We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lismore Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lismore Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 117: English reviews
Start your review of The Lismore Hotel
 Click to rate
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had one of the chalet rooms which was really only suitable for a single occupancy too cramped for two people, bed was pushed against the wall so it was a case of if I needed to get out of bed I had to kick the other half out first, mattress was soft but comfortable. Tea and coffee making provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Babs D
Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

Stayed for one night on our way to south coast. Had one of the four-poster rooms which was very cosy and clean. Tea, coffee and hot chocolate provided as well as iron, ironing board and fan (not normally found in a B & B). Bedding was clean and crisp and the room was nice and warm. The breakfast room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda P
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

hi many thanks for your comments i will pass this onto the girls thanks again

Reviewed 5 December 2016

Stayed here for 1 night with my partner at the time of booking it was the best value. The man at the front desk was very nice and chatty Hotel is very old but maintained fairly well Room was very nice with a single bed, four poster double and a couch The double bed was sooo comfy and the pillows....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ciara b
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

hi many thanks for your review we are what you said thanks again

Warwick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2016

Bed was nice, 4-poster, but the overall hotel was dark looking, corridors had lots of "stuff" including a mattress in them. Breakfast was okay but the service was almost creepy as the lady had one of those permanent smiles that showed she was more scared than I was!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ray B
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

thanks for your comments the building is well over 100 years old with high cellins not like a travel lodge, The hotel lights go with the building it is well lit with 7 chandlers but it does not suit bright light. As for my waitress they cannot do right for wrong they smile you do not like they not smile...

Frome, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2016

It's amazing that someone can run a business and not give a crap about the quality of service and the state of the rooms, how their customers feel or to make anyone welcome! Our room absolutely reeked of cigarette smoke, had no smoke alarm, the bed was appalling and neither of us slept at all! The curtains hung off the...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank philippakaye2016
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

Well the room is and was ok room very clean you were fine until i told you dogs were not allowed on the ground floor.You wanted to bring the dogs to have B/fast with you, we don't want dogs in the restaurant and i am 100% sure other guest don't want them sniffing around, as on check in you didn't...

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Very nice welcome, chalet was clean and well laid out, housekeeping excellent, went out for dinner so can't comment on food, lovely building and lovely town. Would use again. The hotel is conveniently located near the lovely town of Banbury where there's a abundant array of shops, pubs, restaurants and even a market. The canal's especially lovely with the river...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig D
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2016

The only up side was could park car outside your own door and location was good for town centre. The downside was no breakfast included in £80 a night stay room small and hot water luke warm Only saw 1 member of staff who wasn't very helpful and looked like didn't want to be there

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Linda M
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

all our rooms are sold room only you can book b/fast on line or on arrival it says it on all the booking sites and the price was the rate. You could have booked a single room for £65.00 but you booked a double for single. Yes we only had 1 person working as we cannot staff for all our...

Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

My room was absolutely filthy, stains on toilet, dirty shower and tiles behind the sink, the bathroom floor was dirty and my single bed was uncomfortable with a blanket with stains on. There was a sign on the wall to dial 0 for reception but no phone! The kettle was on the floor. The windowsills had dirt and mould on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sarah C
Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

I was booked here for 6 nights for business and wanted to cancel the remainder of my stay after the first 2 nights. I called to ask if I could cancel from the following day as I appreciated that it was too short notice to cancel my stay that evening. I spoke to an extremely rude man called Paul who...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Hannah S
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

I can understand you being upset and saying i was rude because you didn't get your way. We have a cancellation policy as all hotels do as we have to fill our rooms. If had said to you on your first night sorry i have sold your room for more money and a longer duration that would not be acceptable....

Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Recently received an email confirmation of my stay, which we had cancelled before our trip. Spoke to the owner who was very unhelpful when phoned to question this!!! Customer service was non existent. If hotel is like the owner glad I'm not staying!!!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tom R
sowgate, Owner at The Lismore Hotel, responded to this review

We cannot cancel the rooms as you came through a agent that is what i told you and all i told you, if you don't cancel through your booker you will be charged its all in your confirmation.What's unhelpful about that i would say sound advice maybe not what you want to hear but you made the booking not us.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
0.6 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
4.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
0.1 km away
Easington House
Easington House
#9 of 10 in Banbury
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Premier Inn Banbury (M40, J11) Hotel
0.8 km away
Cromwell Lodge
Cromwell Lodge
#7 of 10 in Banbury
517 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are undergoing a full and total refurbishment of all Bedrooms and bathrooms, Restaurant and bar. The project should be finished by early new year we will still be open with no disruption to guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lismore Hotel

Address: 61 Oxford Road, Banbury OX16 9AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Price Range: ₹ 5,170 - ₹ 7,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Lismore Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lismore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lismore Hotel Banbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lismore Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Lismore Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back overlooking the car park are very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles 609brendap, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere, anywhere else!!”
 of 5 bubbles philippakaye2016, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not sure there are any good rooms”
 of 5 bubbles K4714QOlindam, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Move one - sleep in your car is better than paying for this piece of run-down relic.”
 of 5 bubbles durianwool2, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“dont get a single unless you're really on a budget - no ensuite and cold in winter. Mouldy socks under bed.”
 of 5 bubbles Romagirl327, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5