We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairfield Garden Guest House

Booking.comUS$ 133*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Fairfield Garden Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Garden Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 295: English reviews
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Made to feel welcome by the hosts Liz & Tony from arrival to departure. Staying there was something to tick off my bucket list as being the home of one of my relatives Annie Garnett. Tony gave me a little more insight to Annie Garnett's life, but also confirmed my investigations. He also let me see one of the apartments...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonpac
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you. The history of our house is one of its strongest assets and we are only to glad to pass on such knowledge as we have and exchange with others who have more than we do. See you again hopefully - oh, and yes, the spa is now working again :-)

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the Fairfield for 2 nights on 7 and 8 May. What a hidden gem this hotel is, the owners are very welcoming and friendly and the guy who helps out with breakfasts is lovely. We stayed in the penthouse, which had lovely features such as a Jacuzzi bath and rain shower which we took full advantage of....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DarrenTodd25
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The penthyouse was a little project a while back and has been very popular ever since.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 May 2016

A lovely guest house with delightful garden. Lovely touches throughout the property, saw some Peony flowers ( my favourites). Friendly, helpful owners, wonderful spread at breakfast, so nice to have fresh fruit, the cooked breakfast was delicious as well! Bedrooms & bathrooms spotless with plenty of towels and complimentary toiletries and a good range of tea/coffee on hospitality tray -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stp1602
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your words. Now that th ebetter weather is here the garden is coming into its own. Its nice to be able to sit out and enjoy a glass of wine on a warm evening. May there be plenty of them!

Reviewed 27 April 2016 via mobile

We chose this guest house without much thought , as it is located Very close to the town . A five minute walk finds you right in the heart of Bowness on Windermere , near all the pubs and restaurants. A positive we noticed about the guest house was that it was VERY quiet during both the day and night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ellis3000
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you. We get a few comments about the hill but it is nice to recognise that it keeps the busy village down in the village! :-) Tony

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Booked very last minute for a single nights stay over the weekend for my Birthday and was far from disappointed! The website states they normally don't allow for single night bookings at weekends however I thought id chance it and sent an email! Tony replied to me within hours and after a quick phone confirmation we were booked! We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LewisTonner
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you. Tony

Leyland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 April 2016

We stayed there for our Anniversary weekend and had the rooftop Bedroom which was superbly equipped, I managed to avoid most of the beams. Its a long haul up the stairs, my wife was struggling a bit, so be aware if you have an issue with climbing. The hill going to town was steep, but we coped. Parking was fine...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie T
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We do try to point out that the penthouse is in the roofspace and so is up stairs. However we do understand and hope that the views made it all worthwhile.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 March 2016

Booked as a last minute stay over the Easter weekend. We had been fortunate to have got the penthouse spa suite. Very friendly greeting as we arrived from the owner - Tony. Made to feel very welcome. The suite was very spacious and very well appointed - king-sized bed (very comfortable), spa bath and a great big shower cubicle overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C4687ZHdavidh
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback. The penthouse roofspace conversion was designed from the start to be something a little different. We are glad that you enjoyed it. Regards from us both.

Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed last year over the Easter bank holiday weekend. The hotel is perfectly located. A nice, 2min stroll away from the town, restaurants, cafes, shops and the Lake Windermere Boat Cruises. Free parking which was brilliant - a lot of hotels don't have the space and allowed us to drive there straight from work. Friendly welcome from the owners...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tracy_87_b
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank so much for your kind words. Its fun for us too so glad you enjoyed the stay and we look forward to seeing you back. Tony.

Lancashire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2016

We booked this place as a last minute get-away - and we are very glad we did. A few reviews mention the steep hill - it is but really its a great location being quiet, yet 2 minutes walk right into the centre of Bowness. We got a warm welcome from the manager?/owner? a really nice chap, and nothing too...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WorldMachine
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We would love to see you back and the garden is at its best in late April/May - the smells are wonderful.

Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Very impressed that this last minute booking was as lovely as it was. Extremely comfortable, well equipped rooms, and very good breakfast. The staff were friendly and obliging. The hotel feels small and charming and it is a good location. A very steep incline up to the hotel but very good taxi services if needed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alihads
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words.We are blessed with excelent staff, and its so pleasing to see them recognised.

101 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.3 km away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
552 reviews
0.2 km away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
675 reviews
0.3 km away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#22 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
313 reviews
0.5 km away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#14 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
530 reviews
0.5 km away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Fairfield is a charming Georgian house set in quiet secluded grounds with its own car park. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet just a few steps from the waterfront, shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants of Bowness. There is a spacious terrace and garden, a large lounge and free Internet and Wi-fi access. Four-poster rooms, some with spa bath’s, and a state-of-the-art penthouse. Generous breakfast. Champagne and chocolates available. Ideal for a romantic break. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fairfield Garden Guest House

Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: ₹ 7,384 - ₹ 11,879 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield Garden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Garden Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fairfield Garden Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fairfield Garden Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe Rooms are the best”
Danniiw86, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only a small number of rooms but a range of options, check website for more info”
michaelb1950, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you are taking a dog say so, not all rooms are suitable.”
Pamela8833, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Deluxe Room with spa bath and sleigh bed - perfect!”
CazzaBB, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was way too small for the room rate charged, not sure about any others”
stephentK1887EE, 29 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 133* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$ 133
Agoda.comUS$ 133
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates