We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hare and Hounds Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hare and Hounds Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

567 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 565: English reviews
Start your review of Hare and Hounds Hotel
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night in November nice little place to stay. Nice bar and restaurant for breakfast. Outside stable room in separate building a little small but OK. Car park a little small for amount of guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for just one night this time. As usual the food was good, both dinner and breakfast. The room was fresh and clean with a TV, double Wardrobe and plenty of drawers, tea making facilities, but, no bath, just a shower. Plenty of parking and just minutes from Newbury town centre and the M4. The bar has some good real...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We attended a party hear at the barn and the space woz great for the size of party and ample parking. Although the access woz not great. Steep steps everywhere and no disabled access. Obviousley a big problem for disabled or pushchairs. Although the toilets were clean there is no babychanging facilities. Also a big problem if your a restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank finepubgrubber
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pubgrubber My manager would firstly like to apologise. He didn't intend to be rude at all. The other group were a birthday party and the lady wanted to say thank you to her guests. In this eventuality, I would feel that turning the music off was the polite thing to do, but perhaps we could have explained it better...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Beautiful and traditional Country Inn / Hotel style facility and rooms. Beamed ceilings, Brick and Iron Fireplaces. Charming and clean rooms with plenty of storage and well equipped. Fantastic complimentary breakfast and terrific restaurant & bar (make a reservation - it gets busy for dinner and is very popular with the locals & returning visitors)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brett P
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Brett Thank you from everyone here for such a great review. It means so much that you took the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was baffled by the great ratings for this place, but most of them are for the restaurant which did seem really busy. The hotel itself is grim, dated, and cramped. It benefits from the fact that Newbury, like nearby Reading, has a chronic shortage of hotels, and therefore second-rate places like this can get away with poor standards and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clinteastwood01
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clint, "I loved you as an actor, less so as a director and much less as a critic!" Sorry, I don't mean to be flippant, and I apologise that you were not happy. I'm guessing you won't return, but to others reading.. We really are proud of our Inn and all who work so hard here. Our reviews perhaps...

frequentfryer
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

We went here with friends as my husband had some business to attend to, so we had decided to make a weekend of it. We found our rooms at the back of the main building in a mews type setting. The room was a little dark and cold when we went in. There was plenty of lighting though and controllable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequentfryer
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frequent Flyer Many thanks for a great review. Our staff really are a great bunch and we are very proud to work alongside them. We deliberately supply good quality tea, coffee, biscuits, toiletries and my favourite, proper sized bath towels. We do this to try to gain an edge over the chain hotels and it is so nice when...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Eight of us went for lunch today. Some restaurants find it difficult to manage the logistics of a group that size on a normal Saturday. The Hare and Hounds did so with elegance and efficiency. we are warmly welcomed, shown a really comfortable corner, attended to with commendable dispatch and efficiency and had a great meal from every respect. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank arnorab
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amorab Thank you for your great review! EAT, DRINK, SLEEP our website is titled, deliberately, as all three are equally important to our continued success! As you point out, we do all fresh, friendly, and to the best of our , and our inn's, ability! Thanks again Jonathan, Jean & all at the Inn

uk
Reviewed 2 January 2017

I attended the annual New Years party which was held in The Barn (extension to the pub) It was very busy, sold out I believe, and we were offered a glass of "Barn Fizz" on arrival. Well, the fizz definitely lost it's fizz along the way, it was more like Ribena, certainly not alcoholic. I was expecting at least a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank molly21
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Molly Thank you for your review and apologies if you felt underwhelmed. I have to say that the feedback I received on the night was the best we have had for a New Years celebration, and I felt the night had been a success. The Barn Fizz is Prosecco with cranberry juice in a sugar rimmed glass, I can...

england
Reviewed 23 December 2016

We chose off the Festive Menu, Roast turkey with all the trimmings and also tasty salmon, served with lovely fresh vegetables. Service was very good, and the food was delicious. A cold, windy, rainy day, but warm in the Barn restaurant. Looking forward to returning next year.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1eddieboy
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Eddieboy And what a great time was had by all! We can not thank you and everyone enough for all the fantastic comments we received over the month. Happy New Year and see you soon Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn

Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 December 2016

Great Hotel / restaurant. Good quality meals and value. Efficient and friendly helpful staff, we ate in the Barn, spacious bright and lovely wood beams throughout. Ample parking and all round great venue for any event / outing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AJSBuchan
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AJS Short and really sweet review!! Many thanks and see you again soon. Best wishes Jonathan and all at the Inn

359 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (79)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Cottage Superior Room (19)
Viewed
Family Room (27)
Viewed
Premium Double Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Small Double Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (12)
Viewed
Suite (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.5 km away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
5.9 km away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
0.8 km away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#4 of 16 in Newbury
704 reviews
2.4 km away
Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa
5.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range: ₹ 5,301 - ₹ 9,528 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hare and Hounds Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Brockville, Canada
buckingham

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Hare and Hounds Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the rear of the car park are further from the main road and quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles 686PaulB686, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“To my knowledge all are excellent.”
 of 5 bubbles , 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Just don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles clinteastwood01, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a superior room if possible that's not attached to the main building”
 of 5 bubbles Stumpie63, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the road”
 of 5 bubbles Bracing, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5