We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassador Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,170: English reviews
Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked the hotel in the car on the way to Scarborough for a spur of the moment birthday trip. For the amount we paid we didn't expect much but were pleasantly disappointed as the hotel is lovely. We booked a small double room but it was extremely spacious and not small at all. It was very comfortable and spotlessly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jane L Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay. I am so pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning. I will pass your lovely comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ambassador soon! Kind Regards

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Two day stay for a birthday treat,we arrived at the hotel which looked lovely from outside and on entering,until we went up to our room when coming from the lift on the 2nd floor there were stains on the carpet and it looked like it needed a good vac.On entering the room it was small and the tv wasn't much...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank borntiny
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear borntiny Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay, we do take all feedback into account and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I can see from your booking that you did discuss the issues raised with our reception team on check out. These issues were all rectified as soon as we...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Stopped here on Saturday night, the hotel is in a great location about 5-10 minute walk into Scarborough. The hotel provides free street parking which there is plenty of. Rooms are nice and clean, maybe a little bit of decorating needs doing but no issue as clean. Breakfast was included and a good selection of continental or full English. For...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul27182
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul27182 Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased you found the room nice and clean and you will be pleased to here that were are currently in the process of decorating our rooms. We dpo hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind...

Reviewed 21 March 2017

We only stayed in the hotel for a night but we wished we could have stayed longer. Really nice and clean rooms, the staff was welcoming and helpful at all times and the pool and the sauna we're small but clean and had a nice atmosphere. The breakfast was high quality and a good choice of food. We felt comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lotte B
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lotte B Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review, I am so pleased to here you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon and hopefully next time it will be for longer. Kind Regards

Bridlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

The first impression was not good, the stairways didn't look like they had been cleaned in a while and although the room had fairly good facilities the mattress was uncomfortable and the bathroom was very tired and unwelcoming. However the breakfast was really good and the dining room nice and airy with lovely views across the Bay. Although the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LisetteSansome
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LisetteSansome Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us at the Ambassador Hotel. You will be pleased to here that we are currently undergoing a mini refurbishment and we will soon be having new bathrooms fitted. I am pleased to here you enjoyed breakfast and our lovely sea views. We hope to...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

The staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. Our room was nice with a wet room so the bathroom is ideal for disabled people. The breakfast is one of the best we have had in Scarborough good quality food and plenty of it for anyone with a healthy appetite.The hotel is close to the Spa cliff lift so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chris-elliott30
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear chris-elliott30 Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay with us, I am so pleased to here you enjoyed your stay and that you will return to the hotel. I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ambassador Hotel!...

Brotton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for my friends hen do, was lovely on arrival to get a very friendly greeting from moira. It's not near the centre so quiet on a night. Great views. Hotels undergoing refurb in parts as some is run down a bit but would highly recommend, pool area is lovely, an the breakfast which was fantastic

 Report
Helpful?
Thank louticus
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear louticus Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay with us, I am so pleased to here you enjoyed your stay. I will pass your kind comments onto Moira and rest of the team We hope to welcome you back to the Ambassador Hotel in the future. Kind Regards

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

The swimming pool was really cold on our visit, so cold that some people didn't get in it. Our room was small, the light above the bed was in bits with the lampshade and light bulb on the window ledge and the radiator controls were broken. It was so hot in the room we had the window open all night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie N
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie N Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry that the room was not up to our usual standards and I can confirm these issues have now been resolved. I am pleased to here that you enjoyed our breakfast. We hope to welcome you back to the Ambassador...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Good amenities, including swimming pool, sauna. Breakfast was good plenty of choice. Bathroom could have been better. Toilet was difficult to flush. Good seaview over the bay.Yes we would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11Yorky7
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback, you will be pleased to hear that our bathrooms are getting a referb over the next couple of weeks and the toilet flush has now been fixed We do hope to see you again soon

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile

I was charged an extra £100 due to my 2 year old son being sick on the bedding. I told the cleaner and she advised me that it was fine and just one of those things and to just leave the bedding on the floor as it would be getting washed anyway. They charged me without any contact I would...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank xamypogsonx
CustomerService3638, General Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amy You was charged due to the excess sick that was not only all over the room but up the walls and on the mattress (this was not baby sick), the blood all over the bed and sheets and the used nappies you left all over the room for me and my team to clean up. The cleaners actually...

444 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (417)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (188)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,641 reviews
2.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
801 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
606 reviews
0.9 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
566 reviews
1.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 4,783 - ₹ 12,670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 315 on the 3rd floor.”
Mr_Bee_Middlesex_UK, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The extra space in the Executive Room was worth it. The view is a good and although I didn't stay in a sea view room, I would if I go back”
F8468AWmichaelm, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor was quiet, with good view from our room which was 305.”
MikeFuerterventura, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If our room cleanliness is anything to go by, then none of them are good!”
  • I've got relatively short hair and white soap
  • Please don't catch your leg on the loose screws
  • How many pull cords do you need?
  • Only just holding on.
  • Loose screw's on bath panel
  • Stained curtain
  • Dirt near basin edge
  • South Bay splendour
NickyMc18, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“best views from the front rooms”
859brian, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5