We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Duke of Wellington

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Duke of Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

477 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Duke of Wellington
See the most recent reviews
Showing 475: English reviews
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

Do not live far away just over an hour but wanted to get away for 24 hours to the coast. Spur of the moment thing. Picked Minehead. We were not disappointed. The Wetherspoons being and old place had biggish clean and comfortable bedrooms. Being on the second floor it was quiet could hear no noise from the pub downstairs even...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thecuckoo
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear thecuckoo, Thank you for your review, So glad you enjoyed your short stay with us and that Samuel was able to resolve your queries, and that you enjoyed the food on offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Stephen

Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 July 2016

This was not the first time that we have visited the Duke. Comfy rooms, excellent staff and great service. Can be loud at a weekend but that is flagged up. Wetherspoons, better than you expect. Try it

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank whosborne17
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear whosborne17, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found us better than you expected. Indeed our Lloyds No1 bar is not just open at a weekend when it can get a little louder but open in the week as well to enjoy your sports on our projection screen. We look...

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

We went to minhead and had lunch in The Duke of Wellington . The food and service was fine . I went to the gents and was very suprised at how smelley it was glad i was just leaving. Weatherspoons loos are mostly very good. What a let down

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cardinal600
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Cardinal600, Thank you for your review, we must apologise for the smelly loo We are having the system checked. Please do come back and visit us again soon. Stephen

Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Largest room we had during our two week tour but no drawers, cupboards or anywhere to put clothes, just a sort of h frame with 5 clothes hangers. Beds comfortable enough and staff very good, even told us of night club, (shock) open till 2am, although it did not affect sleep. Food typical Wetherspoons no complaints there. If visting Minehead...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wrigleysteve
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear wrigleysteve, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you found the staff to be good and no complaints on the food. We do indeed have our Lloyds No1 bar open till 2am on a Friday and Saturday and the rest of the week it becomes our sports bar where you can watch the tennis or golf etc...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Love wetherspoons as a chain and went to the one in minehead whilst on holiday. The guy behind the bar was rude. Paid him with Scottish money and he just looked at me and said what is this funny money.. I just looked at him. Not amused. He eventually realised after my hubby said is there a problem. Not great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank franny4billy
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Got there staff where friendly had a bit of a shock when they told me that there was a night club attached to the hotel that didn't close till 3am . The noise was quite annoying because we wanted a nice weekend break. The room was adequate but in need of an update . I paid 140 pounds a two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Duke of W, Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, We do have a nightclub on site which is stated on all of our literature. If at all possible we will endeavour to place guests in the quieter rooms. When placing a booking please ask for a quieter room and we will be happy to oblige. I am glad though you found our staff to...

cardiff
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Lovely large room with very comfortable bed. We had a warm welcome on arrival with good information on services including food on offer for evening and breakfast. Great power shower and close to shops and seafront . Near to butlins where we were visiting grandchildren so ideal location. Recommended place to stay .

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank suzideri
Duke of W, Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and felt you were provided with plenty of information. We hope to see you again in the near future.

bristol
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Stayed on 30th june in family room for my daughters birthday and it was a huge room and very clean. We were checked in by Sam on reception who was very polite. We ate our evening meal in the bar and all staff were very friendly and the food was excelant value for money

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank starfish547
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear starfish547, Thank you for your review We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, sand that you found us to be value for money with friendly staff. Please do come and visit us again soon. Stephen Night Shift Leader

Reviewed 21 June 2016

We arrived on Saturday the 18th, left on the Monday. Firstly, I liked that we didn't have to pay on reservation, and we were able to change the reservation with no fuss a week or so before we were due to arrive. I would recommend though to do your research before booking. Butlins holds family breaks and Adult weekends, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Joanne H, Thank you for your review, Bus timetables, we always have the latest timetables at reception and do advise guests where to catch buses etc. We are glad that you found that you were happy with and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Stephen Night Shift Leader

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

It is vital that any visitor accepts that this hotel is an old one. As such, they have tried very hard to bring it up to modern standards. However, this involves compromise with a bathroom squeezed into a corner of what was obviously once a larger room. This is not a complaint, it is just a fact that one encounters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveller1648
Duke of W, Night Shift Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear traveller1648, Thank you for your review it is indeed an old building in a fact it is grade 2 listed, and as you say there is no on site parking but there is ample parking in some of the roads around us and also in the long stay car park just a couple of minutes away. As for the...

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.7 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
240 reviews
0.6 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
198 reviews
38.2 km away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#2 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
209 reviews
1.0 km away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
237 reviews
0.8 km away
The Quay Inn
The Quay Inn
#14 of 38 in Minehead
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All 29 rooms in our hotel are en-suite and boast free wi-fi as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Towels, hair dryers, ironing board & iron and spare pillows are supplied in all rooms. Flat screen televisions in all rooms. Our 24 hour reception allows check in from 14:00. Meals start from 07:00 and run until 23:00 daily. Breakfast finishes at midday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke of Wellington

Address: Wellington Square, Minehead TA24 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Price Range: ₹ 3,843 - ₹ 6,058 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duke of Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your The Duke of Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Wellington Minehead, Exmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“didn't stay”
 of 5 bubbles papaglowing2, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms near the A/C vents above the kitchen.”
 of 5 bubbles alanb788, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in 112 but it was Sunday night so very quiet it faces the front”
 of 5 bubbles Lynda207, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are good”
 of 5 bubbles johnhM1937IJ, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 53Alan54, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5