We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Arms Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (480)
Room & Suite (98)
Videos (2)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

₹11,039
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 10 hotels in Christchurch
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty & historic town.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Coffee shop
Hiking
Board games / puzzles
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Car park
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Photo copier / fax In business centre
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English
1305Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 853
  • 306
  • 97
  • 40
  • 13
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Sophieeloise wrote a review Yesterday
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom24 contributions8 helpful votes
We attended an amazing Faulty Towers evening on 17th February. We took a table of twelve, the booking was easy and efficient and Sophie from the hotel was on hand to answer any questions that we had. The location is great, and the actual show was incredible. We all enjoyed ourselves and haven’t laughed so much for a long time. We all left on a real ‘high’ and are still laughing now. The characters of Basil, Sybil and Manuel were brilliant and as well as delivering the show, they had great impromptu interaction with the crowd (without making anyone feel awkward). It was contagious – we are planning on booking two tables for their next ‘show’ in November 2024. Jane & Ian - Mudeford
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CHRISTINA H wrote a review Aug 2022
Seaford, United Kingdom27 contributions28 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We were coming to Christchurch for a wedding and stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. I can honestly say this was one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The staff were delightful, every single one we met went out of their way to be helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Jennifer on Reception was particularly friendly and informative. Our room was lovely, beautifully furnished, a very large and comfortable bed, all amenities anyone could need and a great view over the Priory. We had dinner on the night before the wedding which was superb with an interesting menu. We both had fish and our waiter recommended a rose wine which was a perfect accompaniment. Again the service was professional and friendly, as was the very good breakfast. We will definitely return for a longer visit.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Value
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tomas Klima, General Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 16 Aug 2022
Thank you very much for your thorough review and sharing your experience with others here on TA. We could not be happier to see how much you have enjoyed your stay here at The Kings Arms Hotel. Hopefully see you soon again. Tomas Klima General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jason wrote a review 26 Feb
8 contributions7 helpful votes
The first wedding of the year at the Kings Arms, and they had not lost any of their proficiency during the winter. Huge shout out to Chamane (planning) and to Dean (on the day) for their first-rate hospitality, it couldn't be better. The rooms were all great and the food was amazing. Just can't fault our wedding day experience, it was perfect!!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Sedwell, General Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hi, Thank you so much for leaving such a kind review. Chamane and Dean will both be delighted to receive this feedback. Their hard work and dedication is a real asset to us at Kings. We will hope to see you again sometime. Regards, Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ryan H wrote a review 26 Feb
1 contribution
We stayed for two nights over the weekend of a family wedding that was hosted by the hotel. The hotel staff were fantastic from start to finish. The wedding meal was great and the team were really slick in serving every guest their pre order without having to ask what they wanted. Really top end service. The young lady who looks after the big group of 24 of us for breakfast was also superb, didn't catch her name. Parking wasn't great but the team did everything they could to accommodate us in the few spaces they had.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Sedwell, General Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Ryan, Thank you for for such a lovely review of your stay with us! True hospitality is what we aim for. Honest and attentive. I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team and hope to see you again. Regards, Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Cruiser57532205742 wrote a review 26 Feb
1 contribution
First wedding of the year in the hotel, rooms were incredible and so spacious. Staff were super accommodating and were so attentive. The breakfast in the morning was delicious and the staff catered to all 25 of us post-wedding!!! Praise to all of the staff.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: there are many beautiful walks around the hotel, and take you all the way down to the seafront.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Sedwell, General Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded yesterday
Hi, Thank you so much for leaving a review of your stay with us. We really appreciate such positive feedback and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. Regards, Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Keith H wrote a review 25 Feb
1 contribution
Went to Kings for my 65 birthday meal in evening with 9guests the food was superb,staff friendly and service was excellent all of us had great time. Then off to bar for some cocktails which were very nice one of my friend asked the bar staff to make special one up which he did .
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Sedwell, General Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Hi Kieth, Thank you for your kind review! So happy you had a great 65th!! We look forward to seeing you for your 66th also. Have a great year ahead. Regards, Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karan Dilsher D wrote a review 21 Feb
1 contribution
What a beautiful property! Excellent rooms, dining, and hospitality! Good food, great drinks, cozy beds and the impeccable countryside The gentleman Ian Sedwell was a pleasure to talk to, leading a team of some incredible individuals. Can’t wait to be back!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Sedwell, General Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Hi Karan, Thank you for your lovely review of our Hotel! It means so much to me and my team. It was truly amazing talking to you and I wish you all the best on your travels. Regards Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Emily K wrote a review 17 Feb
20 contributions15 helpful votes
Comfy bed. Clean hotel. Cold reception from member of staff Who didn’t seem at all interested in explaining anything about the hotel. No smiles, nothing. Breakfast was gorgeous and served by a lovely waitress. Very friendly and helpful. Fawlty Towers experience excellent however we didn’t appreciate the pushy sales of raffle tickets as we sat down to enjoy our evenings entertaining. Really very rude and not the time or the place.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Sedwell, General Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Emma, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It seems as though you had a nice stay with us but we could have done better and we take this feedback as an opportunity to learn. I am very sorry you did not see the value in the raffle which was a for a great cause "Rooms to Reward" which offer Hotel rooms for key workers and volunteers. There were some fantastic prizes won and I am sure the raffle host did not mean to come across as pushy or rude. I hope you had a great weekend, Regards Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
hint0nj wrote a review 17 Feb
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom2 contributions
We received a warm welcome and we’re able to check in early. We had a lovely spacious room overlooking the Priory to the front. The room had a large en suite bathroom with a powerful shower. We had a superb 3 course evening meal which was the best we had both experienced, better than in fine dining restaurants! Waitress service was superb. Breakfast was really good the following morning too. The whole experience was superb from start to finish and we will definitely be booking to go back soon!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Sedwell, General Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi, Thank you so much for your kind review! Wow, some really great feedback there and I am so pleased that we met you expectations and we would love to see you on your next visit. Regards Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Karen P wrote a review 10 Feb
1 contribution
Have just come back from my first stay here. The hotel and room was perfect, very comfortable, as was the bed. Parking was easy either in front of the hotel or in the back courtyard. All of the staff, whether it be the breakfast team, dinner team, bar staff or cleaning team, were all so helpful and attentive....in particular Scott and Jan who did so much to make my stay so enjoyable. I was travelling alone and they really made me feel comfortable for which I was so grateful. I would definitely recommend and this will not be my last visit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ian Sedwell, General Manager at The Kings Arms Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Hi Karen, Thank you so much for leaving this review! It really is so lovely to read; Scott and Jan are real stars in our hotel, its great to hear your feedback on your experience. We really hope to see you again then next time you are visiting. Regards, Ian
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Christchurch area.
PRICE RANGE
₹11,190 - ₹13,677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kings hotel christchurch
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Kings
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetChristchurch
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE KINGS ARMS HOTEL (Christchurch) - Hotel Reviews, Photos, Rate Comparison - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Kings Arms Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Kings Arms Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Christchurch Priory (0.2 km), Christchurch Quay (0.3 km), and The Regent (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Kings Arms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Kings Arms Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a seating area.
What food & drink options are available at The Kings Arms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Kings Arms Hotel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Kings Arms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Nusara, Cuckoos Coffee Bar, and Loch & Quay.
Does The Kings Arms Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Kings Arms Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (7.0 km), Christchurch Priory (0.2 km), and Highcliffe Castle (4.3 km).
Is The Kings Arms Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.