We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Hotels.comUS$ 62*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

667 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 657: English reviews
Start your review of Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Me and my husband stayed in the business suit just at the back of the hotel. With it being a bit out of the way of the main building we thought it would be quiet... Boy we were wrong. We stayed on the night there was a wedding. Meaning that all night long all we could hear was kids screaming,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HannahTheTravel
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here part of national holiday to see this morning live, lovely hotel just a tad noisy we had a room near wedding reception in another block, which think bit disrespectful when we have to be up for breakfast, food was okay staff helpful and very organised, lovely clean room and plenty of modern facillities overal enjoyed the stay!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeccaNaylor92
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last night for one night to celebrate my daughter's birthday. Booked 2 rooms and we were so pleased if there had been rooms available tonight I would have stayed again. Easy check in. Lovely clean and comfortable rooms. Beds were comfortable. Bedding was crisp and clean. Plenty of tea and coffee. Met our friends for drinks in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joannep8075
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

It was just a one night stay, the room was No 17 and was, at first glance clean and tidy, the bathroom had been updated more recently, however the sink was cracked and dirt was in the crack.The bed was comfy, and the other amenities were ok. The disappointment was that I could not turn the heating off, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lesley C
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Please accept my apologies for the issues with the heating that you describe. We are aware of issues with heating in some rooms and would always prefer guests to mention these at the time so that if possible we can offer an alternative room, or find another solution. I hope...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in a good location. Unfortunately it's tired and dated. The reception has obviously been renovated in the last couple of years as it looks quite modern Beware there is no lift. The rooms are tired and dated. Bedding clean but bed and pillows uncomfortable I wouldn't stay here again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Markieb68
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately due to the age and layout of the hotel we do not have a lift. I have made a note of your comments regarding the rooms and the bedding for the next time these are upgraded.

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here on a weekend break with National Holidays. The room was clean and comfortable. Flat screen telly, and the other usual stuff. Plenty of room for the two of us. The food was okay - choice at dinner and a very good breakfast. Downside - noisey plumbing - well I thought it was the plumbing. Plus an event that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay ath the hotel. The hotel does have events on some evenings, please accept my apologies if the music was too loud. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed from Saturday 29/4 to Monday 1/5 on an All Inclusive 2 night break Staff so friendly, helpful and knowledgable (espeacailly Faith) However rooms far to Hot! So immediately opened the window and turned the radiator off Pool in need of tlc Disappointed in the food from Saturday evening and Sunday Breakfast to Sunday evening/Mondays breakfast as Saturdays evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I am pleased that you found the staff to be helpful. I will be sure to pass this on to all of the team. I will also be discussing all of your other pints with the appropriate heads of departments in order to make improvements to the standards and services that...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Tired scruffy rundown hotel . Uncomfortable beds dirty scruffy rooms no chance of getting any sleep here very noisey traffic runs all nite they wake you up at 8 o clock on a Sunday morning with some 1 shouting housekeeping all over the place orded a coffee and a tea and 2 bacon on toast which they charged me £13...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alby A
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations, I will certainly pass on your comments to the housekeeping team to ensure that they are not disturbing guests at such an early time on a Sunday morning in the future. I will also discuss the bacon with the...

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My room was comfortable, spacious and well equipped. On the 2nd floor(no lift) and 2.5 flights of stairs, 4 corridors and 4 fire-doors from reception, it was quite a trek. But the floorboards creak like crazy so ask for the top floor to avoid noise from above. Bar and restaurant very pleasant. Hot breakfast is cooked to order and options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you found the room to be comfortable and spacious, unfortunately the hotel does not have a lift due to the age and layout of the main building. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again in the future.

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Have stayed at a couple of Mercure hotels before so expected this hotel to be of the same high standard as the others. Although there were one or two negatives, it's mostly good. The free car park has an area for LADY GUESTS close to the main entrance, which I thought was a great idea. Car park is plenty big...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brits-on-a-Budget
GMHOTELWolverhampton, General Manager at Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you found the staff to be polite, friendly and happy to help. I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

124 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (105)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolverhampton hotels
1.6 km away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 20 in Wolverhampton
876 reviews
1.6 km away
Novotel Wolverhampton
Novotel Wolverhampton
#5 of 20 in Wolverhampton
881 reviews
3.7 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 20 in Wolverhampton
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
A Park View Hotel
A Park View Hotel
#2 of 20 in Wolverhampton
324 reviews
0.8 km away
Barons Court Hotel
Barons Court Hotel
#1 of 20 in Wolverhampton
438 reviews
1.5 km away
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
Redwings Lodge Wolverhampton
#15 of 20 in Wolverhampton
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Within easy reach of M6/M54/M5 and NEC, the Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel offers some pleasant surprises. With original features throughout the bar area and a contemporary restaurant, the hotel provides an excellent setting from which to base your visit to the Midlands. There is also the opportunity to upgrade to one of six, four poster rooms, besides the other 76 well appointed en-suite bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel

Address: 126 Penn Road, Wolverhampton WV3 0ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Wolverhampton
Price Range: ₹ 3,779 - ₹ 5,878 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Goldthorn Hotel Leisure
Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel West Midlands
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Langport, United Kingdom
8 months ago
over a year ago
Birmingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Wolverhampton Goldthorn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms 80/81”
JackieC203, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“top floor, end of a corridor”
C8164PPpeterl, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms have thin walls. Everywhere creaks a lot so there are no " best " rooms”
Brits-on-a-Budget, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you have mobility difficulties stay elsewhere, as there are no lifts and the corridors are narrow.”
Markandkai, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at back are quieter.”
pkholl1whist, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 62* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$ 125
Hotwire.comUS$ 62
Orbitz.comUS$ 62
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates