We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Captain's Club Hotel

Wick Lane Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU England
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (458)
Dining (81)
Room & Suite (72)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 10 hotels in Christchurch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Modern 4 star luxury hotel and spa in Christchurch, Dorset. Overlooking the river Stour and located in the historic town of Christchurch, Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is a small independent luxury hotel with a nautical twist. The hotel features 12 two and three bedroom luxury suites, each with separate lounge/living areas, and a selection of hotel rooms. Captain’s Club Hotel & Spa is home to one of the best bars in Christchurch. They also have a 2 AA rosette restaurant, event facilities for up to 100, and a spa complete with hydrotherapy pool, sauna, and treatment rooms. All accommodation and event spaces face out onto the River Stour so no matter what you are travelling to Captain’s Club for, you are guaranteed a beautiful view. The alfresco dining terrace is open all summer and provides the perfect location to soak up the atmosphere of life on the river. This Christchurch hotel is family-friendly and rooms/suites are dog-friendly. The on-site parking is free to all residents (cars must be registered at reception on arrival) and paid parking for all other patrons.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Bar / lounge
Fishing
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Wifi
Heated pool
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Pedicure
Salon
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Harbour View
Languages Spoken
English
1284Reviews6Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 849
  • 230
  • 93
  • 63
  • 49
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Dream02464759171 wrote a review 17 Feb
1 contribution
I enjoyed a lunch at the restaurant. I payed for 3 hours parking but only stopped for 2 hours. A week later I received a £60/100 fine because of an error on my parking ticket! The management wasn’t interested. I would not recommend using the Captain’s Club restaurant car park.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Beware car parking sting!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Stephen E wrote a review 12 Feb
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
Myself and family members recently visited the Captains Club for afternoon tea over the course of several hours in the afternoon/evening. Sadly I found the entire experience rather average. The décor and fittings, though clean and in good condition, gave the entire place a sterile and cold aesthetic. Afternoon tea was pleasant enough - with the exception of one or two rather dry scones that felt a little past their sell-by date. I wasn't at all impressed with the quality of the coffee - though my companions enjoyed various teas. I will say that the waiting staff were excellent: attentive but not overbearing, efficient and pleasant to engage with. Sadly, we too were caught in the car park trap (I see others have experienced the same issue). We actually did pay the full amount - but sadly over-ran our initial slot by enough time that we now face a £60 fine (£100 if we have the gall to challenge it and fail). I'm sure the response - if one is forthcoming - from the management will attempt to abdicate responsibility on the grounds that the car park is no longer within their purview. Whilst that may technically be true, It's also true to say that - if you ask at the front-desk - your parking can be arranged free of charge; suggesting the dissociation isn't quite so complete. For an establishment offering 4 star accommodation, fine dining and luxury throughout, we left somewhat underwhelmed; and the parking issue really has cheapened the whole affair. It might not be your responsibility Captain's Club, but it certainly tarnished our experience and - in our minds - is associated with your brand.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Liz O wrote a review 11 Feb
Aylesbury, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
This was our third stay at the Captains Club and as usual it didn't disappoint! Lovely room, lovely staff and all in all a great stay, just a shame it was only one night. We were joined by family on the Saturday for the bottomless brunch event, it was a lovely afternoon and we would definitely book again, it was great value for money, nothing was too much for the staff, they were super generous with the prosecco and cocktails and the food was really good. Can't wait to visit again! Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Lloyd, Owner at Captain's Club Hotel
Responded today
Thank you so much for your fabulous review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to post about your enjoyable bottomless brunch and overnight stay with us. We really hope to see you again very soon and wish you a wonderful year until then...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
