We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Duke of Wellington

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Duke of Wellington
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 465: English reviews
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was my first stay at a Wetherspoons Hotel, really impressed, large rooms, plenty of hot water and a comfy bed for a change, some hotels are really let down by this, and you cant go wrong with the food, you get what you pay for but that's fine with us, nice early breakfast, and lots to do and see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 53Alan54
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear 53Alan54, Thank you for your review, we are glad that you were impressed with us and that you had a nice comfy bed. We do indeed have early breakfasts we start serving at 7am. Sorry we don't have a car park but on street parking is but a couple of minutes stroll away or long stay car park about...

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Being originally from minehead and then moved to Stoke on Trent, I came down last weekend with my 2 year old son to visit family. I asked to be put in a quiet part of the hotel as I know the nightclub 'Lloyds' is at the back of the hotel. I was put on the second floor. There wasn't a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bex F
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Bex F, Thank you for your review, unfortunately we do not have a lift being a grade 2 listed building we cannot put one in. Had you asked for some assistance with your suitcase we would have quite happily carried it up for you. I cannot say if your room had a smoker in it previously. But being a...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here twice with our two children. The first visit the food was good, took a while to come but was busy. Prices are very reasonable. This is quite a big weatherspoons with plenty of tables but the second time we visited we left without eating as the wait for food was over an hour. Unfortunately the bar was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jennyluan
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear jennyluan, Thank you for your review, we are glad you found our prices to be reasonable. We are sorry however that on the day you came we were "packed" this does happen in the bar area but we do have other areas in the pub which are quieter, we are a family friendly pub with another 4 areas in...

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel in Minehead town. Right at top end of town only a short walk to shops. Wetherspoons hotel so great food deals. Only downside was price had increased this year as apposed to previous years.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kate g
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear kate g, Thank you for your review, We are so glad you like our location and enjoy our food clubs. Price increase, cost of living sorry to say but, we are still very reasonable in our pricing. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Stephen

Northampton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel rooms are spacious,well appointed and comfortable and we have stayed quite happily at the hotel during the week a few times. However, I was unfortunate enough to book a Friday night on one occasion. It was like being in Falaraki on a Club 18-30 holiday. Disco blaring until past 2am, drunken women and men screeching outside, the stench...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AngelaMoseley
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear AngelaMoseley, Thank you for your review, It does say on all the websites we are on that we have a Lloyds No1 bar on site and some extra noise is possible. We do move the patrons on as soon as possible, to keep the noise to a minimum. On this occasion it seems we failed and can only apologise....

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2016

We visited this hotel for the dunster weekend, When we arrived we were not able to check in until 2pm. so we went in the restaurant for food we had steaks and mixed grills, all were reasonable prices for a weatherspoons hotel . the food was pretty good too. We checked in to our rooms, they were basic but clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank diane t
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear diane t, Thank you for your review, We are glad you enjoyed your lunch and at a reasonable price. A 2pm check in time is quite normal within the hotel trade as this gives us time to prepare the rooms for the incoming guests. I do not know which room you were in but the lighting should have been...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We have stayed at The Duke previously,hence it was our choice to go again. We were not disappointed. The room was clean,warm and there were adequate tea and coffee supplies. The staff were warm and friendly and helpful. Excellent value for the money.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear Ian M, Thank you for your review, we are always glad to see old friends again and that you found the staff warm and friendly. Along with plenty of tea and coffee supplies in your clean warm room. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Stephen

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight in twin room. Room was clean and tidy. Bed was very uncomfortable bad night sleep and woke up aching from lumpy mattress. My friend in the other bed couldn't move in morning as her back was aching badly. The shower didn't work, only hot water coming out of it and it was scalding. Also wasn't able to turn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tajones64
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear tajones64, Thank you for your review, We are sorry you found the bed to be uncomfortable I am having the housekeeper check them and also the shower. The radiator's are just normal fittings and had you asked we would have quite happily turned them down for you. We hope that you will come back and try us again to...

poolefisher
Reviewed 27 November 2016

This hotel in the centre of town has no parking of its own and a problem if no space along building is available.Great prices for food ,room and drink but the drunken rowdy darts fans from Butlins did Witherspoons no favours and not a good atmosphere for the other patrons.I was in room 104 and got very little sleep because...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank PooleFisher
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear PooleFisher, Thank you for your review, indeed we have no car park of our own but there is ample on street and some car parks close by. Our Lloyds No1 bar is at the other side of the building from your room, and patrons on leaving both the main bar and Lloyds No1 are moved on as quickly and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2016

Comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price. Friendly staff always happy to help. A good location. No parking facilities on site but able to park a short walk away at no cost. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank john_offin
Duke of W, Night Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this review

Dear john_offin, Thank you for your review, We are glad that you found our rooms to be comfortable and at a good price. So glad that you found our staff happy to help and that you found parking a short walk away. We look forward to your next visit. Regards Stephen

76 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
38.2 km away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#1 of 29 in Weston-super-Mare
746 reviews
0.7 km away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
221 reviews
0.6 km away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
230 reviews
0.5 km away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
0.8 km away
The Quay Inn
The Quay Inn
#15 of 37 in Minehead
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All 29 rooms in our hotel are en-suite and boast free wi-fi as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Towels, hair dryers, ironing board & iron and spare pillows are supplied in all rooms. Flat screen televisions in all rooms. Our 24 hour reception allows check in from 14:00. Meals start from 07:00 and run until 23:00 daily. Breakfast finishes at midday. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Duke of Wellington

Address: Wellington Square, Minehead TA24 5NH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Price Range: ₹ 3,608 - ₹ 6,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Duke of Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Wellington Minehead, Exmoor National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Duke of Wellington staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“higher floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 53Alan54, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for quiet end of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles dianet_12, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room at the front !”
 of 5 bubbles MattJames69, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are disabled the pub is a walking distance nearly at the end of The High Street”
 of 5 bubbles sandral398, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we were in room 206 & it was so quiet around the room”
 of 5 bubbles Deefan54, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay