We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Laurel Cottage B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Laurel Cottage B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

288 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 287: English reviews
Start your review of Laurel Cottage B&B
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner bought this for us as a last minute get away from wowcher and what a disappointment and rip off. He rang up to confirm the booking to be told we had an upgrade as this was the only room left. First of all the room stank of paint and was dirty the bathroom was dated and just felt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
Tel01539445594, Owner at Laurel Cottage B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we take all of our feedback seriously and we're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. There are a few issues we would like to clear up. Firstly you booked a Groupon deal which is valid from Sunday to Thursday which is stated in the terms and conditions, so when booking we do explain there is...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful quaint B&B. Absolutely loved our stay, rooms exceptional with great facilities we will definitely return as ideally situated in the centre of windermere. Spa access a lovely perk and thoroughly enjoyed our entire stay. Breakfast was gorgeous and set me up for the rest of the day. Definitely recommend this B&B to everyone. It looks tiny from the outside...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tracey H
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently returned from a Friday-Sunday stay and we were mightily impressed. Original stay was for November but we had to cancel last minute for family reasons. Despite booking on a travel site Steve and his daughter were really understanding and offered us an amended date to suit. Arrived late evening and greeted by Steve who helped with bags and showed...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank John F
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Late in the evening after a 6hr drive, we pull up at our booked accommodation to be told "we are very sorry but the builders have cut off the boiler & we have booked you an alternative accommodation with Steve at Laurel Cottage." With trepidation we made our way to this quaint little b&b. Steve was there to greet us,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Linda T
Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

Spent a lovely weekend at Laurel Cottage rooms nice and clean comfy bed and great breakfast with a very good selection . Great location for the shops , bars , restaurants and walk down to the lake . Would definitely recommend .

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Julie M
Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017

We stayed 2 nights for new year ,greeted with champagne from our celebrations by the owners ,breakfast was fantastic , couldn't do enough to help , great family run B and B ,beds and rooms were excellent value , location 10/10 , would 100per cent go back , we loved it

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bdweir
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely little bed and breakfast, so much character and history to the building. Perfectly located in the centre of Bowness, shops and pubs on your door step. Short two minute walk to the boat trips. We received a free Spa pass from Laurel Cottage, to use at the McDonald Hotel across the road. Breakfast was lovely cooked and presented. Owners...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Aana8619
Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

We just had a wonderful 2 nights here, Lovely and quaint B&B. Clean, friendly and comfortable rooms. Lovely breakfast. Perfect location. Definitely returning next year. I would recommend the Albert pub for both food and / or drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terri B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We booked a night here through Groupon and what a fabulous deal it was! The B&B is perfectly located right in the centre of Bowness within walking distance of the lake and all the shops and bars on offer....we couldn't have been in a better place! The owners were friendly and helpful, getting us checked in and parked up with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Magsy7
yorkshire
Reviewed 20 November 2016

Arrived Friday evening and the owners were very helpful friendly and welcoming, Our room was spacious with lots of wardrobe and drawer spaces, the towels and bedding were spotless. The room itself was very dusty , tops of wardrobe and light fittings were coated. The wall lights weren't fixed to the wall properly and were loose and twisted around. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank perrin16

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.7 km away
Laurel Cottage Windermere
Laurel Cottage Windermere
#35 of 111 in Windermere
225 reviews
0.1 km away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#4 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
663 reviews
0.0 km away
Field House Guest House
Field House Guest House
#30 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bowness Bay Suites
Bowness Bay Suites
#17 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
193 reviews
0.1 km away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#6 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
310 reviews
0.3 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Laurel cottage is under new ownership since March 2014 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Laurel Cottage B&B

Address: B&B Kendal Road St. Martins Square, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: ₹ 6,573 - ₹ 21,992 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Laurel Cottage B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Laurel Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laurel Cottage Bed And Breakfast
Laurel Cottage Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Laurel Cottage B&B Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Laurel Cottage B&B staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Laurel Cottage B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Old chic rooms , with flat tv , ensuit , tea and coffee in all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles bdweir, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles Noragirl, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Anyone you like”
 of 5 bubbles alan14Bristol, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No lift and the staircase was very narrow.”
 of 5 bubbles singaporelady2016, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the front of the guest house are probably best.”
 of 5 bubbles SAM.46, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5