We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Old Well Inn

Orbitz.comUS$ 107*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 136*
US$ 107*
Great Deal
US$ 110*
US$ 136*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Old Well Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 167: English reviews
Start your review of The Old Well Inn
 Click to rate
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Looked forward to a return visit, but were slightly disappointed - generous room and very comfortable bed, however the restaurant meal was not to the same standard - after almost an hour waiting 2 of our 4 meals were barely warm, the waiter arranged for them to be 'microwaved' but after that the diners appetite had diminished. As a contrast...

Thank paul a
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

A cacophony of flavours tempted our taste buds in the authentic curry we ordered from their specials menu. The service was attentive without being too much and the hosts, Roy and Rima are friendly and accommodating. Overall a lovely experience.

Thank Emma G
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Chanced upon this pub/Indian restaurant during a camping trip to Barnard Castle. Great food, friendly & accommodating staff, dog friendly. Would highly recommend a visit to this excellent venue, particularly if you have a dog. We ate in the conservatory which overlooked a fabulous beer garden.

Thank Nicola G
rimachatts, Owner at The Old Well Inn, responded to this review

Thank you ever so much for your appreciation and hope to see you back soon! Cheers Rima

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Chose here for lunch yesterday and had the most delicious meal( chicken tikka masala) Owner and staff were attentive and very effecient. Would reccomend you to try!! Building old and 'tardis-like' with conservatory and outdoor garden to suit everyone! Hope to visit again soon.

Thank Lorna S
rimachatts, Owner at The Old Well Inn, responded to this review

It was lovely having you visit us and thank you for your kind words . Do come back soon. Cheers Rima

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Looking for somewhere to eat last night, the Old Well was recommended to us by locals. It was everything they promised. We were made very welcome with our well behaved dog. The food was great. The curries in particular were delicious, very authentic. Give it a try, you won't regret it.

Thank Paul B
rimachatts, Owner at The Old Well Inn, responded to this review

Thank you! Do return and we will try our level best to please! Cheers Rima

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was somewhere we all used to frequent regularly when we lived here but OMG what's happened....it is really awful now. It has totally lost the charm & cosy feeling it used to have & now just looks like an Indian restraunt. Dont get me wrong I LOVE Indian restaurants but as a setting in an ancient building that is...

Thank 406noddle
rimachatts, Owner at The Old Well Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is hard to please everyone! And I do apologise that it didn't suit your taste but we are Indian and I am afraid I can't apologise for that! However, I'm not sure you did visit because the only area that has grey floors is the ladies powder room! And the doors have remained the same for years...we...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is an old building. Don't expect anything too modern or straight walls and doors! This however is what gives The Old Well Inn it's charm. The location is superb and it's pretty easy to get parked on the street outside somewhere near the entrance. The bar has a great atmosphere and the owners are very friendly and caring. When...

Thank stratmn5
rimachatts, Owner at The Old Well Inn, responded to this review

It's heart warming to have guests like you appreciate our efforts. Thank you! See you back soon. Cheers Rima

Portsmouth, UK
Reviewed 16 April 2017

We were recommended to try this place for lunch and we weren't disappointed. My five year old grandson wanted sausages and chips from the kids menu and when it arrived we wished we'd ordered it as the food looked and tasted lovely. We adults had soup and a roll and the soup was obviously homemade and delicious. The staff were...

Thank Sue R
rimachatts, Owner at The Old Well Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your appreciation. We hope to see you back. Cheers Rima

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Nice hotel in good location with on street parking outside the door. Good ales on offer in the bar and sorry I was a couple of days to early for the beer festival. Period hotel, so lots of character and my room was well appointed, massive with bathroom to match. Great wifi throughout and breakfast was excellent. All in all...

Thank Ian M
rimachatts, Owner at The Old Well Inn, responded to this review

We look forward to you returning. Thank you for your custom. Cheers Rima

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Barnard Castle is a good location to visit, with lots of interesting shops and nice pubs. I also enjoyed my trip to the Bowes Musem. The Old Well Inn, however is not a place that I would recommend. The pub and restaurant are very nice but the room was dirty. I stayed with my partner and we found two empty...

Thank Sandra D
rimachatts, Owner at The Old Well Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I do apologise . We aim to please and unfortunately this was an inexcusable slip up. I was unaware. Hope you are able to give us a try again , reading reviews ! It never really happens. I do apologise once again. Hope to make it up to you. Cheers Rima

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (19)
Room/Suite (5)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (27)
Room/Suite (6)
Dining (3)
View from Room (1)
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barnard Castle
2.1 km away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
218 reviews
4.6 km away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
0.3 km away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#2 of 20 in Barnard Castle
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#16 of 20 in Barnard Castle
53 reviews
0.0 km away
Fernaville's Rest
Fernaville's Rest
#3 of 20 in Barnard Castle
43 reviews
4.1 km away
Lily Hill Farm
Lily Hill Farm
#4 of 20 in Barnard Castle
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Old Well Inn is a historic coaching inn that has the castle walls running along the beer garden. We have 10 ensuite character rooms , that can accommodate families, as well as individual travellers. Hotel guests enjoy a delicious breakfast. Our kitchen is open to the public from noon till 8.30pm, serving a variety of meals. We have soups and sandwiches , salads and chips and steaks and pies and even curries and pasta. The lovely conservatory has a coffee bar and dessert counter with a delectable and ever changing variety of desserts. The pub is famous for it's real cask ales. You will almost always get a new range. Our staff are warm , friendly , welcoming and ever ready to assist you as best they can. Welcome to the Old Well Inn. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Well Inn

Address: 21 The Bank | Barnard Castle, Barnard Castle DL12 8PH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Barnard Castle
Price Range: ₹ 5,361 - ₹ 7,428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Well Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Old Well Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Well Hotel Barnard Castle
Old Well Inn
The Old Well Inn Barnard Castle, Durham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Well Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Old Well Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Eat out on current performance”
paula347, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 7 which is apparently 'haunted' but the ghosts must have been on holiday!”
stratmn5, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 9 was excellent for us travelling with our dog as it has its own access directly on to the street if needed.”
Waitknowe, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 7 has an added companion if you believe in that kinda thing 😉”
No1waggi, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I cannot help with this.”
davidandpenny2016, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$ 107* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 110
Booking.comUS$ 136
Hotels.comUS$ 110
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates