We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chase Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Chase Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Chase Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 428: English reviews
Tampa, Florida
Reviewed 16 February 2016

The hotel has a lovely grand entrance hall. The check in was quick and efficient. The bedroom was quite small but had everything you would need. We had a small problem in the bathroom, but after mentioning it to the front desk we were moved to another room which was larger. We had dinner which was good and you order...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat F
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to add to our Trip Advisor page. I’m pleased to hear that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully you will have time to come back in the Spring/Summer to take full advantage of our wonderful grounds! Kind regards

Ledbury
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a night and can't recommend it enough. The rooms was lovely, cosy & clean, and the staff we dealt with were all incredibly friendly, helpful and happy in their work. We had a lovely meal, there was masses to choose from, everything looked delicious! We will be back!

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Foxyhunter43
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. The whole team here at The Chase will be delighted to hear your comments. It’s great to hear you would like to return and we look forward to giving you a warm welcome back!

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately there was a function going on and as most of the people at the function were also staying at the hotel it meant the bar and restaurant were very quiet. In fact we were the only ones. Having said that, the food and the service was superb. I couldn't fault it in any way. The food was delicious and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank stephenbray46
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind words. I’m pleased the Restaurant staff were able to give you their full attention and you enjoyed your visit. The whole Food and Beverage team will be pleased to read you review and your comments are appreciated. Hopefully on your next visit the Restaurant will be a little livelier! Kind regards.

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 January 2016

Well placed hotel for sightseeing in the Forest of Dean and surrounding area.The hotel has a large car park and is a very short walk from the town centre. It features a good restaurant and the rooms are adequate. The staff are helpful and friendly.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank johnbW1260CV
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for contributing towards our Tripadvisor page. The Chase Hotel does indeed have a very good location – close to the Forest of Dean and The Wye Valley - and only two minute walk to the centre of Ross on Wye. It’s also pleasing to hear the staff were able to look after you well whilst staying with us....

Cinderford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Went to The Chase for Afternoon Tea on a Groupon voucher deal. We were welcomed by reception and asked to go through to the lounge and sit anywhere we liked. On arrival in the lounge we were told we have reserve you a table but sit anywhere you like. Asked if we wanted tea or coffee and chose our table....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle F
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are appreciated. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your afternoon tea. You may be interested to know that we now offer Afternoon Tea Gift vouchers which can be purchased through our website. I hope that we can welcome you back for Afternoon Tea or perhaps even a Lunch...

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We only stayed one night but wish it was longer. Very comfortable room overlooking lovely grounds. Clean, warm and inviting. We ate in the restaurant and the meal was superb. The staff were very attentive and made sure we were happy with everything. Highly recommended venue :)

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Scruffy17
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review. The whole team will be pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. I hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Thank you and all the best for the New Year!

Pateley Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2016

We stopped with grandchild so ate in the bar rather than high class restaurant. Lucky us. Bar meals are cooked by the main kitchen Cordon Blu at pub prices. Best meal We have had since we closed our own place. Well done to all concerned.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terry K
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for contributing towards our Tripadvisor page. The Food and Beverage team work very hard and I’m sure will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal. Children are welcomed in the Bar and Restaurant alike and there is a Children’s menu available in both areas. Thank you and all the best for the New Year!

Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2016

A stress free stay at the Chase was what my husband and I needed following the Christmas festivities. The hotel was welcoming and warm. The restaurant supplied a good variety of meals, which were tastefully presented. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The only down side was the premises lacked a lift and I struggled with the stairs, although...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RuthTrigg
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I’m thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay – as I’m sure the rest of the Chase team are too. We don’t currently have a lift but of course all the staff are very happy to help out wherever they can. I’m delighted you would recommend us and hope...

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 January 2016

I had a great Birthday meal yesterday at The Chase Hotel. Excellent food and service The Fish and chips were very tasty and the Bar staff were very efficient and friendly. A good place for Lunch and evening meals

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RosieAnn1939
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted we were able to help make your celebration special! Our Fish and Chips are very popular and I’m glad you enjoyed it. It’s also pleasing to hear the Bar staff looked after you well. Many Happy Returns and all the best for the New Year.

Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

Work do. stayed night. very tired dated decor. charged £50 per room, plus £12.50 per person for breakfast. room tiny. no lifts. neighbours very noisy. no shower. poor service from staff who very very arrogant. very overpriced. disappointed. bed does accommodate average male height of 6ft. only positive was drinking HOME bought Prosecco

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank andy h
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review albeit lacking in certain facts. Having booked one of our smallest rooms your expectations seem to of been for something entirely different. £50 is a discounted rate for one of our Standard rooms. Standard rooms are approximately 150ft2 have a standard full size double bed and every one of our rooms has a shower &...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
1,052 reviews
0.4 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
351 reviews
1.4 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
499 reviews
6.1 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
132 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: ₹ 6,295 - ₹ 13,817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chase Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Gloucester, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Mevagissey, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Mevagissey, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Chase Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one big enough to swing a cat in.”
 of 5 bubbles 1KBob, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We chose room 5 executive suite”
 of 5 bubbles Piusbaines, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“negotiate for a real Superior room”
 of 5 bubbles 763miket, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a 4 poster - big and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles colinallum, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the grounds”
 of 5 bubbles geoffreym292, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5