We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Riviera Hotel

Booking.comUS$ 115*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 115*
US$ 115*
US$ 115*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Riviera Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

997 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 989: English reviews
Start your review of Riviera Hotel
 Click to rate
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Over looking the bay of Weymouth this hotel has beautiful views. Because it's grade II listed they are handicapped with what they can do so still have the same 'crital?' metal windows as when it was built in 1932 so don't expect double glazing. And of course, because of its situation at the top of the bay it is open...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marks611
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed for one night at the Riviera Hotel on a business trip to Weymouth. In reality I wouldn't stay in what I call a holiday hotel but prices and vacancies left me little choice. On arrival the hotel looks dated 1960s features. I booked into reception and was told by the receptionist that breakfast was served from 08.00 which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David F
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went to Riviera for a swim today. I usually go there 3 to 4 times a week so I know what temperature the pool should be. The pool has been getting steadily colder over the last few weeks and now even the lifeguards are warning people as they turn up to pay that the pool is very cold. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank turquoise853
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

I go to the Leisure centre each week and the indoor pool is so cold you almost think you could be in the sea. Spoke to the manager and what a rude man. Telling me the water was between 25 - 28C. It is more like 22. When I asked let us go and test the water temperature with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wendy W
riviera_team, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy W Thank you for taking the time to post your personal thoughts on TripAdvisor in regards to our indoor swimming pool. As confirmed our pool is maintained at 25 - 28 degrees which is checked and logged daily. We are sorry that you feel the water is in fact colder, however this simply inst the case. Regards

South Yorkshire UK
Reviewed 1 week ago

Arriving at the hotel down the drive from Weymouth, the hotel looks stunning. Unfortunately this is not the case upon arrival. The good parts are the friendly staff team we encountered and the general areas which are quite well decorated and maintained. From there it just got worse. I dont particularly like hotels where you have to go outside to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stewal
riviera_team, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stewal Thank you for taking the time to post your personal thoughts on TripAdvisor following your recent stay. The Riviera is currently undergoing a staged refresh following the appointment of a new management team structure and as part of that process we are currently in the process of refreshing all of our rooms and public areas as confirmed by...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a good hotel though shabby looking on the outside. Our room was small but adequate for three nights. It was very clean with good towels. Staff friendly and helpful. They don't do dinner on Monday nights but we didn't eat in the hotel as we thought it rather expensive for what it was. Good all you can eat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maggie P
riviera_team, Guest Relations Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maggie P Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts following your recent stay. We thank you for the complimentary comments regarding our friendly and helpful staff and of course our tasty breakfasts. We are currently in the process of refreshing our rooms and public areas and we hope you shall notice the difference next time you...

Stony Stratford
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I was in single room 213 which although small was well fitted out with plenty of storage and a very nice en-suite with a good easy to use shower. The reception area was pleasant, and although I didn’t use the Spa, I heard that it was good. That’s the good news, now the not so good. I asked reception for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank stonydel
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room was acceptable, once you got through the door which was in severe need of some attention. The staff were inadequately trained as were the management when it came to customer service. The menu was poor as was the standard of food. Service very slow. Breakfast replenishment was inadequate as was the table service. Receptionist very uncaring when we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 67scottishlass
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beds weren't so comfy, we paid £70 plus £10 for 2 breakfasts, the walls are so thin so can hear everything. Need a good makeover. Bathrooms were nice and clean, but the beds need upgrading. Only stayed for one night and had an awful view.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kayleigh P
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The outside the hotel is in need of painting. The additional accommodation at the back looks very scruffy from the outside but the rooms have recently been refurbished. Both bedrooms and bathrooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. The dinner menu has limited choice, small portions for the prices. No children's menu. Buffet breakfast was fair but the coffee was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JQJ122

577 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (358)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (51)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (89)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Other (162)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (193)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Double Seaview First Floor Room (23)
Viewed
Double Seaview Ground Floor Room (22)
Viewed
Indoor Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
The Hotel (45)
Viewed
Twin Seaview Room (24)
Viewed
Twin Standard Room (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Other (7)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
3.0 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#10 of 22 in Weymouth
456 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
458 reviews
13.3 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Designed in an Art Deco style, the majority of our rooms are connected to the main building by covered pathways. All rooms feature free Wi-Fi, en suite bathrooms and tea/coffee making facilities and a safety deposit box. There is a Leisure Centre equipped with a sauna, steam room, gym and both indoor and outdoor pools. (Outdoor pool seasonal only). Set in Bowleaze Cove the Riviera Hotel is just 2.5 Miles from the town centre. Also nearby are the Sealife Centre as well as Lodmoor nature reserve. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Riviera Hotel

Address: Bowleaze Coveway, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Price Range: ₹ 7,316 - ₹ 9,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Riviera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Weymouth, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Riviera Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Riviera Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not convenient to eat in other locations without transport. As I would not recommend food.”
67scottishlass, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The best rooms in the hotel over look the sea at the front of the hotel.”
622rocky, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Would not recommend to anyone”
  • The dark line above light strip is damp
  • Wall near the bed
Linda242014, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“first floor sea views”
jennoyes55, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“definitely get a sea view room and higher floor”
_ukdilek, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 115* /night
View Deal
Agoda.comUS$ 115
TripAdvisorUS$ 115
PricelineUS$ 115
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates