We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ambassador Hotel

Hotels.comUS$ 67*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Ambassador Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ambassador Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,170: English reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my partner decided to book this on the same day as check in as we were driving around trying to find a hotel aimlessly. We arrived too early to check in but the lady at the desk kindly gave me a free parking disc and offered to store our luggage whilst we went for lunch and explored Scarborough...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorna T
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LornaT Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review about your recent stay, I am so pleased to here that you had an enjoyable stay and that you have booked to return. We do take all feedback into account and I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding the water dispenser, this is something...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the ambassador last weekend and after reading some of the reviews on here I was pretty nervous. We were in Scarborough for a wedding in another hotel and booked an executive room here. Room great, little bit tired, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely and the staff more than helpful. We would stay here again if we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ADo25
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ADo25 Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review, I am pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay and that you would book again. I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ambassador Hotel soon! Kind Regards

Skipton
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Firstly what a fabulous location, located above the south bay, looking out to sea. Plenty of free street parking outside and close to the hotel. We had a lovely friendly welcome and we received a complimentary upgrade, which was gratefully received. We only paid £46 a night, so can't really grumble. The rooms are tired and bed was uncomfortable, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SkiptonPhoebe
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SkiptonPhoebe Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review, I am pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade. I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ambassador Hotel soon! Kind Regards

Motherwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel was really good,nice clean rooms only fault was quite hot at night in rooms.Breakfast was excellent ,staff very friendly nice bar area drinks at a reasonable price.Used the pool and sauna found it very good yes some small issues like climbing out to turn on jacuzzi but we didn't find it that much of a problem.Overall we thoroughly enjoyed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert L Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review, I am so pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay and that you would book again. I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Ambassador Hotel soon! Kind Regards

Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

last minute idea for a night away with my wife . we did visit Scarborough recently and enjoyed the break .checked offers online and found the Ambassador b&b £49 . most reviews were positive so we phoned and booked .on arrival the receptionist gave us a free upgrade with sea view .although a wee bit dated it was clean ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joe m
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear joe m Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased to here you enjoyed your last minute get away and that we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade to a sea view room. We do hope to welcome you back to the Ambassador Hotel soon. Kind Regards

Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived at hotel just after 2 30pm on saturday shown to original room which was dissapointing and small with a poor sea view not what we had asked for on booking tried to boil kettle and blew fuses in room comlained to staff and after some delay went for walk to obtain a cup of tea, On returning to hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 859brian
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 859brian Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your original room and that there was a fault with the electrics, unfortunately this was something out of our control but the staff did resolve the issue as soon as they could. I am pleased to here that...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

very disappointed we knew room didn't have a sea view but room had a cracked opaque window overlooking bricks .mattress was tatty and unclean with obvious springs sticking out.nothing pleasant about room to report.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m0ssh0use
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear m0ssh0use Thank you for providing feedback regarding your recent stay and I am sorry that you were disappointed with your room. Had you mentioned your disappointment whilst you were at the hotel, we would have done all we could to rectify these issues or moved you to another room, as the most important thing to us is that all...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Rooms were clean and shower was really nice. Breakfast was stocked with essentials. Unfortunately there was no evening meals. On leaving there was no interaction asking if we had enjoyed our stay. Staff didn't seem overly friendly

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Booyahyizzer
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Booyahyizzer Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Unfortunately we no longer do evening meals as we are now a Bed & Breakfast leisure hotel. I am sorry that you didn't find the staff friendly however this does surprise me as you will be able to see from our other reviews we do always get...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great hotel and really nice staff. Good value for money. The free parking is also a bonus. Sea views are brilliant. Small but nice swimming pool within the hotels demise which is free and the staff provide you with extra towels to use this facility.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sjk42
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sjk42 Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review regarding your recent stay, I so am pleased to here that you found it value for money and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope we can welcome you back to the Ambassador Hotel in the near future! Kind Regards

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed last week for one night . It's right by the beach (the views are beautiful) and walking distance into town . The hotel does offer on street parking and supply a car park permit . We found a space easily so we didn't mind . After a really long drive to the hotel we were given a complimentary...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rj0nes30
CustomerService3638, Front Office Manager at Ambassador Hotel, responded to this review

Dear rj0nes30 Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to here you enjoyed our Breakfast and that it was one of the best hotels breakfasts you have had - our chef will be very pleased to here this! In regards to the staff...

444 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (417)
Viewed
Bathroom (45)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (89)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Other (188)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,637 reviews
2.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
801 reviews
0.2 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Palm Court Hotel
Palm Court Hotel
#10 of 28 in Scarborough
606 reviews
0.9 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#5 of 28 in Scarborough
566 reviews
1.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ambassador Hotel combines wellbeing and relaxation with contemporary luxury, all framed beautifully by our stunning Sea-Views of the Harbour and Scarborough Castle.Indulge in complimentary Breakfast each morning. Escape to our boutique bolthole by the sea! We're perfect for group getaways, relax breaks and beach breaks. All guests receive a boutique bedroom, free wi-fi, free breakfast and free parking permit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Address: | The Esplanade, Scarborough Y011 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 4,783 - ₹ 12,670 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
#8 Family Hotel in Scarborough
#13 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Ambassador Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in room 315 on the 3rd floor.”
Mr_Bee_Middlesex_UK, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The extra space in the Executive Room was worth it. The view is a good and although I didn't stay in a sea view room, I would if I go back”
F8468AWmichaelm, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“3rd floor was quiet, with good view from our room which was 305.”
MikeFuerterventura, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If our room cleanliness is anything to go by, then none of them are good!”
  • I've got relatively short hair and white soap
  • Please don't catch your leg on the loose screws
  • How many pull cords do you need?
  • Only just holding on.
  • Loose screw's on bath panel
  • Stained curtain
  • Dirt near basin edge
  • South Bay splendour
NickyMc18, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“best views from the front rooms”
859brian, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$ 67* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$ 67
PricelineUS$ 69
TravelocityUS$ 67
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates