We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Honest Lawyer Hotel

AMOMAUS$ 59*
View Deal
#9 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 64*
US$ 59*
Great Deal
US$ 64*
US$ 62*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

881 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Honest Lawyer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 875: English reviews
Mbro
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a night here for our wedding anniversary having looked the a la carte menu which looked amazing. We booked the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast package which gave us £40 towards our restaurant meal. Check in was efficient and we had a motel style room at the back and vould park outside the room. The room was ok for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank K2006Mbro
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m very sorry you could not have full Alacarte menu on Sunday with your Dinner bed and breakfast deal. DBB deal is starts from £99 per couple. It is value for money and very popular by a lot of our other guests. You can have up to three course meal...

Thirsk
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time I have stopped over at the Honest Lawyer, once again the accommodation was clean and staff welcoming. I can't help feel sometimes that the hotel was modelled on a 70s American motel but it does have a certain charm with it. The only real issue for me is the noise of the Services as people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patroni2013
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at The Honest Lawyer Hotel on the 1st of April on our way to Edinburgh. Overall the stay was superb. The room was clean and tidy with a great view over the field behind the hotel. We also decided to eat dinner in the bar. I had the beef burger with cheese and a selection of toppings. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MGK1980
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m delighted to hear you had a good stay with us. We always suggest to our guests, If you are sitting at the bar area please order your food at the bar with your table number. But same time, if anyone want to order food, trough waiter or waitress we...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Thought we would try this place for a change , and see what is like . I arrived with my mum, and were shown to the table ( which looked very lacking) by Jan (I think) who was the drinks waitress ... she was lovely and friendly when we gave her our order) . The rest of the party arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenny P
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the restaurant. We have looked after almost x 450 guests on Mothers Day Sunday Lunch. I have been every section on that day and I wasn`t aware there was a problem with your table. If you had raised any of your concerns on the day, than we could have put it right...

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Not really the best meal I have had. Starter of Thai prawns very bland indeed although plentiful. Carrot and orange soup strange. My pork Wellington I feel was prebought prepared frozen food. Was ok but expensive for what it was.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nichola C
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the restaurant. I can assure you one thing. Our food is not frozen food. On a daily basis i`m in and out of our kitchen least fifty times a day. And I can easily say our chefs working very hard to prepare fresh food at all times.. Also I see them constantly...

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017

We stayed for 2 nights at the Honest Lawyer, and honestly, we did not know what to expect. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the good sized rooms and sufficient parking. Our first night was Feb 14th and we booked a room in the restaurant. This was a good decision! The food and service was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan_Sue_141
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m delighted you had a good stay with us. And you found our service and food excellent. I will pass your kind comments to whole team. They will be very pleased to hear your kind comments.. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the not too...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 March 2017

the room was smallish but clean and tidy the shower was either hot or cold, the staff were freindly the food menu seemed expensive so didnt try it. its in an ideal place for touring around durham i would stay again if the shower was fixed,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve m
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. We have x51 bedrooms and last 12 months we have changed x45 of them. Unfortunately some of the old showers could cause problems for us. Instead of repairing them, we have been putting in new ones. As we speak Eddie is doing weekly checks on the rooms. If we see...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Visited for one night with daughter for Uni open day. Arrived just after 9pm but no problem getting food in the bar. The tapas deal is amazing. Garlic chicken the best ever. How the chef managed to get the batter so light and crisp on fish goujons is beyond me. All served quickly and with a smile. The twin room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and found us superb. Thank you for your kind compliment. It is great to read your review. It made my day. I`m also very pleased to hear, you have enjoyed your meal with us. I have the say, our...

Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and we thought the setting and the layout of the hotel were fantastic: it looked like it used to be an old tavern/stables and we were in one of the converted stable rooms with a nice view of the fields from the window. At night it was very quiet and dark considering its proximity to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael D
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m delighted you had a great stay with us. Everything you mentioned about water, wi-fi etc. We have been working on them really hard to get it right. We now get hardly any complaint about our heating, hot water and wi-fi.It is nice to know we are on the right...

Buxton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Usefully you can park outside your room. The room itself was comfortable with everything that we needed. It is very good value accommodation. The bar area is comfortable too. We didn't eat here as we were visiting friends elsewhere in Durham but the menu looked interesting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda B
HonestLawyerHotel, Manager at The Honest Lawyer Hotel, responded to this review

Dear, Guest Thank you for your review of the hotel. I`m very pleased to hear you found us value for money and found your room comfy. That is exactly where we want to be as a business. Hopefully you can try our food on your next visit. We do have a really good kitchen team here. I hope we have...

285 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (72)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (159)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Family Room (24)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Suite (21)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)
Viewed
Twin Room (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (54)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
13.2 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,981 reviews
4.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.5 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.4 km away
Bowburn Hall
Bowburn Hall
#11 of 19 in Durham
377 reviews
4.8 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Honest Lawyer Hotel, a 46 bedroom, 3* hotel and AA rosette restaurant is a modern hotel offering a friendly welcome, comfortable accommodation and a variety of dining options, all ideally located less then 3 miles from Durham City Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Honest Lawyer Hotel

Address: Croxdale, Durham DH1 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: ₹ 3,741 - ₹ 6,650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Honest Lawyer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Honest Lawyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Durham
Durham Best Western
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durham
#6 Family Hotel in Durham
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Honest Lawyer Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Honest Lawyer Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“motel style rooms at back 26 look out onto fields so it was quiet.”
713suef, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room without an inter-connecting door for less noise if possible.”
MarkA685, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The hotel has rooms in the main building but is also a motel for there's an annex outside.”
MarionM138, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“easy to locate”
cherylg628, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the front of the hotel and were troubled by the traffic noise from the busy road below.”
Aileen785, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
AMOMA
US$ 59* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 64
Hotels.comUS$ 62
Orbitz.comUS$ 62
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates