We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pen Mill Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Pen Mill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 139: English reviews
SW UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Someone else booked for a large group get together. Sunday Lunchtime,.. to keep things simple we went for the Carvery. Maybe we've been spoiled by the Home Cooking in Cornwall. I've been involved with the hotel trade for a good few years. This food was Abysmal. May I suggest that the Management & Chef, try Blind Identifying the white meat...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank UKLoopy
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

A review as unfounded as this, written by someone who claims to have ‘been involved in the hotel trade for a good few years’ makes me understatedly cross! Obviously I have no idea as to the extent of your ‘involvement’ in the trade, perhaps your involvement was delivering the beer, or selling the electricity contracts over the phone, as I...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Many thanks to the friendly and efficient bar staff who very kindly called a taxi for me when I was left stranded at the railway station without a mobile phone. A warm and welcoming establishment, a credit to the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I remember your predicament. I assume the rest of your journey was more successful and uneventful? Thank you so much for taking the time to thank my staff with such a kind gesture. So many people take us for granted. Thank you so much once again for such a lovely review. Kindest regards Jon Palmer Onwer

Mossley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there for a long w\e having stayed there last time we were in Yeovil a few years ago. We weren't dissappointed and will return again, a refurb since our last stay has taken place, rooms spacious comfortable beds and clean. Food was very good - fresh and served hot, well presented and ample portions. Staff all very welcoming and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I certainly do enjoy reading 5* reviews. It gladdens me that you have come back to see us again and that the new rooms meet with your approval. I look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kindest regards Jon Palmer Owner

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Stayed here while visiting our daughter 'have had Sunday lunch before and thoroughly enjoyed it only downside was cost of a glass of soft drink at £3.30 each . Our room was a nice size and had a lovely ensuite ,bed was very comfy .we stayed in room 6 and had to ask for music downstairs to be turned down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debby N
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us. I'm so sorry you found the music downstairs to be a little too loud in your room. I do have to say that this maybe, as you said, "your sensitive hearing". We do purely use the music for 'quiet' background music. Still, I glad my staff obliged...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We had the same room as 2 years ago, and were equally pleased with it. The owner remembered us ????, and made us feel really welcome. Thank you. For breakfast, I had a bolied egg with soldiers. Th egg appeared in a little pail, and had already been tapped. The soldiers were piled up like posh chips and I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grandmatricia
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

It really was so lovely to see you again. Thank you for choosing the Pen Mill once again. Sarah and I are so pleased that you have had such an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you again very soon. Thank you for such a lovely review. Kindest regards Jon

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Very sad end of evening after birthday meal 3 kids 6 adults over £210 bill manageress handled a very small issue of my 3 yr old grandson taking two rechargeable candles from table instead of asking politely for them to be returned as the parents intended to do when he had fell asleep she putting it politely requested a further...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sandra M
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Oh dear, oh dear, oh dear! What a shame ‘Sandra M’ that you did not wait until the following morning to write your review when, you may have had a more coherent view of the situation! You may have also had the opportunity to ask your daughter, the facts about what was actually said and not what you thought you...

Reviewed 9 October 2016

My first time in many years that I have been here and I was surprised at how delicious the carvery was with a the lovely large selection of vegetables, and amazing stuffing. The only thing that let the place down was the bathroom as it was rundown and a little mouldy but I can cope with that as the food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review. Our carvery is growing more popular every week and each week, more and more people like yourself, are finding how good the Pen Mill is today. I must confess that I was a little surprised by your comment our "bathroom was a little run down", our housekeeper was devastated to read...

Mayfield UK
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We had the need of accommodation in Yeovil for a long weekend while attending a wedding and chose the Pen Mill Hotel. We were more than delighted with our stay. We received a warm welcome. Our room was well equipped and comfortable and the décor was beautiful. The breakfasts were generous and tasty and again the service was very friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carollo100
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

I'm so pleased you choose the Pen Mill Hotel for your short stay in Yeovil. It pleases me even more that you had 'A most delightful stay'. It certainly does appear that we ticked all of the boxes for your requirements? It will be a pleasure to welcome you back to the Pen Mill in the future. Kindest regards Jon...

Kent United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

We were staying at a B&B in Sherborne just down the road and visited the Pen Mill Hotel twice during our stay for an evening meal. There is plenty of parking which is great and at the front of the hotel there are plenty of tables with umbrella's if you want to have a drink or meal outside during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kokomo65
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Pen Mill Hotel. It really is appreciated. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed both of your visits and yes, I agree with you, we are amongst the best in the area! :) It would be a pleasure to accommodate you upon your next visit to the area and please...

Havant, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 September 2016

Stayed here as seeing a show at octagon theatre, the experience the staff at this hotel gave was second to none, very helpful very friendly and a credit to the owner. The food was excellent from the bar meals to the tasty breakfast and the standard of cleanliness of the room No4 was above and beyond what we expected. Most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brocklands
penmillhotel07, Owner at Pen Mill Hotel, responded to this review

Wow, what a fantastic review, thank you so much. It is so nice when guests who have had such a wonderful time, take the time and effort to help advance mine and Sarah's hotel. Being independent, we need all of the help we can get. Sadly we don't have a Lenny Henry and so we do need people like you,...

65 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
1.4 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
1.5 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
508 reviews
5.8 km away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ilchester
183 reviews
10.1 km away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
241 reviews
1.3 km away
Globe & Crown
Globe & Crown
#12 of 13 in Yeovil
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A popular Yeovil Hotel Bar & Restaurant. Located on the main A30 midway between London & Cornwall. The beautiful Ham Stone building was built in the 1850's & is now owned by husband & wife, Jon & Sarah. The Hotel rooms have just undergone a £200,000 refurbishment scheme, which has definitely put the small family run hotel on the map. All 8 of the beautiful guestrooms are slightly individual with King, Twin or Superking sized beds, 32" Panasonic Smart televisions, ensuite bathrooms, & perfectly designed quaint features.To compliment the stunning rooms, the well established bar & restaurant offers a relaxed setting to enjoy a perfectly kept pint, wonderful glass of wine & traditionally cooked local food. The ever popular Sunday Carvery is a highlight. Served from 12pm until around 6/7pm, Three Somerset Meats are offered alongside our infamous Homemade Yorkshire Puddings which would put Aunt Bessie to shame!, Beautifully roasted Maris Piper potatoes, Honey parsnips, & large selection of locally supplied vegetables including cauliflower cheese plus, gluten free gravy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pen Mill Hotel

Address: Sherborne Road, Yeovil BA21 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Price Range: ₹ 6,466 - ₹ 7,691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pen Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Pen Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pen Mill Hotel Yeovil, Somerset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Pen Mill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms noise free so pick one to suit your budget”
 of 5 bubbles 822gills, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Seek a room that does not face onto the main road as that could be noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Carollo100, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are on the first floor, from what I have seen - they're all good. Nice views out from rooms on the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles U9226ZKpaulb, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“best hotel for quality and service”
 of 5 bubbles 802fred, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Room eight does not have view but it was quiet on the first floor med sized double room with a large bathroom. Very comfortable.”
 of 5 bubbles janetjohn001, 26 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay