We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bacon Arms

  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 146: English reviews
Start your review of Bacon Arms
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for a few nights with my girlfriend as a base, as we went and did things around the area. It's a nice place, close to shops and local amenities. The room was nothing fancy but was warm and had everything you need, with a comfy bed. Good pub grub and helpful and friendly staff, general welcoming atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamo W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I liked the large car park, cheerful welcome, large room with a comfortable bed, a table, two chairs and windows that opened. It was easy to find and was convenient for walking into the town centre, which has a large choice of restaurants. The decoration is fairly dated but not unsuited to the historic building. A good breakfast was included...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zynex
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very easy to get to from M4. Secure (CCTV--monitored) private parking. Tidy and nicely appointed bar/restaurant area with free wi-fi. Staff were very polite, although there were a couple of minor language-fluency issues. Happily accepted me into the room two hours ahead of usual booking time with minimal fuss. Room was clean and nicely furnished with adequate tea/coffee, biscuits etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OneNightStan
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Seemed very disorganised. I can only assume it is under new management. The room was better than I expected, very clean with fresh clean towels and biscuits on the tea tray. The stairs to the rooms are very steep and I would not recommend for children or older adults.The breakfast was very good, just like a breakfast cooked at home,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank moaningmoose
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Like faulty towers. Owners were away and the cook was left in charge. Trying to run a kitchen, assist new foreign staff behind the bar and check people in. First room we was shown to had a broken bed and the second room had not been made up or cleaned. Housekeeper was very rude and kept arguing with the Cook...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prue143
Bacon A, General Manager at Bacon Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We obviously sympathize with the situation you encountered on your arrival which was due to our head housekeeper not turning in for work on that day due to illness, which meant our programme of having all rooms ready was running late. However we did speak to you very early the...

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

New management did so well. We were a big party but we were treated extremely well. The food was top notch and definitely better than previous years. The staff were great. I wish them all the best in their new venture.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travis B
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

Popped in with family for a late sunday lunch. Staff were friendly helpful and informative. Relaxed atmosphere and roomy with plenty of tables with chairs and a bar area. Food was reasonably priced and was ok.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louisa A
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Room was very basic. Carpet was dirty, shower and toilet filthy. No heating, apart from an old electric heater. Arrived early evening, I complained and was told that they were fully booked and had no other room available. I rang around for another hotel, with no luck. Staff cleaned the room, while I waited. Absolutely appalling. Breakfast very basic. Tv...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank haulwen2
d0nker, General Manager at Bacon Arms, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your comments which are noted. However there are glaring inaccuracies contained within as we do have unbelievable warm central heating to the extent that sometimes our guests complain it's too warm!, check in times to our rooms is 1400 and our housekeepers are very conscious to have rooms ready for our...

Kings Lynn, Norfolk
Reviewed 4 December 2016

The staff were very pleasant, the bedroom ceiling has water stains and in places the ceiling paper looks as though it's about to come down, barely enough room between the bed and the wall to get to the shower and loo. The shower is held together with silicone, basically the bedroom and shower room need complete refurbishment. Bedroom No 1....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive N
d0nker, General Manager at Bacon Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and in normal circumstances we would gladly pass these on to our Team but as we have recently taken over this establishment we are the management and the team so your kind thoughts of our pleasant service is noted and much appreciated. Your remarks regarding the décor etc is probably...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel initially they tried to put me in a dank dusty and damp smelling room with no tv reception . I objected strongly and the alternative room was light clean and airy. The meal was ok and cheap Breakfast was fine ok for a quick stop but nothing spectacular

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sylvia1941

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.0 km away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#11 of 16 in Newbury
299 reviews
1.4 km away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 16 in Newbury
567 reviews
1.7 km away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Travelodge Newbury London Road
1.5 km away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
1.5 km away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#10 of 16 in Newbury
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Bacon Arms

Address: 10 Oxford Street, Newbury RG14 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range: ₹ 4,932 - ₹ 7,356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Bacon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bacon Arms Hotel Newbury
Bacon Arms Newbury, Berkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bacon Arms staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Bacon Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the back or annex rooms seem a better bet.”
 of 5 bubbles moaningmoose, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles CliveN643, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back would be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles sscrivener1972, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms noisy and floor boards creak but it didn't bother us as we had a lovely time and a few beers”
 of 5 bubbles lucymit54, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the street will be noisy with Windows open during the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles jaynegreenw00d2, 23 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5