We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Newbegin House

309 reviews
Save
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (5)
Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good8%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“drawing room”(33 reviews)
“appleton room”(20 reviews)
“b b”(111 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Rooms
Pool
Restaurant
5.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (309)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
There are newer reviews for Newbegin House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
280
26
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
280
26
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomappleton roomb bdecanter of sherrywalled gardenyorkshire breakfastoff street parkinglovely familycharming hostsfresh milkroll top bathfruit saladextra touchesgeorgian mansionthe ownerlocal producewarm welcome
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

Warm Welcome, perfect location, 2 minutes from market square. Lovely large room and bathroom overlooking garden (Iveson Room). Fantastic Yorkshire breakfast with quality local ingredients. House dates back to early 18th century and owner has commissioned a detailed historical study available for view in the...More

Thank CuriousFromRedcar
Response from Walter S, Owner at Newbegin HouseResponded 29 September 2017

Many thanks for staying at Newbegin House and for your very kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Beverley, and found time to read the "house history". This was written by Dr. Susan Neave, a local historian who managed to find...More

Reviewed 26 September 2017

Our party of 4 received an exceptionally warm welcome and cups of tea, and an introduction to this historic house by the owner Walter. Our rooms were very comfortable, quiet and clean and well equipped with all we needed for a relaxing stay. Great location...More

Thank arlap2015
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We had a very warm welcome from the owner who also provided excellent information on Beverley and local restaurants. The house is beautiful: Georgian with antique furniture and large rooms. Ours overlooked the garden and despite being within a very short walk of the centre...More

Thank Kath C
Response from Walter S, Owner at Newbegin HouseResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you so much for staying at Newbegin House and for leaving such an excellent review. We hope very much to welcome you again on your next visit to Beverley. Regards, Walter and Nuala

Reviewed 22 September 2017

Just back from three blissful days in Beverley, staying at Newbegin House. Couldn't fault a thing: lovely rooms, comfortable beds, charming and helpful host who recommended local restaurants and the delightful Burton Constable for a visit. Feel as relaxed as after a much longer holiday.More

Thank Susan F
Response from Walter S, Owner at Newbegin HouseResponded 23 September 2017

Many thanks for staying at Newbegin House and for your excellent review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Burton Constable - a wonderful stately home only a few miles away from us. Perhaps you will be able to come again some time,...More

Reviewed 15 September 2017

This is a classy B&B with a difference. We stayed for 3 nights in this house which dates from the mid-18C. The host could not have been more welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts - especially the full Yorkshire - are a treat and the table...More

Thank 72alastaird
Response from Walter S, Owner at Newbegin HouseResponded 16 September 2017

Many thanks for your very kind review of Newbegin House. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is very easy to give directions for visitors from the west or the south, but unfortunately the one way system can give problems to visitors from the...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345662
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$ 70 - US$ 196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 70 - US$ 196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (35)
Room & Suite (21)
Dining (5)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
john w
3 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Walter S | Property representative |
No, sorry, we do not take dogs in the bedrooms in the interests of other visitors. If a small dog has its own cage and does not yap if left alone, it can sleep in the utility room at no charge. Regards, Walter Sweeney
0
Votes
marion r
10 February 2015|
Answer
Response from Walter S | Property representative |
Dear Marion, Thank you for your enquiry. Our reduced rate for a double en suite room for two days is £130. Babies are welcome at no extra charges if they have their own cot. Unfortunately we are already fully booked on 21st... More
0
Votes
Room Tips
"One room only has a bath so if you want a shower ask for it."
Read review
"Fabulous Drawing room, history and modern facilities in one room"
Read review
"All three rooms are excellent"
Read review
"All the rooms are beautiful and well furnished"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing