We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Atholl Arms Hotel

Expedia.comUS$ 100*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 103*
US$ 100*
Great Deal
US$ 103*
US$ 103*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Atholl Arms Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

482 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 467: English reviews
Start your review of Atholl Arms Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

Delighted to find this place has a whole vegan menu! I noted there was a mention of honey in some capacity on the menu though, which isn't vegan, however maybe it's just a flavouring of some sort? I didn't ask about it. Staff were very friendly and food was fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toothfairylj
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Atholl Arms on a little city break from Glasgow and it was just what we wanted. We were upgraded to a lovely river view room, the staff were very welcoming and the hotel has a warm and cosy feel with a fantastic location for exploring Dunkeld and the surrounds. Free and easy parking, a nice cooked breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the slow/gourmet/tasting menu (call it what you wish) on the last Thursday of the month. The food and service were exceptional. Far from being slow, the courses were served in a timely manner when we were ready for each one. The food quality was excellent, cooked well and a well-balanced menu choice .... throw-in sitting overlooking the River...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thehappyman2014
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello thehappyman2014, This is such a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to write this for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld. Our slow food tasting menus are always exciting to produce and deliver. We hope to continue this once a month or maybe more often as they become more popular. The menu is on our web site....very...

Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I visited this lovely hotel during the May weekend, to celebrate our anniversary. We bought a deal through 5pm.com for 2 nights b&b, with a bottle of wine, so didn't expect 5 star luxury, but we were pleasantly surprised. Dunkeld is a lovely little town, surrounded by the most beautiful countryside and the hotel sits across from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlisonG42
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello AlisonG42, Happy Anniversary and thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkled. It certainly sounds like you made the most of your stay especially going up to the Loch of the Lowes to see the wildlife. We have had great weather here so our outdoor terrace...

Strathdon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Atholl Arms Hotel has a good reputation and has added a feature, a River Bar alongside the River Tay. Mainly outdoor seating but with sun cover. A useful menu of a bit more than snacks and all in a setting that is simply gorgeous. Easy off road parking, wifi and cheerful staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie S
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Ronnie S, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld. Great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our outdoor pavilion. We do pride ourselves on the delicious food we offer as it is all made fresh to order using locally sourced suppliers as much as...

Fife, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We often visit Dunkeld as it is a lovely place to visit. The locals are friendly. So, we decided to book into this hotel for 2 nights. Contrary to the reviews of others, on our visit, our experience was not as satisfying. The room , as such, was ok. But, the beds where left undone after first night. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucyst8ofmind
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello lucyst8ofmind, I am disappointed to read your review which does hold some concerns that have now been addressed. I am assuming you visited in the last month in which case you would have been there when our previous manager was there. We now have a new manager in charge of operations as well as a new manager in housekeeping...

Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Came to celebrate anniversary with my partner. First time I've been to Dunkeld and felt that the hotel was just right for this location and occasion. Received a friendly welcome at the desk and shown up to our room. Everything clean and comfortable. En-suite was small but everything we needed with lovely white fluffy towels on the heated towel rail....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn S
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Lynn S, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld. Happy anniversary! Our rooms come in all different shapes and sizes, some with showers and some with bath and showers. There are two floors in the hotel, 17 rooms. We do pride ourselves on the delicious...

Reviewed 17 April 2017

We decided to hold our wedding in the Atholl Arms after reviewing several other options (in total 30-35 guests). We were provided with a contact person (Gill) in the lead-up to the wedding which was only arranged 6-7 weeks before the actual date. Several emails were directed at Gill with a variety of questions and requested confirmations (e.g room bookings,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Steve M
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Steve M, Thank you for placing your kind words onto trip advisor to let people know what a great job we do. Because we are a small, independent hotel we can cater to bespoke needs. We have several weddings this year, all different in their own special way. Our food is award winning, every dish made from scratch using...

Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Were looking for a late lunch/early tea option while in dunkeld and one of the shops suggested we try here and we were not disappointed. On arrival there seemed to be a lounge leading to a formal dinning room but as luck would have it we were sent round to the less formal bistro area. The place was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Jill M, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld. We do pride ourselves on the delicious food we offer as it is all made fresh to order using locally sourced suppliers as much as possible. We also offer a tasting menu once a month, always...

Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

We spent 2 nights here with our two teenagers. The food in the hotel was wonderful. We were expecting "pub grub" but it was a much higher standard, our son said the pizza was the best he'd EVER eaten, and he ate it slowly so it wouldn't be finished too soon! The rooms were clean and comfortable and staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LAURA L
christines89, Owner at Atholl Arms Hotel, responded to this review

Hello LAURA L, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us here at the Atholl, Dunkeld. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal. We have a fabulous team of chefs creating a great menu. Something for everyone and lots of fresh, seasonal specials. Our hotel is very old and...

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkeld
1.6 km away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,176 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
27.5 km away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 km away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
1,726 reviews
13.3 km away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
730 reviews
15.3 km away
East Haugh House
East Haugh House
#4 of 18 in Pitlochry
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Atholl Arms Hotel

Address: Tay Terrace, Dunkeld PH8 0AQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Dunkeld
Price Range: ₹ 6,316 - ₹ 12,379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atholl Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Atholl Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholl Arms Dunkeld
Hotel Atholl Arms
Atholl Arms Hotel Dunkeld, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Atholl Arms Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Atholl Arms Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Riverview rooms are really lovely”
AlexM432, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Upgrades are available if you want a bit more luxury but we were in a room facing the main road and didn't hear a thing.”
AlisonG42, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“Facing the River Tay”
363ronnies, 8 May 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in the suite which was fantastic....and very large!”
658stevem, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 17 - Spacious, light and a lovely view of the river”
  • Room 17
elizabetha379, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$ 100* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$ 103
PricelineUS$ 103
Hotels.comUS$ 100
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates