We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cromwell Lodge

594 reviews
Save
Traveller (162)
Room & Suite (94)
Dining (10)
Overview
  • Excellent26%
  • Very good34%
  • Average18%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“old building”(25 reviews)
“top floor”(15 reviews)
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
4.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (594)Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
There are newer reviews for Cromwell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveller rating
159
185
110
74
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
159
185
110
74
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold buildingcreaking floorboardstop floorbirthday partybreakfast was excellentvery pleasant stayboth morningslovely weekendbed was very comfortabletea and coffeeweekend breakfull englishtwo night staybanbury town centrebanbury crossyogurtmarquee
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
171 - 175 of 590 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2016

We enjoyed a two night stay at the Cromwell Lodge; at first glance we were a little disappointed with the superior room we had booked, while clean, it seemed tired and the bathroom needs renovating. But it grew on us, was very comfortable to sleep...More

Thank Iain S
Response from Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell LodgeResponded 23 March 2016

Thank you so much for leaving us feedback, we are so glad that you enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep and a great breakfast. Please visit us again soon

Reviewed 14 March 2016

Starting with the good bits it's a lovely hotel with a great history,breakfast was really nice and our room was nice,no complaints about noise and very comfy bed , unfortunately there's some bad bits too, we was not told till the previous day there was...More

Thank paul m
Response from Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell LodgeResponded 19 March 2016

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable room and a good breakfast in our historic hotel. Although the bar was cleared we had a large restaurant area which was open to serve food on the Saturday evening. I hope...More

Reviewed 6 March 2016

Excellent hotel in very good location with friendly and helpful staff. Meals first class. Hotel created an ambience whereby you felt at home. The staff were exceptionally good at their job and such good communicators.

Thank jef_10
Response from Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell LodgeResponded 8 March 2016

Thank you for leaving us such lovely feedback. We are happy to learn that you loved the feel of the Cromwell and you were impressed by our staff and food. We would love to welcome you back here again soon

Reviewed 25 February 2016

Had a two night stay on Daily Mail offer. Good location in the town and comfortable bar and restaurant. Staff friendly. Nice room (we were in room 8) which had a good view on to the main road. Bathroom could do with an update and...More

Thank Tina561
Response from Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell LodgeResponded 2 March 2016

Thank you for posting your feedback. We are glad that you found your stay with us to be comfortable and good value for money. We are looking into how we can make improvements to your bathroom and bedroom lighting and we hope to impress you...More

Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

Our newly formed Ladies Lunch Club met here today and had a fabulous meal and get together. 22 of us were seated all together and despite the numbers the food was served quickly and was hot. Proof that they can cope with larger numbers in...More

1  Thank Bren D
Response from Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell LodgeResponded 2 March 2016

Thank you for choosing the Cromwell Lodge for your Ladies Lunch Club. We loved having you here and we are so glad that we could provide you with a lovely meal and great service. Please do not hesitate to book with us again, we would...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
13334353637118
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Room Service
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 85 - US$ 148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 85 - US$ 148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (162)
Room & Suite (94)
Dining (10)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Barbara663
4 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from alaimar | Reviewed this property |
No pool at all !
0
Votes
Google Translation
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"please do not stay there at your peril"
Read review
"Don't bother"
Read review
"If there are any clean rooms make sure you get one"
Read review
"Avoid this place. There are much nicer hotels in Banbury."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing