We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Kings Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Kings Arms
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

687 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 687: English reviews
Start your review of The Kings Arms
 Click to rate
Dorset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Beautiful. The service was great, food was fabulous cooked to perfection. Everything was A1. So good we have booked our forthcoming wedding there staff were so attentive. Looking forward to our next visit. Thank you for making a valentines lunch so memorable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmBear69
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely rooms, food, and bar especially the cocktails. . Happy hour between 5 and 7 and then again at 9pm. You can use the spa at the Christchurch harbour hotel witch is amazing. The kings hosted comedy club witch was very funny

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 318rachel
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited for my birthday, I had booked for my family to have afternoon tea in The Bar. When we arrived, we were seated at a large bar table in the centre of the room. Normally, this wouldn't be an issue. However, my grandmother is 98 years old and trying to get her sat up on one of the bar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becki L
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. I am sad to hear about your disappointing experience. We could have and should have moved you and your guests to another table to accommodate your grandmother, if not to another bar table then to the restaurant. I'm disappointed my team members were unaccommodating and please be assured that I...

spelthorne
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights 28th - 30th January. The hotel is in an ideal position for exploring Christchurch and our room was spacious and comfortable. This was fortunate as the weather was dreadful and we spent more time inside than we would normally do on a short break. We hope to come again, however we will not stay...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JantySpelthorne
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall. Once again please accept my apologies for the noise disturbance in your room on the Saturday night, I'm happy we were able to find a solution on the night. I'm delighted to read that you would return to visit us....

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The view from our room on the front of the hotel was beautiful - even in the mist and rain! The lovely Italian girl in the Reception cupboard (sorry, but it's not what I expected) very kindly changed the bottle of red wine in our room to white and was very helpful. The breakfast we thought was exceptional, with lots...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat W
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. We take all constructive feedback on board and use it as a tool to review the areas we can improve on. We hope you will visit us again soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

It's been a while since we have been here and it looks really pleasant with fresh decor. Staff on hand to help you out. There is an area to the back with a cocktail area or you can have a cream tea and sandwiches. We went for a celebration lunch, all had something different and everyone seemed pleased with their...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank famille_phipps
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased you enjoyed your lunch. We hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Having stayed at the Kings lots of times before I have failed to write a review before but had I done so it would have been completely positive. However I feel compelled to comment today. It has always sold itself as a boutique hotel however we have noticed a slight switch in direction over the last couple of visits. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicOConnor
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. I am sorry hear the disappointing experiences you received during your stay. Firstly I would like to apologise for the lack of personnel on the floor when you arrived, we have indeed had a change around here at The Kings and no longer have a reception area, however we do...

bournemouth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just been to the back lounge in the hotel The Bar ... awsome There was a new DJ on tonight His sounds were up there with the best. The crowd were a good mix of young and old. The bar manager was brilliant makes a fantastic OLD FASHIONED Got a chance to thank the owner for an amazing night Can't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jackbournemouth
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased you enjoyed your evening. We look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

bournemouth
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We phoned reception 10 minutes before arrival to ask about parking. We were told that there were still spaces opposite the hotel but if they had gone by the time we got there, they would direct us to their back car park. This was not necessary as we parked opposite without any problems. We had to ask the waitress in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank S H
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay but sad to hear we did let you down in certain areas. Firstly I would like to apologise for the lack of insufficient heating in your bedroom and the time it took for an additional heater to be brought up to...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We have just returned from a weekend at The Kings Arms in Christchurch which we really enjoyed. The hotel is right in the middle of the town so easy to walk around the area. We were visiting family & friends some of which joined us for Sunday Lunch which was excellent. All the staff without exception were friendly & helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Virginia S
NicolasRoulier, General Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again very soon. Kind regards Nicolas Roulier

208 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (184)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.2 km away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.7 km away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
639 reviews
3.4 km away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#9 of 11 in Christchurch
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#2 of 11 in Christchurch
351 reviews
5.1 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe Hotel
1.1 km away
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Kings Arms Restaurant
The Kings Arms Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British, Soups
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kings Arms in Christchurch, is a stunning Georgian building in the heart of Dorset - combining a traditional yet stylish Restaurant with luxurious bedrooms carefully restored in true Georgian style, whilst Alex Aitken remains chef patron at The Jetty he is also spending time with the chefs and team at The Kings Arms, Alex has headed up the team re-styling the restaurant menus and cooking philosophy. The Kings Restaurant has a delicious menu using the best local ingredients and is proud to have been awarded Michelin Bib Gourmand status for three consecutive years. The Kings Arms has everything you need for a Dorset short break, situated in the historic town of Christchurch, Dorset, a popular yachting town, overlooking the Avon River, Christchurch Castle and The Kings Arms Bowling Green, The Kings is marvelously picturesque. A short distance from the Dorset Jurassic Coast, The Kings Arms combines coastal beauty, historical town discoveries and stunning scenery, all with a comfortable place to relax after a day's adventures. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Kings Arms

Address: 18 Castle Street, Christchurch BH23 1DT, England (Formerly The Kings)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Christchurch
Price Range: ₹ 8,861 - ₹ 16,551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Kings Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel Christchurch
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#2 Family Hotel in Christchurch
#4 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Kings Arms staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Kings Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“avoid rooms over the bar which may be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles JantySpelthorne, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front have a wonderful outlook but could be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Lotus19, 16 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms face onto busy road, so can hear traffic.”
 of 5 bubbles ianf30, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“At the back if traffic noise disturbs you.”
 of 5 bubbles 136jennyf, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Probably want a room facing to the back of the hotel, for the quietest stay.”
 of 5 bubbles , 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5