We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Chase Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Chase Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Chase Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 428: English reviews
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2015

The setting is very nice, we paid extra for the superior room (with a view) which was quite small but nice. The TV was also small and not wall mounted which made it hard to see from bed. Shower was awesome. Staff were very good and breakfast was very good also. It would have scored a good 4 however when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trollking
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It’s good to hear that for the most part you enjoyed your stay. We go to great lengths to try and contact each guest before they arrive to inform them of any functions that may be noisy. Unfortunately it would appear that on this occasion we were unable to...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Very pleased when we arrived - staff polite throughout and a beautiful entrance hall. The room was okay - clean and functional (lovely hot water in the bathroom and welcome biscuits with the tea tray though). The corridors are a bit gloomy; this made it feel more like a three star than a four star hotel. It reminded me of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank allisonowenjones
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review. I'm pleased that for the most part you have enjoyed your stay. It’s nice that you think we are a Four star hotel however I should mention that The Chase Hotel is a Three star hotel. It’s good to hear the staff looked after you well in the Restaurant. Please accept my apologies if...

Wirral, UK
Reviewed 11 October 2015

We were greeted by very friendly and welcoming staff on our arrival for our overnight stay. The room was very clean and spacious overlooking their gardens and had everything we needed. The restaurant was very good until a large group arrived later on whereby all the other hotel guests at the other end of the room did rather seem to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyChappyWirral_UK
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. It’s great to hear our front of house team did a good Job at welcoming you to The Chase Hotel. I’m sorry to hear that you were disturbed by a group. I do hope you will still return to The Chase, we would of course be happy to ensure...

Reviewed 6 October 2015

Excellent mini getaway after big summer holiday, very English alot of character to the hotel reception looked like it was the original design. Our room had a pretty view, very clean. Staff nice. I love this little touches like the home made short bread with coffee! Dinner fresh my partner and i both had fish and chips!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucySurrey1986
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our homemade shortbread is made fresh every day and extremely popular. Its good to hear you both enjoyed your Fish and Chips. I hope that if you are ever visiting the area again we would be able to welcome you back.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed it our trip. Great setting and ideal location. Couldn’t fault the staff, all very friendly and nothing was too much. We had afternoon tea and it was delicious! Would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tan9985
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It’s lovely to hear you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea. I’m pleased to hear the team did a good job looking after you and you found the food to be delicious. Next time you will have to try Dinner in Harrys Restaurant. We have just started our new Autumn Menu and I’m sure you would enjoy...

London England
Reviewed 6 October 2015

A friendly welcome and a quick check in. My room was clean with a view looking over the surrounding hills , a firm double bed , TV and tea and coffee facilitates.The bathroom had a good shower and was of average size. The evening meal was far better than I had expected , the cooked to order breakfast was of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonyrad
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay and would return. The food and beverage team will be delighted to hear they exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

wirral
Reviewed 29 September 2015

great place when we found it its only because of ross on wye one way system and poor parking on streets, I hate double yellow lines, no problem parking at hotel ,fantastic food and wine and great friendly service, I had the steak which was one of best I've ever had it even beat a Japanese kobbi I once had....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank helgw
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It is brilliant to hear you enjoyed your visit. We do indeed have excellent parking facilities. Chef will be delighted to hear you enjoyed the steak too. I hope that we can welcome you back soon to try some of the dishes off our new menu.

Herefordshire
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Clean room and bathroom. Comfortable bed. Views over gardens come with rooms over the function room. To be fair they are quite open and honest about this. Go to the function, have a few drinks, no problem.. Good breakfast nice staff. Its just that it is ordinary.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tellitasitis88
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting a review. It’s good to hear you found the room to be clean and comfortable. It’s a shame you found us to be ordinary, I think we have great friendly staff who are willing to go the extra mile, a beautiful old country house, attractive and spacious grounds and delicious home cooked food. It is pleasing...

Norwich, Eng
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Hotel is very attractive, extremely convenient for exploring Ross-on Wye and locality. Plenty of parking. Beautiful entrance hall. Nice staff. BUT had booked superior double room (room 38), it was hard to see what made this in any way superior. The door opened into narrow corridor (office next door), there was a bathroom opposite, built into the room, leaving another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank relaaxed
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed dining in Harrys Restaurant. Being an old hotel we have a number of different bedroom shapes and sizes. The difference between a standard room and a superior room is the view. Standard rooms look into an internal area of the hotel. Superior rooms overlook external areas of the hotel...

Derbyshire UK
Reviewed 21 September 2015

This is a lovely hotel with an amazing restaurant! The staff are friendly and attentive. Not only is the food outstanding - but as a vegetarian, I cannot remember having such a big selection of choices on the ordinary menu. If I had not been part of a group of Silver Surfers, I would have only had praise. However, this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoamingWayfarer
HMcilwraith, Operations Manager at The Chase Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review to our Tripadvisor page. Its great to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular your meal in the Restaurant. Our grand old staircase is an original feature - beautiful, but perhaps constructed in an era when little thought was given to people with mobility issues. Aside from the structural...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
1,052 reviews
0.4 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
351 reviews
1.4 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
135 reviews
4.2 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
500 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Chase Hotel in Ross-on-Wye is a Georgian Country house hotel set in 11 acres of parkland surrounded by stunning countryside. The hotel has been refurbished to reflect an up to date feel which blends sympathetically and seamlessly with the period charm and features of the building, enabling guests to relax and enjoy their stay in comfort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Chase Hotel

Address: Gloucester Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: ₹ 6,284 - ₹ 13,710 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Ross On Wye
The Chase Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Chase Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Gloucester, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Mevagissey, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Mevagissey, England, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Chase Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for one big enough to swing a cat in.”
 of 5 bubbles 1KBob, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We chose room 5 executive suite”
 of 5 bubbles Piusbaines, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“negotiate for a real Superior room”
 of 5 bubbles 763miket, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a 4 poster - big and comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles colinallum, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the grounds”
 of 5 bubbles geoffreym292, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5