We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

MercureUS$ 77*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 171*
US$ 77*
US$ 171*
US$ 77*
US$ 171*
US$ 77*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

528 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 514: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
 Click to rate
Berks
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here in April with my husband, to watch Rugby match. The hotel was very central and not far to walk to the stadium. The room was very clean and the bed was very large and comfortable. The staff were very attentive. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cubafan55
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding the staff were especially pleasing to read, as this is an area that we work very hard on. I do hope that you will choose our hotel for your next visit and look forward to seeing you.

Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a night on the way to The Isle Man and a night on the way back on the way back. Two young ladies work very hard . Our cases were quickly brought to our room and they served us both visits for our evening meal. The evening meals were excellent . the breakfast was adequate, full English...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget D
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was very pleased to read your comments and have passed these on to my staff. I do hope that we ge the opportunity to welcome you back.

Douglas, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great hotel, great location, great location! Wigan, famous for being described by George Orwell, has a lot more to offer than many people realise. As well as industrial archeology there's great walks and a thriving music scene.

Review collected in partnership with Mercure Hotels
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ericbaker
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is always so rewarding to read comments such as yours, which I have passed a copy of to alll departments. I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just stayed here one night and don't think I will return. It isn't the cleanest of hotels, horrible black mould on bath tiles, handrails in restaurant have a thick layer of dust because the cleaners obviously only wipe along the edge. Decor is drab with some hanging off in places. Breakfast was ok, no fresh fruit and brown or white...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hector7777
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to read your comments and am sorry that your stay with us was less enjoyable than expected. I have spoken to my Head Housekeeper regarding the points you raised and will be taking the necessary action to ensure that we do not receive any more complaints of this nature. Your comments regarding Breakfast were rather surprising,...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a weekend here .... What can I say from the minute we checked in we where we'll taken care of.... Asked for a room at the back of the hotel due to reading reviews .... Wasn't a problem. Had a wonderful meal here Friday night best we have had in a long time ... Very tasty reasonable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kelly i
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I was delighted to read that we helped to make your wedding anniversary weekend so enjoyable. Thank you for your wondferul, kind comments and I know that all the staff will be very please to read these. Customer service is our number one priority so it is very rewarding to receive guest feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived here as a night stop over, on way to Isle of Man. Staff on arrival unloaded coach quickly and promptly. Room was excellent with twin large beds, good decor and a lovely bathroom and according to my husband a great shower. Bed gave a comfortable good nights sleep. Evening meal was excellent, and service prompt. Breakfast was not so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey S
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. Your comments regarding Breakfast were obviously very concerning and I have spoken to my Head Chef regarding this. This is clearly not to our usual high standards and I can only apologise for this. Your kind comments regarding Dinner and staff service were very welcome and I will...

South West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff - 5 stars - Hotel 3 stars Stayed in the hotel for few nights, very centrally located, but that is also a downside - the six lanes of traffic outside the hotel impacted on my sleep; even with ear plugs. The hotel itself is average, a basic town centre hotel. The rooms have all the facilities needed, big bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank purplebaggage
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and we are delighted your were pleased with the services that we offer. It is very rewarding for all our staff to receive such positive feedback and I am sure that this will help them to continue to offer the highest standards of service. I do apologise for...

East Molesey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A nice stay on business for one night. The hotel is centrally located for Wigan and its restaurants and bars. The staff were really helpful and welcoming from check in to check out. The bar was really welcoming and relaxing and I enjoyed a pint there before heading out to find somewhere to eat. Breakfast was nice but was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesdavidson3
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was delighted to read your comments regarding the staff and will share these with all departments. It is always very rewarding to know that a guest has enjoyed their experience here and, even more so, that they will use us again. We look forward to seeing you...

midlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Up to date hotel and very central, comfortable nice rooms of generous proportion free wi-fi good bar and help yourself plentiful breakfast. Loads of parking on site, helpful staff. Good price - would definitely stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank morgan346
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay and for your very kind comments. As with all reviews that we receive, I will share yours with all our staff. We're delighted that you found the service here to your liking and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night. There was a wedding party being catered for whilst I was there and, unfortunately, this impacted on the quality of the visit. I slept very little during the night with members of the wedding party running up and down the corridors banging on people's doors and shouting "Wake Up!" They also set...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I would like to offer my sincerest apolgies that your stay with us was so disappointing. Your comments were very concerning. We do try to ensure that all guests respect other's privacy and keep noise levels to a minimum however, as I am sure you can appreciate, this is sometimes very difficult to do. The attitude of the Duty Manager...

78 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wigan hotels
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Wigan Town Centre Hotel
1.1 km away
The Brocket Arms Hotel
4.9 km away
Macdonald Kilhey Court
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 km away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6 Jct 27) Hotel
7.3 km away
Good Night Inns Bay Horse Hotel
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Wigan (M6, J25) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Whether you are visiting Wigan for business, taking in a game of Rugby or football or simply a relaxing weekend away, The Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel will make you feel right at home with its welcoming atmosphere and first-class cuisine and if you are a golfer, you'll be in seventh heaven too as we've negotiated preferential rates on the 9 and 18 hole courses at Haigh Hall Golf Complex. The hotel offers free parking and free WiFi for all guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Address: Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Price Range: ₹ 4,137 - ₹ 6,205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigan Quality Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Wigan, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Swanage
11 months ago
Swanage
11 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask to sleep away from the main road”
415bridgetd, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Every room I've stayed in has been perfect.”
ericbaker, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Facing carpark rather than main road”
purplebaggage, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Has some ground floor rooms”
morgan346, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor facing away from the main road.”
168neile, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Mercure
US$ 77* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 77
Booking.comUS$ 77
AMOMAUS$ 171
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates