We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Save
Share
Eden Terrace Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (67)
Room & Suite (42)
Pool & Beach (4)

About

#14 of 21 hotels in Durham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Squash
Board games / puzzles
Spa
Wifi
Heated pool
Vending machine
Massage
Salon
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Family
695Reviews10Q+A78Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 239
  • 252
  • 110
  • 47
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
367Dalius wrote a review Nov 2021
London, United Kingdom35 contributions6 helpful votes
I stayed for three nights in this hotel. Friendly and supportive staff at the reception, sport centre and breakfast place made this hotel feel relaxing and pleasant to stay. Rooms are clean and tidy. Downside is that there is no fridge in the room. There is a swimming pool next door. Plenty of parking spaces. I would recommend this hotel for business travellers and anyone passing by the area.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Plenty of parking. Gym and swimming pool.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Emery, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Responded 14 Nov 2021
Dear Dalius, Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review after staying for 3 nights at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. When booking direct guests receive complimentary use of the health clubs facilities. The hotel is a budget hotel, unfortunately we don't provide a fridge in the rooms but we do have the facility at the reception area. On your next visit ask the receptionist for more details on this. I will discuss your comments with the rest of the hotel team in today's meeting. Kind Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager - Durham
Read more
Sue E wrote a review Nov 2021
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Stayed here and Colin and reception staff were lovely very helpful and friendly rooms were spacious beds very comfortable fantastic breakfast large portions with lots of choices spa and pool looked brilliant very reasonably priced well recommended
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Emery, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Responded 10 Nov 2021
Dear T2188VUuee Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am sure that Colin and the rest of the team will be very pleased to learn that you have mentioned them in your review. I will also pass on your comments to the breakfast team. I do hope that you choose to stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager - Durham.
Read more
Amanda T wrote a review Oct 2021
Manchester, United Kingdom45 contributions13 helpful votes
Really enjoyed our stay at Bannatyne hotel . 10% nhs discount and entry into leisure facilities by booking directly rather than on booking . Com . Hotel staff really friendly and nothing too much trouble. One bedroom not cleaned on arrival but quicker another was offered Great day at Beamish as well as Durham . Breakfast in spa was very disappointing on second day - muffin , vans and tea cakes had clearly been warmed in a microwave and not toasted fresh 😢. Pool snd facilities were clean snd well used. Great value for money weekend
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Emery, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Dear Amanda T Thank you for sharing your review after your lovely birthday weekend with friends. Its great to hear that you were able to receive 10% NHS discount and that you had complimentary use of the spa facilities. I am sorry that your breakfast on the second day was not to your liking. I will certainly discuss the issues with the cafe bar manager. We would normally toast the muffins and tea cakes. I do hope that you choose to stay with us again soon. Kind Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager - Durham.
Read more
368production wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
The shower had no door, there was mould in the bathroom on the wall and ceiling. The hotel itself is dated and DO NOT BE DECEIVED by the pictures on the website, they are of a totally different hotel.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Emery, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Dear 368production Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. I am sorry that you found the room to be substandard. I do hope that you shared this information with the reception team so that we can resolve immediately. The photographs advertised on the Bannatyne Hotel Durham page were taken in the rooms so I am not sure which site or photographs that you have viewed. Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager - Durham
Read more
jsouth715153 wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Family break was amazing, our son loved swimming and was zonked out all night in the bed. Only downside was no bath in family room so had to shower him which he didn’t like but that a personal touch, so a shower would be fine for most!
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Matthew Emery, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Responded 1 Nov 2021
Dear jsouth715153 Thank you for sharing your glowing review after your recent family break at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am really pleased that your son was able to use the pool and that he zonked out afterwards. The hotel does not offer rooms with a bath. On a plus note the health clubs child play area has opened again from 01st November 2021. I do hope that you visit again soon. Kind Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager - Durham
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$73 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
durham bannatyne hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Which popular attractions are close to Bannatyne Hotel Durham?
Nearby attractions include Infinite Air (0.8 km), Topgear Karting (0.4 km), and Old Cinema Launderette (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bannatyne Hotel Durham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Bannatyne Hotel Durham?
Guests can enjoy a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Bannatyne Hotel Durham?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bannatyne Hotel Durham?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beefeater Broomside Park, The Belmont, and Coffee @ Chesneys.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bannatyne Hotel Durham?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a sauna during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to Bannatyne Hotel Durham?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Durham Cathedral (3.0 km), Crook Hall & Gardens (2.6 km), and Durham Castle (2.9 km).
Is Bannatyne Hotel Durham accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.