We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

843 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 820: English reviews
Burbage
Reviewed 25 September 2014

We had an enormous suite which was very well equipt and very spacious. It was in the old part of the building. There is a lovely garden at the back but spoilt with the "add on bedrooms" overlooking the garden were not attractive to look at, to say the least. The car park was free but the entrance through an...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gloria M
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for your comments following on from your recent stay with us here at Mercure Banbury. I am very happy to read how much you liked your suite. I understand your comments regarding the newer wing of the hotel in that it does not blend in to the historic part of the hotel. It is...

South East England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2014

Stayed for one night. The check in was very efficient, but the hotel looked tired and the room was in need of a refurb. Bar was pleasant enough but needed some atmosphere and the bar staff neede to be more attentive.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank JNAL29
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, I am pleased to read your positive comments regarding check in, and of course understand your comments about the tiredness of the decoration, I am pleased to say that we will continue with our decoration programme from next month so should you choose to come and stay...

Reviewed 21 September 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel.. Check in was efficient however bar service was poor. We booked this hotel because they said they served bar meals all day. We needed to eat early as we were attending a concert and tried to order a bar meal around 6pm. No chance!! We were told they don't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie A
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much for detailing your stay with us below. I am happy to read that your check in was efficient however I too am disappointed to read you comments about the bar service. We do serve food all day and between 2-7pm there are a selection of sandwiches available from the menu and hot food is...

york
Reviewed 19 September 2014

We stayed for 2 nights while taking part in the National Towncrier Championships. We were greeted in a friendly and efficient manner. Our room was spacious and comfortable,with a lovely view of the beautiful gardens. Breakfast was excellent,offering a wide choice. All aspects of this establishment were FIRST RATE. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank denoYork
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guests, Thank you very much for yor 5 out of 5 review. I am very pleased to read all of the positive comments regarding your stay with us. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for next years event. Kind Regards Michael Williams General Manager

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights 8th & 9th september, used it for a base for our 25 strong group of fishermen at a local venue. The group deal was quite good and less than the normal tariff including breakfast and an agreed evening meal. All in all it was well worth the money, the rooms are very good the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Johnlinda2014
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely comments comments following your stay with us. I am very happy to read that you keep returning to us for you fishing trip and hope it was enjoyable. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the team to them all and we look forward to welcoming you...

Dyffryn Ardudwy
Reviewed 10 September 2014

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank richard-ikin
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

halifax
Reviewed 7 September 2014

i have visited this hotel before, but it as had a lick of paint, but still keeping its old worldly charm the break fast is excellent. whether you want cereal, fruit, yogurt, cooked english or croissants it is not a cheap hotel, but certainly worth the money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank titusaducks
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you very much indeed for your 5 star review of our hotel. I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular apparantly the breakfast. Once again maay thanks and I hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future. Kind Regards Michael Williams General Manager

London
Reviewed 5 September 2014

We were able to check in early, which helped a lot because we had to get ready for a wedding. The twin room with the garden/church view was very spacious and the bathroom was very clean. We checked out on a Sunday and we were allowed to check out late for free which was very considerate of the staff. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank putkinslikesed
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much indeed for your recommendation following you recent stay here. I am very pleased that we were able to accommodate you early arrival and late departure and that you enjoyed your accommodation. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of being able to welcome you back to Mercure Whately Hall in the future....

Molde
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I stay here every year. The hotel benefits from a great location within Banbury town centre & that is one of the reasons we opt for this accommodation. The other is the staff - from the night porter to the kitchen staff to admin. I can't praise them enough. The food seems to have improved somewhat (not that it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EngelskRikky
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely comments following another stay with us here at Mercure Whately Hall Hotel, Banbury. I am really happy to read your thoughts on the whole team here I will be certain to pass them on. I undertand what you say about the condition of the interior and I am pleased to say...

Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Saturday night, having been a bit concerned about other reviews on the site about noise from wedding receptions my husband emailed the hotel to request a quiet room, we received a reply stating we would be given a quiet room, however this was not the case, although I understand that people have weddings the hotel should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ollie2870
whately, General Manager at Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to let us know of your recent stay with us. Of course I am disappointed that you did not have the quiet stay that you had been promised and I will address this with my Front Office Manager and his team. I am pleased to read that you would stay...

143 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
3.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
2.0 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.2 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
5.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
414 reviews
8.9 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
3 star hotel offering 69 ensuite rooms in an idyllic 17th Century setting where Jonathan Swift wrote Gulliver's Travels in 1723. Ideal as a base for exploring the Cotswolds region, Stratford Upon Avon, Oxford, Woodstcock & Warwick. 10 minutes from Banbury railway and coach stations, 30 miles (50 km)from Birmingham Airport and easily accessible via Junction 11 of the M40. Features 7 meeting rooms accommodating up to 120 delegates, Swifts & Berkeley Restaurants and Hornton Bar. 24hrs room service and free car parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel

Address: Banbury Cross 17-19 Horse Fair, Banbury OX16 0AN, England (Formerly Mercure Whately Hall Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: ₹ 4,950 - ₹ 7,947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Whately Hall Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go for a quieter room at the back overlooking their lovely garden.”
 of 5 bubbles sheppard-andy, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“second Floor New building”
 of 5 bubbles rocketron, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the new block have a lot of corridors and fire doors to be negotiated to get back to the front of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles F1072JBdavida, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Our room was in the newer part of the building and was very quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Shirbaz, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you boo a Christmas Party here - check the room layout before you sign up”
 of 5 bubbles franksP2886VG, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5