We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

540 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 534: English reviews
Start your review of BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
 Click to rate
yorkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here as an overnight for business and found the position of the hotel to be very central. Excellent service in the bar and dining room, with breakfast of a good standard and cooked to order. I'd recommend this hotel for anyone needing an overnight stay in Grantham .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denzilly
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff at the Angel & Royal Hotel really made our stay, any request was dealt with swiftly and with a smile. The Turpins bar is very cool, with a roaring fire and candles on every table. Would highly recommend this hotel if you're staying in Grantham or fancy an intimate drink (Turpins).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TH2017
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arranged with the hotel a surprise 30th Birthday stay for my step-daughter, and booked 3 double rooms. On arrival the reception from Sarah was very welcoming and they attended to all the requests that we had with exceptional friendliness and professionalism - even the requests for our dog who stayed with us - nothing was too much trouble. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tonya D
Newcastle-upon-Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for one night for our daughters Passing out parade at the Prince William of Gloucester barracks in Grantham. We booked a four poster room with evening meal and breakfast and were not disappointed. On arrival, the reception staff were very welcoming, ensuring we knew where the hotel parking was located and the pin codes to operate the barrier....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Simpson1965
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul_Simpson1965,Thank you for your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us.We are all delighted you had such an enjoyable time & hope you will come & revisit us again very soon Kindest regards Jane

Wymondham, Norfolk
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A real shame that we were only staying one night. A real ancient hotel but very up to date. A warm welcome at reception on arrival. Excellent room {The Dolphin Suite). It had a small anteroom with sofa, wardrobe sideboard and TV. Well appointed bathroom with shower and bath. Large bed in the separate bedroom. Very nice and comfortable. Pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Norfolkseagull
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Norfolkseagull, We are thrilled you enjoyed your 1 night stay with us recently & look forward to you coming back to see us again in May Kindest regards Jane

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've always wanted to stay here for the history of the place, so we made a stop in Grantham for the night so I could. The staff were wonderful! Georgia went out of her way to be helpful. Top customer service. The only negative was the sleep quality. The radiators could not be turned off in the rooms. Even with...

Review collected in partnership with Best Western
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rio725
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rio725,Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us,we will make sure your thanks are passed onto Georgie & hopefully you will be able to come back again & maybe stop for a little longer. Kindest regards Jane

Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed a Friday night and found the whole hotel faded and tired,needs a lot of TLC The room was small and comfortable Did not not use the shower over the bath because of the state of the rusty shower head black mound in tile grout and a green stain coming out from the shower valve see photos , Kettle only...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank slingsbyconstruction
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear slingsbyconstruction, we are sorry to hear of your disappointment on your recent stay with us, this is not our usually high standards for which we are inordinately proud of. Hopefully you will come back & stay with us so we can have the opportunity to show our true capabilities. Kindest regards Jane

Hull east yorshire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We did not stay here, but called in whilst visiting Grantham. My husband is interested in Richard the third and the history of the Angel. We would like to thank the hotel receptionist . And the young lady who went out of her way to show us around the Kings room and the angel kitchens , with such helpful staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abethell
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Abethell,Thank you very much for taking the time to post such lovely comments on your recent visit to Grantham. We look forward to you both being able to stay with us next time & I'm sure you will get to enjoy much more of our wonderful history. Kindest regards Jane

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

Overnight stay - staff couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant. Accommodation clean and elegant, food very good - both breakfast and evening dinner. Afternoon tea delightful - snuggled on sofas in quiet, private area. Would definitely recommend - we will be going back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank twithers65
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear twithers65,Thank you for your wonderful comments on your recent stay with us & we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Kindest regards Jane

Grantham
Reviewed 22 January 2017

26 members of our family plus friends had a funeral tea at the Angel last Thursday, 19th January. It was absolutely superb. The service was excellent and the food, especially the cakes, really good. We will definitely be visiting again although hopefully not for a funeral next time!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NicolaGrantham
Jane G, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nicola, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review .We hope you & your family will be able to come & see us again under better circumstances very soon. Kindest regards Jane

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantham
3.9 km away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
1,534 reviews
2.0 km away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#4 of 9 in Grantham
807 reviews
0.7 km away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantham
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Ramada Resort Grantham
2.4 km away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
8.0 km away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Idyllically situated in the ancient market town of Grantham in the south-west corner of Lincolnshire - The Angel and Royal Hotel is an historic hotel - in fact the oldest inn in Britain - and has hosted seven Kings over 800 years - Today the Angel and Royal features an award winning restaurant - cosy fire-lit nooks and bars and modern conference facilities - The individually designed rooms feature modern interiors and colours which complement the magnificent original features of the building - They all offer the facilities required for a comfortable stay including en-suite bathrooms - Freeview TV - phone - internet access - All rooms are no smoking ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel

Address: 4-5 High Street, Grantham NG31 6PN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grantham
Price Range: ₹ 5,578 - ₹ 9,823 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Angel And Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Hotel
Angel Royal Grantham
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel Grantham, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Colchester, United Kingdom
6 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Loved the Dolphin Suite”
 of 5 bubbles Norfolkseagull, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Try a room without going over the walk way”
 of 5 bubbles slingsbyconstruction, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Poster room was nice; 1st floor if you can't go upstairs (no elevator); end rooms quieter; ask for a room away from the main street”
 of 5 bubbles JimW656, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the front are noisy with drunks and road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles WakefieldYorkie, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had 301 and it was fine”
 of 5 bubbles 110AndrewH, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5