We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Green Man Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Green Man Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 266: English reviews
Start your review of Green Man Hotel
 Click to rate
United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We stayed here recently whilst visiting family in the area. We were greeted by a friendly receptionist who checked us in easily and pointed us in the direction of our room. The room was very functional. The building where the rooms were in was of a basic nature, whereas the pub itself had an element of traditional kerb appeal and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I popped in for lunch and order a mineral water and a seafood gourmet sandwich. 30 minuites later the water hadn't arrived and had to ask for it again. 45 minuites later the sand1wich hadn't arrived and again I had to ask what had happened. When it eventually arrived the gourmet sandwich turned out to be a prawn mayonnaise bun,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gavin M
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gavin M, I can only apologize for what happened during your visit here at The Green Man. I hope his one visit will not cloud your judgement of us and that you can give us another chance by coming to visit us again to be shown our usual standards of service. Kind regards, Sophie

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was not evident from the website or other sites advertising this accommodation that we would be staying in what looked like a student halls of residence block next to the hotel. It was tucked away and not visible from the road and clearly no-one would be on duty overnight, so thank goodness it was'nt a Saturday night with rowdy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waggletail
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Waggletail, Firstly I would like to apologize about your experience here with us. We do have a receptionist and team on until 11pm every night and then we have a night porter who is on duty every evening. We do not have 'rowdy' guests in our hotel at the weekend either. I am also disappointed that you decided to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We travelled from West Lothian in Scotland to this hotel as it was recommended by family. After the long drive we decided to eat here. BIG MISTAKE We asked for water for the table - only when we asked again when the meal came did we get it. The food it's self was luke warm for the four of us...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doreen C
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Doreen C', I am sorry to hear your stay was not up to our usual standards. Our staff would of been happy to of replaced your meals to make sure the food was cooked correctly as you expected. Our breakfast rates are standard, for a lighter breakfast £3.99, continental £5.99 or for a cooked English £7.99, so regardless of...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for the one night for work. Large comfy bed. Strong shower. Good food in the restaurant. Goumet burger, with home made pattie, bacon, cheese and a fried egg. Friendly staff. Will happily stay here again when I am in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod P
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Rod P', We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us here and we hope to see you again very soon! Kind regards, Sophie

Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited last week to celebrate my father in-law's birthday. We booked a table for 4 o'clock as our party of 8 included 3 children under 8. We ordered starters for the children only which took 35minutes to appear. We then waited a further 45 minutes for the main courses to arrive. My father in-law received the wrong meal entirely...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank vAnn80
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'vAnn80', We are sorry that you had a wait on your food when you visited us for your father in laws birthday, unfortunately when we are busy this can happen. I know your family was compensated with two free meals to make up for this. We hope you can visit us again, so that you can see our restaurant...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I don't usually give negative reviews, but this hotel only got two stars because the breakfast staff were lovely and the restaurant choices were quite wide for vegetarians. My room had damp stains on the ceiling and wall coving, the whole corridor smelled like an air freshener had exploded. The hotel block looked desperate for a refreshing, the walls were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam B
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Adam B', I am sorry to hear of the negative review you are posting about our hotel. I have passed on your comments to the housekeeping. Unfortunately, the fact you had no phone signal there is nothing we can do about this, and our wifi The Cloud would not spam you with any emails or messages. I am sorry...

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Arrived at 8.30pm on Sunday for food as staying in the hotel - check in etc was all fine - infact the hotel side of things was great - clean (although dated) room - was exactlly what we expected and paid for., only crisicism is the pillows - theyre awful! . the restaurant however..... ordered food, within 3 minutes the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ashley N
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Ashley N' We are happy you was pleased with your room, and I am sorry to hear you didn't approve of the pillows. If you had of asked at the reception or any of our housekeeping team they would of found you another set of pillows that would hopefully reach your expectations! I am sorry you had to wait...

Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Book this via TripAdvisor & have to it was a nice stay. The staff were helpful and food in the bar was lovely. The rooms were clean and quiet. We were there on a Friday if you wanted a meal in the bar best to get there early as it gets busy after 6.0 clock

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cath C
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'Cath C', Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel and restaurant. We are glad you enjoyed your experience with us and we hope to see you again soon. Kind regards Sophie

Reviewed 25 January 2017

Stayed at the hotel on the 21st January to celebrate my 65th birthday. We have stayed at the Green Man Hotel in Harlow on 3 other occasions and usually stay overnight after dining in the pub restaurant to celebrate a family occasion. The 3 star hotel is well located for Stansted Airport and about 15 minutes drive outside of Harlow...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank iallent
sophie m, Team Leader at Green Man Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 'iallent' Thank you for your review of The Green Man, We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here with us and it would be our pleasure to see you again. Kind regards Sophie

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harlow
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Harlow Hotel
3.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Harlow
3.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Harlow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 km away
The Cock Inn
The Cock Inn
#1 of 1 in Sheering
154 reviews
4.7 km away
Down Hall Country House Hotel
Down Hall Country House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatfield Heath
1,583 reviews
5.6 km away
Little Hallingbury Mill
Little Hallingbury Mill
#1 of 1 in Little Hallingbury
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Green Man
Green Man
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Green Man Hotel

Address: Apartment 2 Mulberry Green House Mulberry Green, Harlow CM17 0ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harlow
Price Range: ₹ 3,599 - ₹ 5,955 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Man Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Green Man Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green Man Hotel Harlow
Green Man Harlow
Green Man Hotel Harlow, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Green Man Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
St Andrews, United Kingdom

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Green Man Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms will be the same and none have a good outlook so take pot luck.”
 of 5 bubbles Waggletail, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the 2nd floor have more day light”
 of 5 bubbles iallent, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Reviewing restaurant not rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles richt321, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are in a separate areafrom the dining area.....check in early to get parking closest to the rooms.....parking a plenty....”
 of 5 bubbles MauraB243, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Facing car park was fine”
 of 5 bubbles TheTasterWales, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5