you’ve supplied us with a 5 star review, and delighted that you were happy with your stay. Our staff do endeavour to help where humanly possible, and it’s appreciated that you’ve acknowledged this in your review....

dudley, west midlands
Reviewed 28 December 2016

11 ladies on annual 4 day weekend, hotel clean, food bit average, entertainment not very good, staff - some were quite pleasant others a bit grumpy, trying to find your room was very difficult hotel like rabbit warren, our room was a bit small, bathroom was only has big has a bath !!!!! Shower, toilet, sink that was practically over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mothertot
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mothertot After reading your review, I think you may be mistaken about staying in our hotel, the Bay Esplanade, as we don’t do tinsel & turkey breaks. However your description of our bathrooms seems correct, as many are small. I appreciate your 4 star rating and apologise you found any staff grumpy, we don’t usually receive this type of...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

A wonderfully hotel staff were excellent hotel clean in a good location for beach and shops .would recommed to friends and family.entertainment was excellent .only one drawback stairs getting into the hotel problem for disabled people. .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holldolly
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay. Pleased to read you thought our location and staff were excellent, these sentiments are mentioned on here frequently, and I’m grateful you’ve added to them! We do have 8 steps at our main entrance which we appreciate can be problematic for some people with disabilities, for any information regarding our...

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Esplanade hotel is a pleasant hotel ideally situated and set on a level seafront position just a short walk to the sandy beach, picturesque harbour, pier, shops and brand new cinema. Paignton is right in the heart of Torbay and is an ideal resort for all ages as well as a great base from which to explore South Devon and the surrounding area. Within the hotel, the south facing Sun Lounge and Harbour Bar Lounge offer stunning views across ‘the Bay’ and the attractive Riviera Suite provides a warm and friendly atmosphere to enjoy the entertainment. The Esplanade also offers the opportunity to upgrade your standard room to one with a sea view (charges apply) and the stunning view on a sunny day is certainly worth it! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range: ₹ 5,471 - ₹ 11,605 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Esplanade Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and other travellers.
25 questions
Ask a question
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
10 months ago
Hednesford, null, United Kingdom
Birmingham, United Kingdom
9 days ago

See all questions (25)

Questions? Get answers from Bay Esplanade Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Front and Sea Views”
shendaseven, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Seafront rooms have a small surcharge but are worth the extra.”
jikabob, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The sea facing rooms, in my opinion, are quieter.”
rodd61, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“go for a sea view on an upgrade its worth it.”
dixie11uk, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“. You can book a particular room by paying £10 extra.”
tempo1962, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5