We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Roseleigh

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Roseleigh
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

393 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 392: English reviews
Start your review of Roseleigh
 Click to rate
Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely and relaxing 3 day stay at The Roseleigh Guest House in Buxton, in the Peak District. Our room overlooked the Pavilion Gardens, and each morning woke up to the sound of quacking ducks! Breakfast was enjoyable and great location. A visit to Chatsworth House is a must, also the village of Bakewell. Unfortunately Haddon Hall hadn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SATRose
Gerard H, Owner at Roseleigh, responded to this review

Dear SATRose Firstly many thanks for your extremely positive comments both on the Roseleigh and Buxton & The Peak District. With regards bed size – some rooms due to the historical build (1871) means that we do provide standard double beds in certain rooms. However, we do have 7 rooms which offer King Size beds including two lake view rooms...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Roseleigh is a beautiful bed and breakfast that offers it all! We stayed in one of their many stunning rooms, an en-suite room with a bay window which overlooked the lake. Although the view was the same, it seemed to change during different times of the day. A serene morning mist on a calm lake, the sun gleaming on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We chose Buxton as a resting spot for our travels in the Peak District, and came across this guest house with an exceptional setting and value for money in the town. The room we chose overlooked the lake in the Pavillion gardens and was perfectly situated to look upon the traditional buildings in Buxton. The room was excellent in every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank giuliazavagno
Conwy County, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed in many bed and breakfast establishments over many years and came to the conclusion that we have had far better quality of food, room and general amenities for less money than they charge. The ensuite was very small. An unpleasant odour in the room. No bottled water. Tired looking decor. The breakfast was very average. Tinned fruit,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
Gerard H, Owner at Roseleigh, responded to this review

Dear Julie R We always appreciate feedback and understand that each client will have different perspectives. For breakfast we do provide a variety of fresh fruits – which you have not referred to in your review - as well as tinned pears, prunes and grapefruit along with natural yoghurt, 4 choices of cereals (plus gluten free options). If guests have...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Staff were friendly on arrival and gave some helpful info on the area. The room itself was nicely decorated room and bed was very comfy, breakfast nice- we would stay again. Buxton itself is quite small and surprisingly catered to a young vibe which in the evening suited us fine.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha S
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a guest house of really exceptional quality in every way. It has been renovated and furnished delightfully with thick carpet and heavy solid doors so that you do not here other guests entering and leaving their rooms (the only exception in our case when we were aware of others was from creaking boards in the room above 5...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NorwichKate
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good value. Room spotless, bed very comfortable. Hosts knowledgeable and friendly but not ott. Breakfast was delicious. I thoroughly recommend this place. Good views over the park, very quiet but centrally located. Best place I have stayed at for a long time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alastair J
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for three nights in room 9, which is a zipped-together super king size. We received a warm welcome and the B&B is well situated in Buxton with plenty of places to eat and things to see. The host provided a nice potted history as well as some recommendations. The breakfast was good and provided...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cec0c932ce01
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017

Had a 2 night B&B stay and was made to feel very welcome. We had a room downstairs as I can't manage stairs. The room was big with all the usual facilities, a settee and an enormous comfortable bed. Very clean accommodation, dining room and lounge look out over the lake and pavillion gardens. Breakfast was exceptionable with plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda L
Reviewed 12 March 2017

We booked a room with at view at the pond. The room was spacious, very cosy and clean with an eye for special details. The location was perfect because it is very near to many different restaurants and the opera house.The owners are very kind and helpful. They know a lot about the area and can give you all the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Astrid den O

98 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 km away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,000 reviews
0.7 km away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,493 reviews
0.1 km away
The Westminster Hotel
0.4 km away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Roseleigh is a comfortable and elegant Victorian Town House, centrally located in Buxton overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. Built in 1871 it is situated on Broad Walk a peaceful pedestrianised Victorian promenade. Installed in February 2015 - Ruckus Wireless System - complete coverage in all bedrooms and public areas - provided free of charge. A short walk will take you to the centre of Buxton. Quality furnishings and period decor enhance the many original features in the house. The Roseleigh is completely non-smoking, provides a private car park for up to ten cars and caters for different dietary requirements. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Roseleigh

Address: 19 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Price Range: ₹ 3,401 - ₹ 7,798 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Roseleigh Hotel Buxton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Roseleigh staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Roseleigh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room had a view of the lake! The only negative is the bed is a full size, and we're use to a queen or king.”
SATRose, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check the virtual tours of all the rooms to best decide which one you'd prefer!”
giuliazavagno, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room overlooking park”
NorwichKate, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room on the top floor but there's no lift.”
299alastairj, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors provide less creaking floor boards from above.”
cec0c932ce01, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5