We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hare and Hounds Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hare and Hounds Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

589 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 586: English reviews
Start your review of Hare and Hounds Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed there for one night. The room we stayed in was "nice", room 25, one of the little cottages at the back. fairly comfortable beds and wooden furniture. BUT the shower let it totally down. Small cubicle, with terrible head shower. Very old, dirty and totally in need of some care. Very bad. Yes, there was some shower get and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kenza J
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kenza J I can only apologise that your stay was so bad, we all here do care and try so hard to look after our guests and hope that our modest Inn will be enjoyed by all. However we know we can't please everyone, and we also apologise that we were not at the hotel. We are working owners...

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have taken mother here for lunch with Sister, Mother had the pie , Sister had the pulled pork , I ordered the rump steak, when the meals arrived i tried cutting through the steak but i could'nt , i could see it had a sinew running through it , The waitress gave me a steak knife but that did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jed H
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jed My sincere apologies for your meal not being up to our usual high standard, especially as you were with your mother. We do use one of the areas best and most well known Butchers and I have spoken with them today. They too send their apologies. Sometimes the nature of meat does mean that we have the very...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was recommended this hotel by the owner of a near-by restaurant and I have to say, I'm glad I followed his advice. My mum and I had a lovely one-night stay in a beautiful little twin room, very clean with a hairdryer, comfy beds and free chocolates! The converted coach house is absolutely stunning and I was overjoyed as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CathFranLin92
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cath I am pleased you enjoyed the room and the chocolates. We give these as a thank you for booking direct via our website. This also guarantees a cheaper rate, why? We save the high commissions that we pay to the online booking sites. Say hi to mum and hope to see you again Jonathan, Jean and all at...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped at the Hare And Hounds on a Friday and Saturday night. What a cracking place our room was absolutely fantastic, very clean and nice comfortable beds with a little treat waiting for us when we walked in. We had a meal in the barn and we both decided on steak cooked on Bertha, wow it was definitely the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sh1471
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sh1471 Thank you for a great review. You know how seriously and personally we all here take them and it made us all smile to read your kind comments!! I guess it is a matter of opinions! Please know that all matter to us and we greatly appreciate the time taken in leaving them Hope to see you again,...

Wantage, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have driven by The Hare & Hounds for years - having lived locally since 1975, I'm sorry to say I have never 'popped in'. Some friends invited us to join them for a meal last evening and we agreed: always nice to catch up. I had no real expectations but was pleasantly surprised with the bar and seating area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike P What took you so long!! Seriously, thank you for a lovely review. Our staff do work so hard and care so much, and it is so pleasing for us all when guests are kind enough to take the time to let us know we did a good job. Don't leave i so long next time!! and thanks...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

32 people brilliantly fed and looked after in the Barn. Jonathan and Team were superb and the food was great. Thanks guys for a really special memorable night for my lovely wife. The Barn is a lovely extension to a lovely Inn and the accommodation for a lot of us who stayed is also really comfortable. All in all an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dean C
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dean It was indeed a great pleasure to be part of your wife's special dinner. We are lucky enough to host many larger gatherings and The Barn certainly seems to suit the celebration atmosphere!! My very best wishes to you and yours and see you again! Jonathan and all at the Inn

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I had a Valentines meal, the service was very good and so was the food. So we re-booked for Mothers Day as a treat for my wife and my son joined us with his partner and our grandson. All 4 adults had a good time, and the food was yet again good, as we enjoyed 3 courses....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank colin F
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Colin F Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed two of our busiest days so far this year! We are rightly proud of our staff and how they do go that extra bit to ensure we have a busy and successful restaurant. This is down to them and they read all reviews, so thank...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here on the 17th of March and had such a great time. Our room was comfortable, the food (a special St Paddy's menu) was fantastic and the full English breakfast the next morning was tasty without being greasy. Would definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Foodie1405
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Foodie Thank you for your great review and for joining us for our St Patricks Dinner. It certainly went down very well and we shall be doing more similar events throughout the year. If you haven't already, please join our mailing list on our website and we can keep you up to date on this and much more! Thank...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Shower broken, door unlockable, unhelpful staff. One of those places that is successful because of where it is rather than for any service provided. Manager apathetic and disinterested. But unfortunately so was owner. Turned up for breakfast at 9:33 to be told that breakfast stopped at 9:30 on the Sunday morning that the clocks changed. A hotel that could be...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank gwhabbott
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GWAbbott My apologies, we didn't actually meet you, but would certainly have been very interested! We are immensely proud to be N0 1 on TA in Newbury, and all our staff have and do work very hard to have this much appreciated accolade. We are however human, and when we err we can only say Sorry!! We do apologise...

Newbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We met some friends for lunch at The Hare and Hounds, eating in the barn. The food was very good and the bottle of New Zealand sauvignon blanc was excellent. Staff were friendly, cutlery and glasses polished to perfection. Well done HHH!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
Jonathan N, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review

Dear All Ah yes the New Zealand S/Blanc, together with its sibling the superb Pinot Noir, two gorgeous wines form our list! Sorry, i digress! Thanks you for your kind words and taking the time to leave them! See you again soon when I shall be happy to be your official wine taster!! Best wishes and cheers Jonathan Owner

362 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (6)
Viewed
Cottage Superior Room (19)
Viewed
Family Room (27)
Viewed
Premium Double Room (24)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Small Double Room (23)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (12)
Viewed
Suite (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (69)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.5 km away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,618 reviews
0.8 km away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
5.9 km away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
722 reviews
1.9 km away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.1 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Price Range: ₹ 5,118 - ₹ 8,746 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, Berkshire
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hare and Hounds Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
North Andover, Massachusetts
9 days ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
10 days ago
Brockville, Canada
buckingham

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hare and Hounds Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are alll good!!”
390deanc, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 19 to 22 ground floor & easy access with parking outside room & away from the road which can be busy at times although not a problem”
759robinh, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the road are good, no external noise”
Hm37551, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“This place is on a busy road but the rooms seem to be to the back and side of the main old inn.”
LorraineA947, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear of the car park are further from the main road and quieter.”
686PaulB686, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5