We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kingslodge Inn

Save
Share
Waddington Street Flass Vale, Durham DH1 4BG England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (75)
Dining (30)
Room & Suite (18)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#8 of 21 hotels in Durham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Combine the best of city living with the relaxed atmosphere of the countryside at this cosy, gem-of-an-inn in Durham. Surrounded by the peaceful woodland of Flass Vale, it’s hard to believe The Kingslodge Inn is just a ten-minute stroll from the heart of historic Durham with its UNESCO World Heritage Site of Durham Cathedral and adjoining Castle. Voted the best venue in County Durham in the National Pub & Bar Awards in 2019 and named by The Times as one of the '20 best places to stay in the UK with a dog’, The Kingslodge Inn has all the benefits of a city-centre location but with a laid-back, relaxed vibe.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Desk
Safe
Telephone
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Business
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Full view
90Good for walkers
Grade: 90 out of 100
27Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
9Attractionswithin 0.5 km
458Reviews6Q+A84Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 182
  • 173
  • 66
  • 21
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Martin H wrote a review 8 Jan
1 contribution
All staff, from bar staff, chef to cleaners couldn’t help you enough!! Dog friendly hotel (inn). We will definitely definitely be back here. Value for money, this place is second to none. 10/10. The only complaint I have!! Is we didn’t stay here long enough.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Catbat27 wrote a review Dec 2021
Durham, United Kingdom20 contributions24 helpful votes
We arrived for food a d drinks, not one member of staff the whole time we were there wore a mask! What was so disappointing that you had to order all food at the bar including drink, with a restaurant you would expect table service! The manager( I think she was , as gave out orders to staff, all we could here was her slating a member of the team! Not professional! Guests staying there on an evening walked around the restaurant in their slippers! The food was so disappointing and so dry especially the beef, we couldn’t eat it and took home for our dog! Certainly give a wide birth you will be disappointed!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn Collection, Other at The Kingslodge Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback, I am sad to hear you did not enjoy your experience with us. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to the team. We hope to see you again and give you the customer experience we pride ourselves on.
Read more
JudyW wrote a review Dec 2021
York, United Kingdom2 contributions
My friend and I had a 3 night stay. Would definitely go back in a heartbeat, so far the best hotel we have chosen, we always look for breaks that are on offer. When we walked in the place was lovely and clean. The room was a decent size with a decent shower room%. I have 3 negatives no shelving in the shower room, the room was so dark only one main light. The quality of the food dependis on the Chef. Now the good points, you have fantastic staff, you should feel proud to have this quality of staff. I must recommend Tom from the bar. Boy was he good he couldn’t do enough for us. The meal the night before wasn’t the best lucky for us the main chef was in the next night having told Tom he made it his mission to make shore wh enjoyed the next evening meal a big shout out yo Alex Clark. Unfortunately I can’t remember the ladies names that we on when we stayed . Karen the chambermaid was lovely so we’re the rest of the team upstairs.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: I can only go by Tom 8. I was advised that room is lovely
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn Collection, Other at The Kingslodge Inn
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, it is a pleasure to read some lovely comments regarding our staff and Inn. All feedback is encouraged, we are always looking at ways to improve our customer experience. I will ensure the team are in receipt of your kind words and your feedback will be reviewed. We hope to see you again very soon.
Read more
Luke S wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
My experience as a contractor / workman Stayed here for 4 nights the second week in December throughout the week. The hotel staff are all very friendly and easy to talk to. The hotel is a 5 min walk from the centre which has everything there, food places/ tescos / pubs etc. THE NOISE After reading reviews about the noise I asked to be put in a quite room if possible which they put me in. (13/14/15 the really noisy ones apparently). I found my stay in the hotel to be very noisy, from hearing next doors tv, to even hearing them switching the bathroom light on. Hearing people up and down corridors and doors going. The beds were very comfy but I found my self struggling to get a good nights sleep just because of how noisy it was. Overall review - If it wasn’t for the noise I would be giving it 4/5 as the location, the staff and the comfort of the hotel is all to a good standard but the noise defiantly knocks it down. I would not recommend staying here simply because of how loud it is, unless your a very deep sleeper, don’t care about the noise or a good nights sleep then maybe it’s for you, but not for me.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn Collection, Other at The Kingslodge Inn
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Thank you for your constructive feedback. I will ensure your feedback is passed on to be reviewed. Guest satisfactory is a top priority of ours and we are always looking at ways to improve our guest experience. We hope to welcome you back in the future for a more satisfactory visit.
Read more
FloraFlamingo wrote a review Dec 2021
Newton on Ouse, United Kingdom46 contributions20 helpful votes
+1
My friend and I have just visited for a 3 night winter break. Cost £217 each dinner bed and breakfast. The hotel was warm in the very cold snowy weather. Manageable walk into the shopping area of the city. The Inn was nicely decorated and clean. The rooms were welcoming. We had twin room 8 upstairs at the back. It was reasonably quiet, warm and comfortable. Some noise from delivery vehicles in the morning. The shower worked well. There is no shelving in the bathroom whatsoever so if a lady with lots of toiletries it is a slight annoyance. The lighting in the room was dire, the lights should be much brighter. Food was good although cooking varied from chef to chef, plenty of variety and a lovely choice for dinner or breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. Particular thanks to Alex Clark and Tom at the bar who went out of their way to help us two elderly ladies. The weather during our stay was horrid, but the staff at The King's Lodge were the sunshine!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Inn Collection, Other at The Kingslodge Inn
Responded 14 Dec 2021
Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback, it is always gratefully appreciated. We are delighted you had a great experience with us. Your comments will be passed on the team, both positive and constructive. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$116 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCounty DurhamDurham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
21
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Kingslodge Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Kingslodge Inn?
Nearby attractions include The Station House (0.2 km), Wharton Park (0.3 km), and The Waiting Room (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kingslodge Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Kingslodge Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kingslodge Inn?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kingslodge Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bean Social, The Head of Steam Durham, and Alishaan Indian Cuisine Durham.
Are pets allowed at The Kingslodge Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Kingslodge Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Durham Cathedral (1.0 km), Crook Hall & Gardens (0.9 km), and Durham Castle (0.8 km).
Is The Kingslodge Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.