We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Quay House Hotel

Show Prices
#1 of 3 Hotels in Fowey
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Old Quay House Hotel
The Old Quay House Hotel
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

536 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 530: English reviews
Fowey
Reviewed 1 week ago

From the moment we arrived we could not fault this hotel. Without asking were were upgraded to a room with water views and the room was spacious, comfortable with excellent attention to detail The location was ideal and although the free parking was 800 metres away this is to be expected in Cornish villages. We dropped our bags at reception...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank toates_340470
Theoldquayhouse, Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review. It brings us great joy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do hope that you will be able to join us again in the near future. Kind regards, The Management Team

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 1 week ago

the title says it all. even if you don't stay there, you should check out dinner. i rarely ever ate that fresh, local and full of love for food! staff is friendly, young and modern. the location of the hotel right at the water is magic.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G7108WHms
Theoldquayhouse, Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this review

Your kind words are thoroughly appreciated. It is pleasing to know that you had an enjoyable evening with us. We hope to see you again, enjoying the wonderful food and views on offer. Kind regards, The Management Team

Fowey
Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent place to chill out and adjust your life to the original low key level. Do not expect to have a quick and trouble free road journey. Too many people want to experience a Cornwall break. I am told that a delay in widening the A30 over Bodmin Moor will not be completed until 2019. Delays until then.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 173guestj
Theoldquayhouse, Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind words. Here at the Old Quay House we try to create a relaxing and tranquil atmosphere. We understand that some journeys can be more challenging. However, we do our best to ensure that the check-in process is as stress free as possible. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Management Team

Watchet
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a lovely hotel in a good location. We had room 11 with a side on view of the River with a little balcony. Lovely room, well appointed, clean and well equipped, even down to earplugs for the seagulls. Unfortunately these earplugs are more use against the antisocial noise from the building work going on next door. Work starts...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We absolutely love this hotel by the water's edge and keep going back for more. We like the comfortable rooms and the restaurant is excellent. Good staff make all the difference and this hotel has just that too.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 360ai
Theoldquayhouse, Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We thoroughly appreciate your feedback and it’s great to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, The Management Team

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is situated in a great position on the Main Street through Fowey. There is a car park for the hotel approx 500 yards away. It is furnished to a high standard (White Company toiletries and earplugs for the seagulls!) Our room was beautifully furnished with a small balcony overlooking the estuary. The service throughout was very good. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny G
Theoldquayhouse, Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a great review on your recent stay with us. It is extremely pleasing to know that you had an enjoyable time. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, The Management Team

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We held our wedding party at this beautiful hotel. Perfect facilities for a small wedding, all our guests stayed overnight. Fowey itself is perfect for strolling, shopping or just taking in the views. We wanted an uncomplicated, informal event and the relaxed atmosphere of The Old Quay House suited us perfectly. Our contact , Rosalie, helped us plan our event...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliet B
Theoldquayhouse, Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this review

We are absolutely delighted to know that you enjoyed celebrating your special day with us. We understand just how important these occasions are and do our best to ensure that they run smoothly. The team are always willing to go the extra mile and deal with any additional requests our guests may have. Furthermore, the kitchen team will be pleased...

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Welcomed by friendly, helpful and efficient staff who directed us to the parking - 8 minutes away. Room was very comfortable, although the TV could have been a little bigger and there was no reception on BBC channels. Food was underwhelming - breakfasts good but Christmas lunch was a great disappointment. Overall we felt that it was not good value...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sansum4647
Theoldquayhouse, Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some much appreciated feedback. We are pleased to know that you found the staff to be helpful and efficient. However, we understand that you did not enjoy every aspect of your visit. It's a great shame to read that your dining experience was underwhelming, and for that we apologise. Here...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Super hotel - everything you would want in a boutique hotel and in a stunning location. Very attentive staff who are genuinely interested in your visit; Katherine on reception particularly helpful and friendly during our weekend stay. It was very quiet and peaceful in our room but we did note that there are major refurbishments taking place next door which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne W
Theoldquayhouse, Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some much appreciated feedback. It really is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We all work as a team to ensure that all of our guests have a memorable stay, for all of the right reasons. We hope to see you again. Kind regards, The Management...

Fowey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay as excellent. Great food, wonderful service very welcoming, shame about the weather. The Christmas Market was on that weekend and it was very enjoyable. We had an excellent room with views over the river.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Z1764YEjl
Theoldquayhouse, Manager at The Old Quay House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for a fantastic review. It's great to see that you were able to enjoy the Christmas Market, even if the weather wasn't at its best. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future. Kind regards, The Management Team

360 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (154)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (189)
Viewed
Classic Double Room (27)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (29)
Viewed
Penthouse Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (35)
Viewed
The Hotel (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fowey
0.5 km away
The Fowey Hotel
The Fowey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fowey
1,218 reviews
0.5 km away
Fowey Hall
Fowey Hall
#2 of 3 in Fowey
589 reviews
9.9 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portloe
803 reviews
34.7 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
7.5 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A Luxury Boutique Hotel in Cornwall- 2012 winner of a Cesar Award from the Good Hotel Guide - Best Hotel in Cornwall, Wind your way through the narrow streets of Fowey, passing cafés and pubs, boutiques and galleries and catch a glimpse of boats bobbing in the estuary. Breathe in a lungful of fresh sea air and you'll immediately start to feel relaxed. Pull up outside a whitewashed Victorian building and discover that what was once a refuge for seamen is now The Old Quay House, a boutique luxury hotel and a modern-day refuge from the stresses of daily life. With 11 luxurious bedrooms, a renowned restaurant, the best estuary views in town, and staff that are always ready to add that little extra touch to ensure your stay is perfect, The Old Quay House is one seafront hideaway that you might just want to keep all to yourself. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Quay House Hotel

Address: 28 Fore Street, Fowey PL23 1AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Fowey
Price Range: ₹ 11,524 - ₹ 20,609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Quay House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Old Quay House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Quay Hotel
Old Quay Hotel
The Old Quay House Hotel Fowey, Cornwall
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Quay House Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Bristol, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Quay House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner room, 12, has stunning estuary views and is beautifully appointed.”
 of 5 bubbles lynnewalley, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you can get a river view I would!”
 of 5 bubbles n0teasilypleased666, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms with a sea view are worth the extra”
 of 5 bubbles Kernowphile, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the front”
 of 5 bubbles Rosetogo, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pay a bit more for a harbour view.”
 of 5 bubbles charlie282000, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay