We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow

317 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Showing 313: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2016

The staff were friendly, lovely comfortable room, only one thing was in complimentary coffee only decaffinated coffee, a little ore selection would be good. Breakfast was lovely, our baby liked the scrambled egg. will be staying again next year

Thank 126unknown
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 25 December 2015

Lovely little hotel tucked away in the country side. The staff was nice, rooms great and the breakfast was absolutely perfect. Adviseble to have a car as going by public transport is OK but very dark last bit of road which felt a bit unsafe.

Thank Malin H
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2015

This is one of many visits - it is such a comfortable and warm hotel with friendly staff and good beds! One thing this time the Breakfast was cleared at 9 a.m. sharp not good if you are late to the restaurant!

Thank Amy825
Harlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We really enjoyed our stay. Granted parts of this historical complex look a little tired but it is an old manor house. Our room had lovely historical features - a period fire range and a chimney breast, beams etc- made a really nice change from a modern box.We had comfortable beds and the bathroom was fine - good shower pressure...

Thank Angela C
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 10 December 2015

I stayed literally one night as was attending a wedding nearby. First up we had to pay in full on check in, which is very unusual (and possibly because the hotel has had people refuse to pay at check out) and my first impression when I came in was it's musty mouldy smell (like damp). The room I was in...

Thank gosport_girl
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

attended this carvery with a large group and was pleasantly surprised. At £6.50 for a carvery meal, this was a real bargain. Food was hot and choice of meat and veg was good. Staff really friendly and helpful. Drinks reasonably priced and they are happy to give you a jug of water. Pudding were also very good and a fair...

Thank BargeeGirl
Reviewed 7 December 2015

We found this beautiful place quite by chance. It was my birthday so as the weather is always so awful this time of year we were looking for somewhere that was cheerful and bright and with a bit of atmosphere. We found it at Highdown Restaurant/Carvery. Upon entry we were asked to wait in a very nice waiting area complete...

Thank Moira L
Highdown H, Public Relations Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your review we do appreciate the time you have taken out of your day, We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us along with our surroundings, we look forward to seeing you again when you are in the area Wishing you a Happy Festive season & prosperous New Year

United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 December 2015

Food cold when it eventually arrived and then had to wait 15 minutes for the vegetables to come. The food was of poor standard and like a ready meal, rather than a comforting roast dinner that we were expecting.The vegetarian in the group had a further wait for her pasta dish to arrive. It looked more like a starter and...

2Thank Beverley W
Highdown H, Public Relations Manager at The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

We thank you for the time you have taken to write your review, & apologise that you weren't entirely satisfied with the evening although we have only received complements from the other 94 people at the event , we do take these matters seriously. As you are aware food is freshly prepared in the kitchen & sent out at the...

Longton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile

Went with my Uncle & great niece this Monday lunch, arrived 12.20pm seated in minutes, drinks arrived quickly after ordering. The carvery we were offered was excellent, Roast Beef, Roast Turkey, Roast Pork and a lovely Gammon joint, all were perfectly cooked (no blood) the Roast potatoes were as lovely as Mum used to make, carrots, roast parsnip, cauliflower cheese,...

Thank PernodQueen2013
Littlehampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2015 via mobile

Would like to say a big thank you to Highdown Towers restaurant Carvery section looking after my 28 people today great credit to the management and staff of this place for looking after us with some of us are disabled and elderly with walking problems with looked after us so much care we'll see you again thank you very much...

Thank Kevin Q

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (62)
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Room/Suite (6)
Bathroom (13)
Dining (3)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
View from Room (2)
Other (27)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
4.7 km away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
5.0 km away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
339 reviews
2.7 km away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
616 reviews
4.8 km away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
220 reviews
4.7 km away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#7 of 11 in Worthing
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Littlehampton Road, Worthing BN12 6PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Price Range: ₹ 4,742 - ₹ 12,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Hotel And Restaurant
Highdown Hotel Worthing
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles IngridS238, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 if you are looking for a comfortable room at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles travel1Lincolnshire, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Look elsewhere there is a Premier inn down the road, I wish I had realised!”
  • Valance on spare singe bed, but not on sheets. So how long had it been there?
  • Tired grotty tiles and shower curtain
  • Noticed the shower curtain when already in shower ugh! I didn't use it again.
 of 5 bubbles , 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't have the single room if you want a window (skylight only)”
 of 5 bubbles Deal_Kent_EnglandSoo, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Do not get a single they are windowless!”
 of 5 bubbles Roomchecker007, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5