We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,356 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,272: English reviews
Start your review of Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
 Click to rate
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

As expected, nice big clean hotels with gym, swimming, sauna, stream, jaccuzi options. Really liked it. Room was big n clean, not too many options on TV, free wi-fi in rooms also. Sauna was good, not too busy, good enough space.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gaurav S
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was treated, by a friend for afternoon tea and drinks on Tuesday 21st February. Unfortunately things Did not get off to a good start. We waited ages before a member of staff appeared to take our order. After getting served we then waited at least 15 minutes before the afternoon tea arrived. The sandwiches were so dry they must...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

An excellent hotel overlooking the river. Service friendly and professional, rooms spotless and maintained to a high standard. We only had breakfast in the hotel but the food was excellent well presented, tasty and plenty of choice . Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sheff868
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We booked 2 twin rooms for a 2 night room only stay. Ate in restaurant on first night - menu choice small but good range of dishes - pasta, steak, burgers etc. We all enjoyed the burgers. You can sit in the bar area and order breakfast for a fraction of the price charged in restaurant. All front of house...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Love P
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hotel is in a great location, walking distance into centre and yet a quiet location by the river. Everything in room clean and professional. Reception staff particularly good and welcoming, and Ben handled a complaint with great pofessionalism to our satisfaction. Breakfast very good quality and range. Breakfast shift restaurant staff very good - particularly Novita, who we hope is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s0mersetsal
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We Arrived here on a Saturday afternoon and managed to get a car parking space straight away. We checked in at 3pm. The trainee staff at reception were prompt and very helpful. Our room was ready and its fair to say we were more than impressed. We were upgraded to a superior with it being my boyfriends birthday. They left...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lauren S
Management response:

Dear Lauren S, Thank you for your very positive feedback I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and were able to take advantage of the facilities we have on offer for our valued guests. Please be assured that your very positive comments have been passed over to the team. I look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Arrived at hotel at 3pm, I was aware that check in was from 2pm , however when I arrived the room wasn't ready so we received a complimentary drink until it was ready, which was a really nice touch. However when it got to 4pm I had to go and ask if my room was ready! I'm convinced they forgot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dionne K
Management response:

Dear Dionne K, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear of your initial issue during check in, and you had to go back to the desk to check if your room was ready. Please be assured that I will address this with the team to ensure our guests are put centre stage and never forgotten. I...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice rooms, pleasant staff, free wifi, nice food. However, gets only three stars from me due to the horribly loud music blaring away in the restaurant; there's no need for it! Also, guests have to pay for parking, which seems a bit of a rip off!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter L
Benjamin T, Guest Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Peter L, Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the noise level in Collage and that you had to pay for car parking. I have passed on your feedback on your experience in the restaurant to our Food and Beverage Manager to ensure that adjustments...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Durham weather provided 48 hours of continuous NE wind, 2°C rain/sleet/drizzle with apocalyptic grey skies. Nevertheless the hotel was our very comfortable refuge from which we easily walked to the Castle and Cathedral and (underwhelmed by their restaurant menu) to very good restaurants in the town centre on both evenings. Check out is 12:00. We asked for an extension till...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fredmund
Benjamin T, Guest Service Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Fredmund, Thank you for taking the time to contact us with this fantastic feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our Front Office team were very attentive and granted your late check out. I hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Durham. Kind Regards...

Durham
Reviewed 1 week ago

STILL, despite repeated assurances on this site, the male changing facilities are in disrepair! There is only one single shower cubicle with water that is, at best, tepid. The other two cubicles still have neither doors nor a dividing wall. What a shoddy state of affairs this is!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank spenko
Meggan S, Director of Operations at Radisson Blu Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Spenko, Thank you for your feedback in regards to the leisure facilities. I understand your frustrations with the male changing area and can assure you that all actions are being taken to repair the shower cubicle structure. I am sure you can appreciate that the hotel does rely on external suppliers and are bound by their timelines and delivery...

428 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (356)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (114)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (130)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durham hotels
0.8 km away
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Durham City Centre
4.3 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,927 reviews
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Durham North Hotel
4.9 km away
The Honest Lawyer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Overlooking the River Wear, Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham presents a prime location for a visit to England. Voted "Best City in the UK" by Conde Nast Traveller, Durham has all the culture and charm you're looking for in an English town. Find UNESCO World Heritage sites and attractions Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and Durham University less than 3 kilometers away. The 207 well-kept, modern bedrooms and suites offer 4-star amenities. Collage Restaurant offers a unique twist on the British Brassiere with a range of signature dishes and British fare. The Bar serves a food menu, great drinks and classic cocktails early into the morning. Unwind at the fitness and wellness facilities which include a swimming pool. Enjoy helpful services like on-site parking, express laundry and One Touch Service. The conference space houses 11 meeting rooms which can be used for all types of meetings and social occasions for up to 500 people. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Durham

Address: Frankland Lane, Durham DH1 5TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Durham
Price Range: ₹ 6,938 - ₹ 13,792 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Durham 4*
Number of rooms: 207
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Durham Hotel Durham
Radisson Durham
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durham
#2 Spa Hotel in Durham
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#4 Family Hotel in Durham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Radisson Blu Hotel Durham staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Winsford, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Radisson Blu Hotel Durham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was only visiting the bar area and not a hotel guest.”
 of 5 bubbles chloeb327, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room overlooking the river.”
 of 5 bubbles sheff868, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Don't go when there's a wedding on!”
 of 5 bubbles s0mersetsal, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a riverside view, the higher the better.”
 of 5 bubbles Fredmund, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms with a view towards the River”
 of 5 bubbles Aninda_mukherjee, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5