We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,031 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,021: English reviews
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2015

The Grand is part of Britania Hotel Group which was voted the Dirtiest Hotel Chain in Britain in 2014 and I am sure it will qualify for this dubious award in 2015. Rather than go into a lot of detail, as this has been well documented by other dissatisfied customers, I set out some main points to be aware of...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Norman H
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Norman H Thank you for your review. We hope that you raised all 8 of your points during your stay with us, as if you had you would have noticed that they are quite incorrect. We are extremely sorry that we did not meet with your expectations however.

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2015

stayed 1 Night in a standard twin room. If you like to queue for ages to get a room, enjoy really smelly damp rooms with 1970 delapadated furniture and leeks springing from the ceiling above your bed, wet linen and beds, mouldy wet carpets and a bathroom that was last cleaned in 1970 when the furniture arrived, then this hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank GSP68
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear GSP68 Thank you for your review. We are again sorry that there was a leak within your room, however we always would move a customer to alternative room when a leak happens and sorry that if this was not made clearer to you during your stay. We do hope that you take up the offer for a return stay.

East Yorkshire
Reviewed 2 April 2015

We stayed here for a couple of nights, our family had two rooms between us. Yes the hotel is a bit dated bit there are a lot of positives. It is reasonably priced. We were very pleased with our room but our other family members were in a small room on a high floor. The hotel has ample room to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maxine36
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Maxine36 Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you noticed that hard work all of the team put in the hotel, most of team have been with us many years and I know are thrilled to hear you feedback. We really do try to offer value for money, and are delighted that what you found during your...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Went with a pal on a National Holidays Trip - this was good value to be honest. However, the Hotel is as rough as guts. I do believe the staff really tried, but there are not enough of them and some of the clientele they allow in are the dregs of the earth - really... we had a shocking room...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brindle2000
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Brindle2000 Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you was put off by some other customers within the hotel. We do have a clear system when within the dining room, but as you noted its a little bit of a challenge at times. Thanks again and look forward to welcoming you back.

england
Reviewed 2 April 2015

After reading the reviews we were not looking forward to using our groupon after checking in we were given a small but clean and warm room we decided to upgrade for £10, we were then given a premier room with lovely seaviews it also had a whirlpool bath carpets a bit worn but again clean , harbour lights restaurant was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank anaharrr
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear anaharrr Thank you for your review. We are please that you ignored most of the reviews on here, we do see thousands of customers each year all, who like you are happy and have a fantastic time within the hotel. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Barnsley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015

I have stayed at this hotel quite a few times in the past and overall found it to be OK, We stayed at the Crown Spa last night 1/04/2014. We was in The Grand for the beer £2.20 a pint, but we took a wonder down to the lower levels and the smell was horrendous, so over powering and vile....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ackerman480
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Acjerman480 Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you never stayed with us to experience the true Grand. Our public toilets are checked and clean throughout the day, and we are sorry to see that some other customers did not respect the facilities when using them.

West Yorkshire
Reviewed 2 April 2015

After reading so many bad reviews on rooms I turned my key to room 551 with trepidation, to only find a lovely clean sea view family room. Having 2 children and a fussy grandmother we requested a room with a bath and to our surprise got a spa bath too. The only thing that could be improved on our visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sezwaz
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear sezwaz Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you liked your room with us, as do the many of thousands of customers who stay with us each year. The problem is with this website only the negative gets posted and not that much positive so we are pleased you ignored most of it. You are correct, we...

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2015 via mobile

Booked for a relaxing weekend but every aspect of our stay was terrible . Paid for room with a view . Received a mould stinking pit in the depths of the the devils cellar with no windows, dodgy lighting, faulty kettle, possible dead body's in the wall cavity .... and without a priest on hand to exorcise the demons we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WalterWhite01
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear WalterWhite01 Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. We will ensure that you feedback is passed to the relevant departments for further review.

Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2015

This hotel must have been Grand when built, but now needs millions to put it back to original condition. It was ok for the low price we paid. If you don't want to pay a lot then go to this hotel. After you have made this decision my only advice is that if the weather is cold take a fan...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 246Phil
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear 246phil Thank you for your review. We couldn't agree more, we offer really good value for money and we are pleased that what you found on your stay with us.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2015

The not very grand hotel, the. Only nice thing I can say about this hotel , is the staff on reception ,they had so many complaints ,to deal with ,the standard of cleanliness is nonexistent,,the food was bad ,the staff could not speak or understand English ,and we're rude ,this May have been a grand hotel in the past ,but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Joyce H
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Joyce H Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. We will ensure that you feedback is passed to the relevant departments for further review.

2,086 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1958)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (391)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (379)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (892)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,277 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,500 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
783 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.5 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 2,815 - ₹ 9,883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
118 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (118)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for what you want,”
 of 5 bubbles sammy1382016, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“pay extra and get a sea-view”
 of 5 bubbles 769terencew, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade seaview and dining premier 106 214”
 of 5 bubbles 320ritad, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles willt216, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definitely avoid room G1 to G4”
 of 5 bubbles harshman, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5