We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,027 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,017: English reviews
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2015

this hotel need alot of repair and not a nice experience never again, breakfast was awfull and mold on the ceiling didnt help, pet hairs in the bed where nice as was the wardrobe when opened covered you in dust employ some bettter cleaners aswell if you like the film the shinning go there if not stay away.

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Nick M
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Nick M Thank you for your review. Oh dear it certainly doesn't sound like we met with your expectations during your visit to us. The Grand Hotel is almost 150 years old, Britannia Hotels have spent millions of re-investment into the hotel to make it accessible to all, we continue with our on-going refurbishment programme over the coming year....

Reviewed 29 May 2015

Awful place. Terrible smells, inedible breakfast and long queues. Stayed for two nights, room was just about ok but the smell on the corridor outside was disgusting. Breakfast: warm orange juice, cold coffee, overcooked bacon and raw or burnt sausage. No fried eggs! Long queue to check in and when finally got to reception was given incorrect information about parking....

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Jukie91
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Jukie91 Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. We will ensure that your feedback is passed to the relevant departments for further review.

Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

I visited Scarborough 27th may 2015 me and my bf went there to celebrate our 5 years anniversary together and we booked this hotel, this hotel is so terrible no parking facilities which meant we spent all our money on parking in other places other hotels in Scarborough have parking facilities which is needed especially when we came from Manchester,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Reshma29
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Reshma29 We are really sorry to hear that we never met with your expectations for your stay with us. Due to the age of the hotel, nearly 150 years old, we do not have car parking like many other hotels in Scarborough in addition, this is clearly indicated on all our websites. We continue with our on-going refurbishment this...

Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

I wish I read reviews before I went, this place is disgusting, how can they have the guts to take money from people and call it a hotel. Rooms with no windows how is that allowed, dinner was foul one mouthful was enough for me, this place needs reporting to watchdog. Never again :(

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank whyohwhyme
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear whyohwhyme Oh dear it certainly doesn't sound like we ticked all your boxes. We do find your comment about reading reviews not accurate as you will see their are many positive reviews on this forum from many happy guests. We do hope you spoke to our team during your stay.

Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015

just like all Britania hotels only miles better…great lounge to chill out with a few beers. fantastic sweeping stairs to the first floor where we sat and had a drink on the wide balcony …bingo for those who want it in a quality function room where Elvis sang for the guests, pity we were to tired to join him. Like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank don c
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear don c Another happy guest!, thank you for sharing your experience with the traveller community. It certainly sounds like you are a Britannia Hotels fan!, thank for saying we are miles ahead! We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

Had a 30 minute wait in a queue while waiting to get served last Tuesday night. Two bar staff serving, finally the duty manager appeared to help out. Glasses on tables both inside & out remained uncollected. Surely its not too much to ask Britannia Hotels to adequately staff its bars, particularly during a holiday week!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Graham C
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Graham C Thank you for taking time to share your review with the traveller community. We are sorry to learn of your experience, this has been fully investigate and we have reviewed your concerns. We do hope you will visit us again in the future so we can show you a true holiday experience.

Reviewed 28 May 2015

this is the second time we have been here, the first time was fine that's why we went again. wish we hadn't. we booked a cheap room as it was last minute so we knew what we were getting.the room was fine , bed, bathroom, etc, but the noise from other rooms was awful, just someone talking sounded like they...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jill B
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Jill B Thank you for your review. We are very sorry to learn of your experience, this is unlike many other travellers during this time. All areas you have wrote about will be fully addressed with the team. We do hope you spoke to one of our team whilst you were with us so we could have rectified your...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 May 2015

I stayed at The Grand with my wife in room 47 and my mum and her friend stayed with us in room 12. Both rooms overlooked the sea my room was a double and the other room a twin. The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were a good size with a t.v, toiletries,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear David R It always gives us great pleasure to read when our guests have had an amazing holiday experience with us. We really do appreciate you writing your review and giving a true reflection of what the hotel is all about. Plus you have given great detail which I am sure many other traveller will appreciate. Thank you for...

Reviewed 28 May 2015 via mobile

We have never stayed here before and we have to say it is beautiful inside with the restaurant and lobby areas. The only down side is the dust in our room. We would definitely stay again. Good value for money, great staff. Great food. If you want a romantic week away, the grand Scarborough is the place for it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Thomas B Another happy guest!, thank you for taking to share this with the traveller community. We have an amazing hotel and it sound like you had a great holiday experience. We will look into the dust you have mentioned within your review. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our team.

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

Confusion with rooms, confusion with made up bar prices, queues out the door and half way round the building for breakfast, random guests kicking off about the state of the rooms and being asked to leave. But part of me just loves this place. You get what you pay for and the olde worlde weathered charm and the adventure to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kgdarling
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Kgdarling Thank you for taking time to write a review. We concerned to read you felt our bar prices are made up, this is not the case we have a bar price list available at all bars and we do not change this. It sounds like you are one of fans and we are sorry you had to witness...

2,086 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1958)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Bathroom (100)
Viewed
Room/Suite (391)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (379)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (892)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,273 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,496 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
780 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.5 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 2,817 - ₹ 9,826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
118 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (118)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“pay extra and get a sea-view”
 of 5 bubbles 769terencew, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade seaview and dining premier 106 214”
 of 5 bubbles 320ritad, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles willt216, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Definitely avoid room G1 to G4”
 of 5 bubbles harshman, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Sixth floor room 602 is a turret room and has only a wall for a view!! Avoid if poss!”
 of 5 bubbles sue187048, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5