LiLixxxx wrote a review Jan 2024
Poole, United Kingdom22 contributions33 helpful votes
Had a spa day and afternoon tea with my mum today. First time visiting and we had a very warm welcome. Initially the front of house staff member could not find our booking for afternoon tea as I was told by the Spa that it would be 2pm which seemed to not be the case as the afternoon teas don't start until 3pm. Possibly a misunderstanding from my part, but they very quickly rectified this for me and got us seated straight away with a lovely tea! The different savoury options were a delight as normally you just get sandwiches. Also lovely to have a stand of cakes/sandwiches each and a pot of tea each! Very professional, friendly service in the restaurant. Then, on to the spa, again, a very warm welcome and very professional. The girls were all lovely and the treatments superb! Everywhere was very clean and tidy. Just a few slight criticisms was that the pool was very dark at the bottom, so with the dark lighting aswell wasn't that easy to navigate our way in down the steps, especially for my mum who is her 70s. Also, only having 2 changing rooms with the toilets inside them made me feel I needed to rush to get ready in case anyone was waiting for the loo. But these were only minor reasons and would not put me off from returning. The cheese and wine evening sounds very tempting 😊
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Sue C wrote a review Jan 2024
8 contributions21 helpful votes
Another lovely 2 night birthday stay for my husband last weekend, at The Captains Club- it is our very special place and we always look forward to staying and catching up with the lovely staff that we have got to know over the years. Our room was ready earlier which was a real bonus- the rooms are always lovely and clean with everything you need for a relaxing stay. The bed is so comfortable, we slept well. Love the new bathroom designs too very stylish and colourful. We enjoyed a swim in the pool in the afternoons on both days, which was very relaxing followed by dinner in the Club restaurant on both nights. The food was very good, as it always is, plentiful and freshly cooked, especially the home made soups on the dinner menu ( compliments to the Chef) , and the breakfasts were excellent too. We have stayed here 7 or 8 times now and you always know what you are going to get- great service by all the lovely cheerful staff including Harry, Luke , Jacob , Katie and Annie to name a few- Harry seems to know what we wanted before we did ( he's fab) and is so good at his job, as is Luke, - very knowledgeable on the menus and bought my husband a 21st badge even though he was 65 ! - very kind , also Jacob was so helpful when we had a couple of little issues this time, which were swiftly sorted out by Annie and Katie. Thank you all. It is like catching up with family - (in fact I was mistaken this time for Harry's Auntie which made us smile :) We are now planning our next trip and hopefully it won't be too long before we are back "home" again! Thank you Captains Club x
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Lloyd, Owner at Captain's Club Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you so much for your fabulous review and for taking the time to say a big thank you to our wonderful crew. It is always a delight to welcome you back and we look forward to you enjoying many more stays for years to come. With our very best wishes for 2024...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Brownloving wrote a review Jan 2024
Devon, United Kingdom17 contributions10 helpful votes
Food and service fine but irritatingly car park is not free. This is a follow for Captains Club the registered Freeholder of the car park. There is no Leaseholder showing on the Land Registry and Creative Car Parks seems to simply offer management would you care to clarify please Tim.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Lloyd, Owner at Captain's Club Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for writing a second review in relation to this matter. If you would care to write to me directly, I can clarify everything for you. tim@captainsclubhotel.com A forum such as Trip Advisor is not meant for conversational purposes. Instead it is there for guests to read appropriate comments relating to dining and staying with us. With kind regards,
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robert J wrote a review Jan 2024
Christchurch, United Kingdom2 contributions
Very good Sunday Lunch. A good selection on the menu with a comprehensive wine menu. Great views over Christchurch harbour. Food was served in a timely manner and we were well attended to by Phil. Luckily there was room in the car park.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Lloyd, Owner at Captain's Club Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a kind and positive review. See you again soon we hope...?
