We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,029 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,019: English reviews
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2015 via mobile

I stayed here last night, on a whim. The place looks amazing from the outside, and has some interesting internal features too, which give the guest a glimpse of days gone by, when I can imagine how grand and special this huge hotel was. They actually sell a book here should you wish to read more about that. It's a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Stevestorey
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear stevestorey Thank you for your review. We are very diverse within the hotel, and last year we hosted our first ever same sex marriage and we are sorry if you felt that was not the chase when you both checked in. We have recently replaced most our beds within the hotel, as part of our on-going refurb works around...

Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 March 2015

My wife and I had two lovely weekend stays at The Grand Hotel this year and many last year, the first weekend was in February 2015 and the second weekend was in March 2015. We had a lovely room and enjoyed the nice relaxed atmosphere in the evening and for the money spent was great value!! Special thanks must go...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cosybreaks
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear cosybreaks Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent breaks away with us and you enjoyed the charm and relaxing nature of the hotel. We will ensure that your praise is passed along. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

We paid £45 for an upgraded room on the top floor and for that price we didn't really expect much, Wow ! just the chance to see the interior of the building made it worthwhile, it really is something else, if ever a building deserved the name grand this one does. although a little faded it must have been really...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ardrider
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Ardrider Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your room and found us to be good value for money. We don't use "powered eggs" without restaurant, all of food is cooked fresh daily using fresh ingredients We couldn't agree more, we are not 5 star and don't claim to be, but do provide amazing value...

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

Just had a 2 night stay with family, will not be recommending this hotel. Stayed in the -2 level its like a dungeon!! The hotel is very tired, the dinning room is soo bad the food is disgusting, we paid extra to upgrade for the breakfast for the 2 days, OMG it was Vile!!! We complained to the "Duty Manager"...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Angela B
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Angela B Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not like your value for money, internal room that we have within the hotel. These are clearly advertised as such on our website and we are sorry that you never noticed the room information when making your booking. All of our food is cooked...

Reviewed 25 March 2015

Lovely weekend. We went to the grand for the weekend. As always we had a lovely time. The hotel and all the staff are very friendly. Helping with any questions or request. the lift was broken which takes you to the Harbour restaurant. We were upgrade without any problem. The Lift was repaired Our room was great. so glad to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrisprestatynchurch
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear chrisprestatynchu Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed you time with us. As you note, when our lifts breakdown we always ensure that our lift company is called to make repairs right away when possible. Looking forward to welcoming you back

North Cornelly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 March 2015

on approach to my room on the third floor I noticed all the carpets were rippled and not secured down very well. As I exited the lift there is a door directly in front of you, behold the door is the mechanics to the chandelier which hangs high above the reception area and stairs. This door is easily opened as...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Cornellyjak
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Cornelljak Thank you for your review. It is clear that we never met with your expectations for your stay with us, which we would like to apologise for. We a little concerned about your comments with regards to the chandelier, these are all not connect on floor three and after walking your suggested route cannot find anything like you...

Reviewed 25 March 2015

Just had a 2 night dinner bed and breakfast stay. Upgraded to premium room for an extra £10 per night and can't complain at all, unless I was really pickie like not enough lighting in the room but that would be harsh ! We had a sea view on level 1, what a view ! The hotel is nearly 200...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skeppers
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear skeppers Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and had a good time. As noted there is limited parking spaced outside the hotel in the pay n display. We do offer our discounted council tickets which can also be used in other parts of the town, as detailed on the...

Kelsall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Without a doubt, this is the worst hotel experience I've ever had. (Please read my other reviews - they are so positive!) it started before we got to our room with a parking ticket being written after following the desk staff's instructions. £25. Even though check-in was posted as 3:00 p.m. our room wasn't ready until much later. And what...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 15Katie15
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear 15katie15 Thank you for your review. We are unsure about your parking ticket, as the only instructions we give is to ensure you follow the instructions on the back of the council tickets we sell at the hotel. The ticket does provide all the information you need to ensure no parking tickets are issued. We are not a 5...

Reviewed 23 March 2015 via mobile

Stopped here for one night for a weekend away. Thank god it was only one night. We had room 3008 down in the basement. It had know windows and was so small. When I took a shower it got so hot in the room as there was no windows. In the morning had to get up go up 3 floors...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank Stewart R
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Stewart R Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not like your city (internal) room. These rooms are clearly advertised as such at the point of booking and we are sorry that you never noticed it when making your value for money reservation with us. We are sorry to hear about your alleged incident with...

Reviewed 23 March 2015

Just stayed for two days and as the saying goes, you pay cheap you get cheap. Trying to find a parking space is a joke, once we parked up we only moved the car once as we couldn't find another space. The customer service needs a shake, are they that unhappy in their jobs? We were in a room on...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank bridlingtongirl
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear bridlingtongirl Thank you for your review. We don't have our own car park at the hotel, but do provide full parking information outside and within our lobby area, all of which is less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel. All of the staff try to offer a seamless service in line with our product offering, and we are...

2,086 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1958)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (391)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (379)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (892)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,276 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,498 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
781 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.5 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 2,815 - ₹ 9,821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
118 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (118)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pay extra and get a sea-view”
 of 5 bubbles 769terencew, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade seaview and dining premier 106 214”
 of 5 bubbles 320ritad, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles willt216, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definitely avoid room G1 to G4”
 of 5 bubbles harshman, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sixth floor room 602 is a turret room and has only a wall for a view!! Avoid if poss!”
 of 5 bubbles sue187048, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5