We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hare and Hounds Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hare and Hounds Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

579 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hare and Hounds Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 577: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food in the restaurant is good. The menus offers a good choice for a Sunday lunch. Could be a good place for family lunch but is not so practical as the steps that divide each part make access slow. There is also no baby changing facility.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barryjukes
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Barry Many thanks for your review. I'm pleased the food was to your liking and only sorry the facilities meant we got a 3 star score. We do have baby changing facilities which we provide when requested. The workings of our old inn also mean steps for which we have a ramp, again, when requested. Practicalities being as they...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good staff, nice breakfast served in a pleasant barn conversion. * CAUTION * rooms vary A LOT! Be careful to ask about your room before booking and inspect on arrival. For example room 14 is small, a bit tired, frankly depressing. On the other hand, room 18 is really nice with tidy decor, new carpet, a comfy bed. If I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank feckingtuck
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MrT Thanks for your comments and I am pleased we managed to move your room and you enjoyed the second. We have since decorated rm 14 and have new furnishings going in beginning March. The main Inn double rooms are in the top of the hotel, we have regulars who love their quietness and the olde worlde feel and...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Stayed for one night in November nice little place to stay. Nice bar and restaurant for breakfast. Outside stable room in separate building a little small but OK. Car park a little small for amount of guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. Hope to see you again and perhaps yoy will book a cottage room, generally £10 more but spacious and with bath and shower and queen size beds, we feel they give even better value! Hope to welcome you back soon Jonathan & Jean

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Stayed for just one night this time. As usual the food was good, both dinner and breakfast. The room was fresh and clean with a TV, double Wardrobe and plenty of drawers, tea making facilities, but, no bath, just a shower. Plenty of parking and just minutes from Newbury town centre and the M4. The bar has some good real...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul B
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul Glad you liked the new furniture! Thanks so much for the 5 stars, it means a great deal to all who work to make our guests happy. We look forward to seeing you again soon Thank you once again Jonathan, Jean and all at The Inn

Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

We attended a party hear at the barn and the space woz great for the size of party and ample parking. Although the access woz not great. Steep steps everywhere and no disabled access. Obviousley a big problem for disabled or pushchairs. Although the toilets were clean there is no babychanging facilities. Also a big problem if your a restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank finepubgrubber
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pubgrubber My manager would firstly like to apologise. He didn't intend to be rude at all. The other group were a birthday party and the lady wanted to say thank you to her guests. In this eventuality, I would feel that turning the music off was the polite thing to do, but perhaps we could have explained it better...

Reviewed 23 January 2017

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Beautiful and traditional Country Inn / Hotel style facility and rooms. Beamed ceilings, Brick and Iron Fireplaces. Charming and clean rooms with plenty of storage and well equipped. Fantastic complimentary breakfast and terrific restaurant & bar (make a reservation - it gets busy for dinner and is very popular with the locals & returning visitors)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett P
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brett Thank you from everyone here for such a great review. It means so much that you took the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I was baffled by the great ratings for this place, but most of them are for the restaurant which did seem really busy. The hotel itself is grim, dated, and cramped. It benefits from the fact that Newbury, like nearby Reading, has a chronic shortage of hotels, and therefore second-rate places like this can get away with poor standards and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank clinteastwood01
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clint, "I loved you as an actor, less so as a director and much less as a critic!" Sorry, I don't mean to be flippant, and I apologise that you were not happy. I'm guessing you won't return, but to others reading.. We really are proud of our Inn and all who work so hard here. Our reviews perhaps...

frequentfryer
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We went here with friends as my husband had some business to attend to, so we had decided to make a weekend of it. We found our rooms at the back of the main building in a mews type setting. The room was a little dark and cold when we went in. There was plenty of lighting though and controllable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequentfryer
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frequent Flyer Many thanks for a great review. Our staff really are a great bunch and we are very proud to work alongside them. We deliberately supply good quality tea, coffee, biscuits, toiletries and my favourite, proper sized bath towels. We do this to try to gain an edge over the chain hotels and it is so nice when...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Eight of us went for lunch today. Some restaurants find it difficult to manage the logistics of a group that size on a normal Saturday. The Hare and Hounds did so with elegance and efficiency. we are warmly welcomed, shown a really comfortable corner, attended to with commendable dispatch and efficiency and had a great meal from every respect. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arnorab
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amorab Thank you for your great review! EAT, DRINK, SLEEP our website is titled, deliberately, as all three are equally important to our continued success! As you point out, we do all fresh, friendly, and to the best of our , and our inn's, ability! Thanks again Jonathan, Jean & all at the Inn

uk
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I attended the annual New Years party which was held in The Barn (extension to the pub) It was very busy, sold out I believe, and we were offered a glass of "Barn Fizz" on arrival. Well, the fizz definitely lost it's fizz along the way, it was more like Ribena, certainly not alcoholic. I was expecting at least a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank molly21
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Molly Thank you for your review and apologies if you felt underwhelmed. I have to say that the feedback I received on the night was the best we have had for a New Years celebration, and I felt the night had been a success. The Barn Fizz is Prosecco with cranberry juice in a sugar rimmed glass, I can...

362 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Cottage Superior Room (19)
Viewed
Family Room (27)
Viewed
Premium Double Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Small Double Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (12)
Viewed
Suite (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newbury
1.5 km away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,578 reviews
0.8 km away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
5.9 km away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newbury
717 reviews
2.4 km away
Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa
5.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range: ₹ 4,256 - ₹ 8,773 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Newbury
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hare and Hounds Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Brockville, Canada
buckingham

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hare and Hounds Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms 19 to 22 ground floor & easy access with parking outside room & away from the road which can be busy at times although not a problem”
 of 5 bubbles 759robinh, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the road are good, no external noise”
 of 5 bubbles Hm37551, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This place is on a busy road but the rooms seem to be to the back and side of the main old inn.”
 of 5 bubbles LorraineA947, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear of the car park are further from the main road and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 686PaulB686, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“To my knowledge all are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5