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
memomeSurrey wrote a review Jan 2024
New Milton, United Kingdom37 contributions58 helpful votes
Our champagne afternoon tea was a wedding present and we drove over, parked and went in assuming that, as guests of the hotel we would give our car registration to reception for it to be free. No, we had to pay. Only £2.50 but still! Our table overlooked the veranda leading down to the water, which sadly we couldn’t see. None of the tables could. Food was passable - finger sandwich of egg mayo, finger sandwich of Brie and pickle, small slice of rye with cream cheese and slice of salmon, slither of chicken wrap and slice of sausage roll. Followed by two different scones with whipped cream and a little pot of jam, followed by four little cakes - a macaron, jelly thing, carrot? cake and chocolate tart. A variety choice of teas. The menu wasn’t clear as to what was involved. For example when we had tea at the ritz, we were offered more sandwiches when we’d eaten what was given. As I’m not fond of the sweet portion (I left the cakes) I was surprised to be told there would be a surcharge for more sandwiches - baring in mind they only covered a saucer sized plate! Rather disappointing, though as we were still waiting for our teas to arrive, we were given a few sandwich fingers free. All in all a disappointing visit and I’m glad we didn’t pay £35 each for it.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Lloyd, Owner at Captain's Club Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your feedback following you recent afternoon tea with us. I have to say that I was a little taken aback and saddened by your review of our lovely hotel, location and the afternoon tea that we offer. Our aim at the Captain's Club is for every guest to leave us happy and as such always take special requests on board. If you had wanted double sandwiches and savoury and no cakes, of course we would have delivered. To say that you simply wanted to leave the cakes and be offered more sandwiches is not only wasteful but we would go out of business in weeks if we did this. Champagne Afternoon Tea at the Ritz is over 3 times the price and they take tens of thousands of pounds a day for afternoon tea alone. We could never compete with them and nor do we aim to. We offer Taittinger Champagne, delicious savoury items, beautiful clotted cream, jam and freshly baked scones with a selection of homemade cakes and desserts. Our view of the river is lovely but naturally we have to have a flood defence. There is still a clear view of the river and the opposite riverbank though. Our car park charge is minimal and you can park 100m away for £1 if you prefer? All our residents staying overnight have complimentary parking and with 29 bedrooms and only 40 spaces, they will always take priority. We have many regular guests who are delighted to give and receive gift vouchers to dine with us however sadly we cannot please all of the people all of the time. With kind regards for 2024...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
cafechitchat wrote a review Jan 2024
Christchurch, United Kingdom17 contributions64 helpful votes
The staff at the Captain's Club are just so good. We had a Friday evening with friends to celebrate a success within the group and the staff, especially Harry made the evening really memorable and special. I'm a regular day time coffee drinker at the Captain's Club and again the staff, Claire, Sally, Nicole and Juliet are just a delight to start the day with. Can't recommend highly enough.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The ambience changes depending on the time of day so work out a time which is good for you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Lloyd, Owner at Captain's Club Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Your wonderful review made me so happy to read...thank you for taking the time to leave it. I will pass on your special thanks to Harry and all our morning 'girls' and I know they will be delighted to receive them. Kindest regards for 2024...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christine wrote a review Jan 2024
Frome, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
I've stayed in a LOT of hotels. Both for work, and pleasure. This was my favourite UK stay. River views, the nicest staff, spotlessly clean and little extras - above and beyond effort for my mother's birthday (Harry), lovely hydro pool, exceptionally good food, quality shower products, quality soft furnishings. Appliances were all Smeg, the beds and sofa were comfortable. They even provided temporary grab rails and a shower chair for my mother. I sincerely hope this establishment stays in the same hands, with the same staff. I will most definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim Lloyd, Owner at Captain's Club Hotel
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your kind review Christine and just for the record, we have no intention of going anywhere just yet! It was fantastic to read that you enjoyed such a lovely time for your mother's birthday and we really look forward to welcoming you again for your next family celebration (or maybe before?!) Take care until then...
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Christchurch area.
PRICE RANGE
₹18,746 - ₹20,985 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
captains hotel christchurch, the captains hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
29
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CAPTAIN'S CLUB HOTEL (Christchurch) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Captain's Club Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Captain's Club Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Christchurch Priory (0.5 km), Christchurch Quay (0.5 km), and The Regent (0.6 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Captain's Club Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Captain's Club Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Captain's Club Hotel?
Yes, paid public parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Captain's Club Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nusara, Cuckoos Coffee Bar, and Loch & Quay.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Captain's Club Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Captain's Club Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Captain's Club Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Captain's Club Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Captain's Club Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (6.4 km), Christchurch Priory (0.5 km), and Highcliffe Castle (4.8 km).
Does Captain's Club Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.