We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell at Boxford

Save
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (9)
Ratings and reviews
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good33%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“the pub”(40 reviews)
“sea bass”(3 reviews)
“an evening meal”(5 reviews)
View all reviews
What's included
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
Pool
Fitness centre
Business Centre
Dry Cleaning
3 Star Hotel
11 Bedroom Inn with Restaurant and real ales. 4 miles from Newbury and Lambourn. Previous AA Wine Pub of the year with 60 wines by the glass and Champagnes too! Free Wi FI throughout. Special food requirements? Just ask and we'll do our best to oblige! Rooms have power showers en suite...
View all hotel information
Location and contact
Lambourn RD | Near Newbury, Newbury RG20 8DD, England
Hotel website
54.4 km to Eastleigh Airport
View nearby attractions and restaurants
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveller rating
93
87
31
23
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
93
87
31
23
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsea bassan evening mealwould stay againfull englishstayed for two nightscomfy bedhopsmenulambournchefcountrysidewinevenue
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 260 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Once again a very pleasant stay although for only one night this year. Friendly welcome room as our last visit (its our 7th stay) meal on a plate very nice one downside no”good old boy”beer available so I didn’t get my free pint as per...More

Thank PeteBraitree
Response from Paul L, Owner at The Bell at BoxfordResponded 2 days ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us here at the Bell. Unfortunately the incredably hot weather caused a reall shortage of our local beers !! Maybe next year!!! Kind regards Paul

Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Reviewed 14 October 2017

This is a 17th century pub & coaching inne now a rustic pub with rooms. Freehouse, so local flavourful beers on tap. Friendly & helpful staff and customers (including well behaved dogs). If you are looking for charm & value for money it is ideal....More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen T
Response from bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at BoxfordResponded 20 October 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review us at the Bell. Im really pleased that you have enjoyed yourselves at the Inn and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future Kind regards Paul

Reviewed 1 week ago

Pretty basic, rustic accomodation, bar area was good but rooms and access to rooms poor, old carpets and aged paintwork, on the good side it was a quiet and peaceful retreat from city life. I would not recommend or return and consider other options in...More

Thank Gary C
Response from Paul L, Owner at The Bell at BoxfordResponded 1 week ago

Pleased you enjoyed the bar. Other options in the area ??.....The Vineyard charges £400 per night. Our nearest local competitor charges 120.00. So I think you achieved real value for money at only £60 for two including Breakfast! Perhaps the Premier Inn would be more...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly as an ex-publican I get incensed by unfairly negative reviews, but here there is an exception. My wife and I were out for a country drive and happened across The Bell, a charming looking place both outside and inside but with another exception -...More

Thank PhilCoates
Response from Paul L, Owner at The Bell at BoxfordResponded 1 week ago

Im sorry to learn of your unsatisfactory experience at the Bell. Id like to discuss your comments personally and if you will contact me at paul@bellatboxford.com Id appreciate it.

Reviewed 14 June 2018

A lovely pub in the county so a winner straight away. The food is amazing as very reasonably priced and along the with the drink. The room is very reasonable priced and very comfy, the staff are very friendly and took time to get to...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jordantjones23
Response from Paul L, Owner at The Bell at BoxfordResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking the time to review us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future! kind regards Paul and the Team

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$ 74 - US$ 124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$ 74 - US$ 124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (40)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (9)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Bell at Boxford staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"We would have liked blackout curtains as very bright in the morning , but our room was a good size..."
Read review
"Clean and decorate"
Read review
"We stayed on the ground floor , and the room was easily accessible"
Read review
"Mattress a bit soft"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing