We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Russell Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Russell Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

588 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Russell Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 588: English reviews
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Ok so we got this hotel on cheap last minute through Diash coach holidays Resort Great Hotel Location Great Hotel condition Very tired Room clean but poor standard Shower non existent Food edible very British served all too fast although no room here for romance over a shared table with stranger, we believe had we gone self drive we might...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve_sue_48
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Russell Hotel. We are sorry to read that you did not like the dining experience. We do try to provide every guests requests but those booking a last minute special offer are less likely to have their requests met over our guests who booked earlier. We hope that you will enjoy your upcoming...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a good deal on this hotel food. Was very nice nothing to much trouble for the staff in all areas of hotel room was nice and clean but could do with updating there was building work going on so no reception or phones or wifi at the time of arrival had to use the regent hotel breakfast was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geraldineburgin
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us despite the on-going renovations and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel room warm but very basic and work going on. Generally very scruffy and our room had a non existent view - wall and roof of close buildings. No toiletries in bathroom. Don't forget yours if you venture here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Josephine T
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff and food very good but the room was like staying in a fridge shower almost none existent no heating in bathroom which has a stone floor radiator dose not work had a small electric heater which we left on when we went out but cleaner would turn off so room was always cold on our return this was due...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith G
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Russell Hotel. We are very disappointed to read of your experience at our hotel. We hope that you made the management aware of your issues during your stay so that they could do their best to rectify the situation.

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we only booked this 2 weeks in advance for £89 each, 4 nights 5 days so didnt expect too much,but what a wonderful surprise,good journey down from nottm,clean and tidy,comfortable room,very helpful staff,nothing too much trouble,food was great,entertainment every night,having a new reception and cafe area built while we were there but that didnt cause too much trouble and was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Excellent 5 days, clean and friendly hotel. This hotel has probably the best chef in the Daish chain. Excellent food. Rooms recently re decorated and all public rooms well furnished. Daish have probably the best hotels out of all coach holidays.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roger C
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice hotel having some work done but didnt spoil our holiday the room was very spacious and the food was spot on had a great time and would definitely recommend it right on the sea front and a short walk into town .

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 663maureens
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your brilliant review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room 134 needs repairs and decorating. houskeeping missed our room 1 day Entertainment very good, staff very helpfull food good but restaurant understaffed for the money we paid we should not complain really

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 507alann
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Russell Hotel. Please accept our apologies for housekeeping missing your room, I hope you made the reception team aware so that they could fix this for you. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us overall and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was clean and comfortable food was v good staff were v obliging and the entertainment was some of the best we had seen Well done !, The hotel was right on.the seafront and only a short walk into town. I had not been to Weymouth before but I certainly would go back there again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank susanhN1575JZ
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your excellent review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.

LEIGHTON BUZZARD
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Staff fantastic - food very good . This hotel is being renovated at the moment.There was a long walk through corridors to the lift. This was very confusing. When we booked I feel it would have been right of Daish to advise us to give the option of booking somewhere else. The hotel was extremely hot everywhere which was extremely...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Avril A
Daishs_Holidays, Guest Relations Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review of the Russell Hotel. We are very pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the over-running work to install a new reception, coffee shop and seaview guest lounge, we had anticipated this being finished before we re-opened after New Year. We hope to be able...

77 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.9 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#5 of 22 in Weymouth
436 reviews
1.0 km away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#9 of 22 in Weymouth
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront Hotel
3.3 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#19 of 22 in Weymouth
959 reviews
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Weymouth Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Russell Hotel is perfect for short & weekend leisure breaks in Weymouth – ideal for adult-only, half-board breaks. The coastal hotel is an ideal base for a holiday or short break to Weymouth, boasting easy access to the surrounding countryside, the town centre just a short walk away and the Channel Islands reachable by Condor Ferries' state-of-the-art hydrofoil. The spacious hotel restaurant serves a traditional English breakfast and a three-course dinner followed by tea or coffee. After this, why not retire to the lounge bar and relax with friends or enjoy the great live inclusive entertainment provided every evening by a variety of local musicians? The more energetic can even boogie the night away on the dance floor. The Russell Hotel offers a variety of short break packages throughout the year, including Nostalgia breaks and the ever-popular Tinsel & Turkey breaks during November and December. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Russell Hotel

Address: 135-138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Russell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell Hotel Weymouth, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Russell Hotel staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Worcester, United Kingdom

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Russell Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had a single room which was fine,but I fail to understand why I had to pay a single supplement when you can only allocate single rooms to single travelers.”
 of 5 bubbles Calorjen, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Well worth the extra charge to upgrade to a sea view but if you can't you get good views from the lounges and coffee shops.”
 of 5 bubbles T7597XDwilliamh, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Asked for a sea view,road at front but not very busy at night.or rear for quietness.”
 of 5 bubbles billandrews1951, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms 4 and 6 unless you want to hear the entertainment until it finishes.”
 of 5 bubbles oldjb2015, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“from looking at lower level rooms these are the best sea view side”
 of 5 bubbles steve_sue_48, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5