We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cromwell Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cromwell Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

521 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Cromwell Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 518: English reviews
Burghead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2015

The hotel is never a 4 star,I would give it 2.The whole place is shabby and smells of damp which is clearly visible,with paper hanging off doors don't close properly and shower was needing a good scrub.On a positive note staff were lovely and helpful and food ok.Would never go back all our clothes stunk of dampness for £100 would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and enabling us to improve the overall experience. We are delighted to hear that you were impressed with our staff, and will make sure to pass on your positive feedback as this is an aspect of our hotel that we are very proud of

CATFORD
Reviewed 3 September 2015

Had 2 nights there, staff very helpful, room comfortable, food good, very well cooked and always hot, staff at breakfast were happy which always helps early in the day. Lovely hotel overall. Great area too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OLSPN
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing your positive feedback with us, we are very pleased you had a pleasant stay. We would love to welcome you back should you ever pass through Banbury again

Plymouth
Reviewed 31 August 2015

We've stayed at the Cromwell many times, and will stay again, as its location is ideal for our visits to family. But would I recommend it to anyone else? Well, not in its present condition. I suppose I'm writing this review in the hope that someone in Old English Inns senior management will finally realise the need to spend some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy1949
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly, thank you for sharing your comments with us and allowing us the opportunity to improve on your experiences. We are pleased to hear that you are frequent visitors, and certainly hope to see you again in future next time you are visiting family in the area. However, we are sorry to hear that your experience during your most recent...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2015

my stay was very good I will keep going back all staff were pleasant and helpful also has a lovely garden were you can have a quite drink I told all my friends to stay there if and when they are in banbury the town is on your doorstep bus and trains10mins a way shoping is very good

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank daniel c
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive feedback not only with us, but also with your friends. It is excellent to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and we look forward to seeing you and hopefully your friends in future.

Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

As part of the Old English group this hotel is housed in an old building with lots of charm and features together with creaking floor boards and sloping bedroom floors. The bed was a superb queen sized bed, the room was in style and the full English breakfast was all you expect. Suggest you ask for a room at the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rogyrogster
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your comments with us, it is always useful for us to hear back from guests in order for us to continue offering excellent service. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed both the hotel and restaurant in equal measure. As the hotel is on a main road, we do agree that rooms nearer the front of...

Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

Came back to my home town to see family and stayed here, a very nice hotel love the old style especially when laying in bed and seeing the radiator almost hitting the floor on one side, lovely nice staff would stay again next time I come down

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gavinessex111
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences with us. We adore the history of our building, and are glad to hear that you valued it just as much as we do, and that you were pleased with the staff that we are always so proud of. When you are next visiting family in the area, we would...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

The extended side of hotel(the parking lot side)is not good and not professional. No staff there , that makes me feel we are isolated . And the elevator emergency phone is not "there". 😱 When we arrived 3rd floor. Outside of every room got dirty towels, or glasses, ... And every door of the room is Dirty.😵 About our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jass M
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

comment doesn't seem to fit a description of our hotel. Is there any way we can get this removed? Review remarks on '3rd floor' which we do not have, also on an elevator, where we only have stairs. Also remarks on the state of the mini fans, something else which we do not supply. Speaks also of two separate parts...

Annan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2015

I recently stopped over at The Cromwell in Banbury. What a lovely surprise. Olde worlde charm. No lift but not too many stairs. The room was spacious so was the bathroom! Plenty of hot water. A lovely superking sized bed very comfortable. Was worried that the church bells would ring thru the night but didn 't hear them after midnight....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1catherine64
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us; we are delighted to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us! We really value the history of Banbury, and the history of the building itself, so it is excellent to hear that you were just as charmed. We hope to welcome you back in future,...

Birmingham
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Just to say first of all, I've never given an average review - normally I'm very easily pleased. So first of all to the plus points - it's a lovely quaint building, the rooms are trendy-boutiquey and clean, the staff do their best, the beer garden (complete with cute squirrels) is lovely and in the whole we enjoyed our weekend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brummymummy2012
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experiences with us. It is very important to us that we are able to improve with every customer that we welcome into our hotel. We are really pleased to hear that you felt that you had an overall positive experience, and hope that...

Buffalo, New York
Reviewed 5 August 2015

My first night ever spent in the UK was at this quaint hotel in Banbury. The Cromwell has a feel like you are staying in someone's home. The layout is odd, and each room is unique. The front desk staff was great, and the bar/restaurant in the lobby was a good find. Unfortunately, the room didn't measure up. The decor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjhorner1
Steven L, Guest Relations Manager at Cromwell Lodge, responded to this review

We are really glad that you decided to share your experiences with us, as we welcome all types of feedback in order to continue offering the excellent service we are so proud of. We are really pleased to hear that you were impressed by our team and that you enjoyed our bar and restaurant. In terms of your hotel room,...

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.1 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
3.8 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
5.4 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
417 reviews
9.0 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Cromwell Lodge

Address: 9-11 North Bar Street, Banbury OX16 0TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: ₹ 4,812 - ₹ 8,462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cromwell Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cromwell Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Hotel Banbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Marlow, United Kingdom
3 months ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cromwell Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“go somewhere else”
margaretandmikes, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only saw our room!”
del316, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 3 - noise from generators/fans”
WLT83, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms available for those with mobility issues who cannot manage stairs.”
patw523, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the room over the function room or bar”
41lesg, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5