We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Town House Durham

Hotels.comUS$ 125*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Town House Durham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

487 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 485: English reviews
Start your review of The Town House Durham
 Click to rate
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

First of all i have to say the hot tub was immaculate. The room was spot on,nice and private with lovely view. The guy on reception who i presume was the manager was extremely polite and helpfull,as was the restaurant staff. I would definitly recommend the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickgilroy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is an amazing little find.. very quirky with themed rooms.. Breakfast was very nice with a great choice cooked breakfast. Car parking outside but had to pay.. we arrived at 1.30pm. Paid till 6pm on saturday, then it was free until monday am.. (£4.50). The hotel is 5 minutes walk from the centre. Perfect location for the town....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane -
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff and accommodation of a high standard, good food and location ideal for a visit to Durham. Parking is pot luck near the hotel but if you are lucky enough to find a space on the street after 6pm the cost is reasonable

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
townhouseowner, Manager at The Town House Durham, responded to this review

Dear Tim, Thank you for this lovely review. It is a shame we cannot provide private parking, but luckily there is usually space in front of our hotel for on-street parking. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, The TownHouse

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Price-4*- great location, beautiful room Service-4*- friendly staff, didn't go above and beyond however Room-5*- lovely room Location-4* only marked down as it is hard to find public parking but amazing location! This was booked for me as a surprise for my birthday and I had a wonderful time! The room was a show stopper! This was a separate log...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fappa_123
townhouseowner, Manager at The Town House Durham, responded to this review

Dear Fappa_123, Thank you for this elaborate and great review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had such a wonderful birthday. We hope to see you again in the near future. Best wishes, The TownHouse

York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights over the May Day bank holiday. We chose one of the rooms with hot tub ( le jardin) and were not disappointed. Lovely room, great hot tub (very private with nice views) , and a lovely deep roll top bath, and waterfall style shower. We did see a few negative reviews around price, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
townhouseowner, Manager at The Town House Durham, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, Thank you for your fantastic review. We are delighted to hear you had such a great time during your stay over bank holiday. We look forward to your return. Best wishes, The TownHouse

Cologne, Germany
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well the Townhouse in Durham might be the ideal place for you stay in Durham. Is it close to all main attractions (less than 10 minutes to castle and cathedral), very quiet and has a lot of rather cheap parking spaces near by. But best of it all are the beautiful decorated "theme" rooms in this wonderful town house. Just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barba23rossa
townhouseowner, Manager at The Town House Durham, responded to this review

Dear Barba23rossa, This is such a fantastic review. Thank you so much! We agree that our rooms are all different, so it does pay off to have a look which room is best suited. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind regards, The Town House

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My wife surprised me with a stay in the Le Jardin room for my birthday. Room was beautiful, clean, and had a great view. Outside hot tub was a great touch, too. Staff went extra mile to make my birthday unforgettable. Nothing was too much trouble. We also had a lovely dinner in the hotel restaurant. Food and ambient were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt O
townhouseowner, Manager at The Town House Durham, responded to this review

Dear Matt, Thank you for this brilliant review of your stay with us! We are happy to hear you had a lovely birthday, and look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best, The Town House

Oxford
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights over Easter and really liked the hotel. We had the Ruby room which had a bath at the end of the bed. All the fittings were to a very high standard. The manager and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mikeya_8
townhouseowner, Manager at The Town House Durham, responded to this review

Dear Mikeya, Thank you for your lovely review of your stay in the Ruby Room. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind regards, The Town House

Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We had our post wedding celebrations at The Town House as having eaten there in the past we knew the place was gorgeous and did amazing food. On the big day itself, it didn't disappoint and Allen and all the rest of the staff pulled out all the stops to ensure that we got the chilled out, amazing day that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jo L
townhouseowner, Manager at The Town House Durham, responded to this review

Dear Jo, Your wedding celebration was wonderful. Thank you so much for celebrating at The Town House! We hope we will see you and your friends again in the near future for drinks, dinner and/or an overnight stay. It was a pleasure for us all to work on your special day, and hardly felt like work at all. All the...

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We were really fortunate when we dropped in and got a Saturday night table booking at ver short notice. One of those lucky moments which really paid off. Our evening was great. In a small, delightfully decorated restaurant with only 10 covers we were looked after amazingly well With a great Saturday crowd and gentle background music, the evening was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kevg234
townhouseowner, Manager at The Town House Durham, responded to this review

Dear Kevg234, Thank you for this beautifully detailed review. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed it so much and we look forward to seeing you in the near future. Best wishes, The Town House

201 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (194)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Other (92)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.3 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.8 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
4.1 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
8.8 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,004 reviews
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A classic Georgian building from the outside...... step inside and prepare to be wowed . Choose Gadds Town House, Durham city’s most beautiful hotel and restaurant. Nestled in historical and peaceful Old Elvet, a striking transformation of an elegant townhouse ideally located minutes away from the Cathedral & Castle and Durham’s vibrant night life. Once inside the decor exudes glamour, luxuriously decedent combined with an eclectic collection of antiques & paintings creating atmosphere and special ambience to completely relax and enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Town House Durham

Address: 34 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3HN, England (Formerly Gadds Town House)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: ₹ 7,563 - ₹ 27,408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Town House Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Town House Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadds Town House Hotel Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Town House Durham staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Durham, United Kingdom
Sunderland, United Kingdom

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Town House Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All acceptable”
timgJ5832RR, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“Le Jardin room - with hot tub!”
478MichelleB, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“The Edwardian Express room is fun and unusual”
232dorothyb, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“book in advance”
MrS_MrsAD_, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rogue room is perfect for a romantic night away.”
Stevierobbx, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 125* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 129
Expedia.comUS$ 125
TravelocityUS$ 125
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates