We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    The Romany Rye Hotel

    Church Street, Dereham NR19 1DL, England
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    3/9/2017 4/9/2017
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (18)
    Dining (7)
    Overview
    • Excellent32%
    • Very good50%
    • Average12%
    • Poor4%
    • Terrible2%
    Travellers talk about
    “the pub” (57 reviews)
    “sunday night” (6 reviews)
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Internet
    Breakfast included
    Air Conditioning
    Pool
    All hotel details
    Offers from The Romany Rye Hotel
    Deals
    3 Sep4 Sep
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Kings Head
    60 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Dereham
     
    The George Hotel
    258 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Dereham
     
    Hill House Hotel
    198 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Dereham
     
    Lenwade Country House Hotel
    408 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Lenwade
     
    Write a Review
    Turn Your Opinions into Points!
    Turn your opinions into JPMiles
    Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
    *You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    JPMiles / Payback Arrow
    50
    Reviews (357)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    There are newer reviews for The Romany Rye Hotel
    See the most recent reviews

    21 - 25 of 357 reviews

    Reviewed 30 May 2017

    I have stayed at The Romany Rye several times and every one has been a good experience. The staff are very welcoming and helpful; the rooms are well-furnished and comfortable; and the little touches (which have been dropped by other budget chains that I use),...More

    Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
    Thank Catsurveyor
    Response from Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye HotelResponded 6 June 2017

    Thank you for your lovely feedback Catsurveyor. We pride ourselves on our great rooms and friendly staff. We hope you’ll be returning soon!

    Reviewed 30 May 2017

    We booked this hotel for three nights as we were attending a wedding in the Dereham area. All of the time we were there the temperature in our room never dropped below 27c. The window had a safety catch fitted which limited the opening to...More

    Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
    Thank Chris B
    Response from Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye HotelResponded 6 June 2017

    Thank you for your feedback Chris B. We are sorry your room was so hot, unfortunately the rooms do get warm during the summer period but we do all we can to ensure they stay at a cool temperature. If you are to book again...More

    Reviewed 28 May 2017

    We stayed at the hotel and the weather was very warm The hole had no air conditioning , we were given a noisy fan which didn't help at all Our room was still boiling hot at midnight it was ridiculous We also tried to to...More

    Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
    Thank B9640QZalan
    Response from Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye HotelResponded 6 June 2017

    Thank you for your review B9640QZalan. We are sorry to hear you could not reach a member of our reception team as we would have gladly helped you as best we could. We hope you enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and hope to see you return...More

    Reviewed 23 May 2017 via mobile

    Stayed here for 2 nights. Manager on his break upon arrival, so went to the bar while we waited. Parking area very small for the amount of rooms on offer. NOTE - don't park in the community resource centre parking bays as your car will...More

    Thank Andy R
    Response from Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye HotelResponded 6 June 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback Andy R. We are glad you enjoyed your room and found our staff friendly but sorry hear about the Guinness! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

    Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

    Loved my last visit, disappointed with this one. On Saturday. Was eager to come back after my last visit, as I love your Italian tomato soup, was disappointed that lovely crusty baguette had been replaced with a rather basic and ordinary slice of bread. Sat...More

    Thank RoamsweetRome
    Response from Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye HotelResponded 6 June 2017

    Thank you for your review RoamsweetRome. We are sorry to hear your most recent visit did not meet your expectations. Your notes have been passed on and we hope you will come again soon!

    Kings Head
    60 reviews
    #3 of 4 hotels in Dereham
     
    The George Hotel
    258 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Dereham
     
    Hill House Hotel
    198 reviews
    #4 of 4 hotels in Dereham
     
    Lenwade Country House Hotel
    408 reviews
    #1 of 1 hotels in Lenwade
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$ 57 - US$ 90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 22
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Romany Rye Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • England >
    • East Anglia >
    • Norfolk >
    • Dereham
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (31)
    Room & Suite (18)
    Dining (7)
    Hotel & Grounds (17)
    Bathroom (6)
    Nearby
    Kings Head
    60 reviews
    .38 km away
     
    Lenwade Country House Hotel
    408 reviews
    11.79 km away
     
    The George Hotel
    258 reviews
    .18 km away
     
    Hill House Hotel
    198 reviews
    .22 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Thai Dereham
    90 reviews
    .07 km away
    The George Hotel
    233 reviews
    .19 km away
    Romany Rye
    238 reviews
    .02 km away
    Prezzo Dereham
    99 reviews
    .12 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Puzzlescape
    66 reviews
    .06 km away
    Dereham Windmill
    29 reviews
    1.26 km away
    Bishop Bonner's Cottage Museum
    19 reviews
    .07 km away
    Hollywood Cinema
    37 reviews
    .07 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    jennychristine
    3 July 2017|
    AnswerShow all 8 answers
    Response from Haylors | Reviewed this property |
    Yes. There a hairdryer in each room.
    1
    Vote
    Shelley T
    10 August 2015|
    Answer
    Response from Romany R | Property representative |
    It is £39 on a Sunday and £69 all other days.
    1
    Vote
    Shelley T
    10 August 2015|
    Answer
    Response from Romany R | Property representative |
    Hello, our family room contains a king bed and a sofa bed with adequate space for a pram.
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "See advice already given"
    Read review
    "Rooms might be quieter at the back of hotel."
    Read review
    "Probably not a good idea to get a room above the pub entrance"
    Read review
    "Firsst floor front was good"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing