We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

West Country Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
West Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Could not have asked for better service or food! We stayed nearby in a lodge at the beginning of November for a long weekend, although we didn't have much say in places to eat out nearby, couldn't have been a better pub local! All staff were super friendly and helpful, even the chef brought our food out and was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank JaimeS14a
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jaimes, I am absolutely delighted that you found the service to be "super friendly" and the food "to die for!". We are all truly happy that you found your experience to be "brilliant!". What more could we ask for? This response is exactly the result of what we always work so hard to achieve. Thank you so much, I... More 

Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

After a terrible few months, my husband and I decided to take a well deserved break. After 5 hours of travelling from Kent we finally arrived. I was looking forward to a relaxing evening. Although, what we were greeted with was very different! On arrival we were immediately told the room we booked was for single occupancy only (even though... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjo79
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Madam, I remember your arrival and it was nothing as you described. I asked for a copy of your booking as many hotels do upon arrival as we had you correctly listed by your booking agent as having booked a single room which we had allotted as per their instruction. I offered to contact the agent (which I did)... More 

Travellers are raving about these Bideford hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Stopped off on our way home from Cornwall as we fancied a roast and Westcountry Inn advertise a carvery on a Sunday on their website. However after being greeted rather abruptly by a French woman...(when I walked in she looked at me and said yes and huffed as if I had interrupted her) I was then informed that there were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Devondumpling27
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, I am sorry that you felt that we had let you down. We do indeed have a Carvery Room but choose to seat people near the ambience and warmth near the two fire places in the Winter months where it is cosy and inviting. Most customers enjoy sitting next to our real fires. We also have two or... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Having worked in the industry for many years, I appreciate the constraints small business owners work within. The West Country inn certainly has its challenges. My wife and I booked 2 nights as part of a voucher gift. During the booking I was told we wouldn't get the best room as "we don't make any money from them". Not a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim F
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Tim, thank you for your candid review. We advised you that you would have a standard double room and not an upgraded room as they are not part of any voucher deal. If we did not make any money from a voucher, we would not accept them and we certainly would not go to the trouble of stating it.... More 

Portadown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

If you are thinking of staying here don't - drive pass and find somewhere else that is bright and warm. The first thing when you enter this place is the smell of damp as if there has been no heat on for a very long time. The place is so dark especially the bedrooms. Our bedroom was cold and dark... More 

Helpful?
Thank Judith C
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

We have looked at this new review which was just posted and have reported it. The stay was apparently in November 2015. We have researched our back office computer records and are unable to find a person by the name of Judith C. to fit this time period and beyond. More 

Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stayed at the Westcountry Inn for two nights and had a most pleasant stay. The staff are all very friendly and approachable and couldn't help us enough. We had the excellent full English breakfast both mornings and the Sunday Carvery at lunchtime too, which was great. The Inn has thankfully retained all its old world charm and some parts... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew for a wonderful review. It is people like you who make our job feel so worthwhile. It was a pleasure to serve you and we truly appreciate your comments regarding the Inn's 'old world charm' and that you liked the food. Fantastic! We look forward to welcome you back one day. There are many people who we... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

This was a gift bought for us by our daughter through buy a gift. We stayed for two nights. We arrived a little early and was greeted by the barman/head chef Paul (or could be Martin) As our room was not quite ready we had a drink in the bar. Paul was very welcoming. We also had our dog with... More 

Helpful?
Thank webby171979
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Many thanks for your comments. There are times when we can be staffed at minimal levels as our staff do take holidays and we cover during these times as well as sickness and emergencies. It is the same with any business and we are only a very small hotel and cannot afford large quantities of staff. We have... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed three nights as travelled 400 miles for a family funeral.We were welcomed by Laura who was fantastic and so helpful.Our room was lovely with a huge bed and great views also very clean.The food was gorgeous and very good value as was the entire stay here.Will definitely be going back for a happier circumstances break.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. We are always here to help in what ever way we are able. It was lovely to read that you liked the cleanliness of our room with great views and lovely huge bed and that the food was 'gorgeous'. This is everything we could ever wish for. I do hope that... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 September 2016

I enjoyed a holiday recently in Clovelly with my sisters and brother and three little dogs, we were welcomed into the Inn with open arms to enjoy an evening meal with my pooches in tow; We all had different meals and I have to say my family are very hard to please, but the food was fabulous My sister and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Irene W
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review Irene. I will pass your comments on to the Staff. I do hope we will have the opportunity to look after your party again. Best wishes, Laura. More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016

The inn is right on the main road so there is traffic noise, especially if you are in a room at the front. Lots of character and reputedly haunted! The inn has been recently recarpeted and new curtains. Also has a well equipped gym and a jacuzzi, both of which are a bit incongruous really and do not appear to... More 

Helpful?
Thank anonK7060AR
Laura S, General Manager at West Country Inn, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your feedback. With reference to the gym & spa, it is constantly in use by residents who elect to use it and certainly not 'incongruous'. There is a huge poster outside the building advertising and showing the facilities and it is displayed on our website. One family booked the Inn exclusively for the use of... More 

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bideford hotels
9.7 km away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
321 reviews
1.4 km away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#7 of 12 in Bideford
657 reviews
3.3 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#4 of 12 in Bideford
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
487 reviews
2.1 km away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
185 reviews
4.2 km away
Treyhill Farm
Treyhill Farm
#6 of 37 in Bideford
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about West Country Inn

Address: Bursdon Moor | Nr. Hartland, Bideford EX39 6HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Price Range: ₹ 5,842 - ₹ 8,333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your West Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bideford Country Inn
West Country Inn Bideford, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from West Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the road!”
 of 5 bubbles anonK7060AR, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Can't think of any”
 of 5 bubbles LynnH52, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“we had a super king room”
 of 5 bubbles melaniemT775FX, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else. Rooms at the back would avoid some traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles crosscountryrush, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms (at a guess) will have views over the rolling hills. Beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles lynneb683, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay