We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Grand Hotel Scarborough

Booking.comUS$ 50*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$ 50*
US$ 51*
US$ 50*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Grand Hotel Scarborough
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Grand Hotel Scarborough
See the most recent reviews
Showing 6,105: English reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2015

Dreadful place. Very imposing from outside but we were allocated rooms, one -2 which had no windows and was very hot and stuffy. We asked for a fan but that was so old it made such a lot of noise it kept us awake all night. Another member of our party was allocated a room 4 floors above us and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kaye C
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Kaye C Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. Our City rooms offer amazing value for money for the budget traveller as many other reviewers have commented on. All our bedrooms have Fire Doors and as per legal standards are Fire resistant, in...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Lovely place to stay lovely staff helpful u polite very very kind go there maybe 3/4 time s a year take. Our dog with us he loves it reception staff n bar staff lovely would love to work there myself every one helpfully n loads off fun xxxxx

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LULU580
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear LULU580 Thank you for your review. Another happy guest!, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the traveller community. We are a pet friendly hotel and I am sure your dog, (Sorry don't know their name) had a great time being able to come with you. Thank you so much for your kind comments in...

Flamborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

It was a great hotel. to stay at this Hotel for the price . we could not folt it . we could not say it was bad at all. The staff on Front desk was great , looked after us from the minute we arrived, and so polite and could not do enough. The Duty Manager Anne was so nice....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Davidandian2014
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Davidandian2014 Thank you for your review. It always gives us great pleasure to read when one of our customers has had amazing holiday experience with us and are able to share with the traveller community. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to our team, your comments will be shared with them. We do hope to welcome you...

Cleator, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

the food hygiene standard in this hotel leave a lot to be desired with high risk foods not being held at the correct temperature and evening meals more like a school canteen than a hotel The rooms were clean but the staff seemed constantly under pressure

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank snaptrac
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear snaptrac Thank you for your review. We take food hygiene extremely seriously within the hotel, as you may have seen we hold a 4 Star Food Hygiene from the local environmental health team. Regular audits are conducted internally and externally to ensure all standards are adhered to. We do hope you spoke to one of our restaurant team during...

Halifax
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Bought a voucher for The Grand on Groupon. £55 for 2 people to have a jug of Pimms, dinner, bed and breakfast for one night - bargain. People who are expecting luxury should pay more and go elsewhere. The Grand is a wonderful building, yes, it does need some fixing up but it would cost millions and would take a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Hosprky
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Hosprky Thank you for your review. It certainly sounds like you were able to gain an amazing offer to stay with us for your break. The hotel is currently undergoing a large refurbishment project which due to the size of the hotel is taking time, however in the background many projects are underway. Thank you for your kind comments...

Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We booked this hotel so that we had a vantage point overlooking the bay for the air displays on Saturday and of course it did not disappoint. Great views overlooking the sea on a generous terrace adjacent to the bar and coffee shop. The room we were given on arrival was one of the ‘City rooms’ floor minus 3. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mandycm67
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Mandyycm Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. Our City Bedrooms offer amazing value for money, we are sorry to learn about your first but pleased to read Ken our Duty Manager was able to relocate you to another room which was more...

Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 June 2015

First room we were given resembled a prison cell, the view from the window was a turret wall and it was 6ft high, the ledge it was sat on was full of cigarette ends, we insisted on being moved. Second room resembled a third rate hostel, very dated, dirty and the carpet had seen better days, the curtain at the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank rob h
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear rob h Thank you for your review. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. Due to the Victorian nature of the hotel all our bedrooms vary in shape size and design. We are sorry to learn our high standards were not place within...

Stavanger, Norway
Reviewed 30 June 2015

If you can choose another hotel, do it! Nobody should stay here before they have renovated it. The building is so filthy that my son had an allergic reaction. The dust is in all the old carpets. Outside it is just as bad. The seagull is absolutely taking over the hotel. They have to take back the control, both inside...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Linda H
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Linda H Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. The hotel is currently undergoing a major refurbishment, we are replacing beds, re-carpeting, flat screen TV's and redecoration in bedrooms and all public areas. In addition we recently completed a complete clean of all...

SCOTLAND
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Was here last year with a friend had a great time So this year 6 of us decided to go and no complaints from any of us Our rooms were all spotless with great sea views and everything we needed including jacuzzi bath Food was to every ones liking as we had a choice of what to eat so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MCKENNA86
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear MCKENNA86 Thank you for your review. It always gives us great pleasure to read when one of our loyal fans takes the time to share your experience with the traveller community. We are so glad to here your party had an amazing Holiday experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2015

Built in 1863 and don't think it's been touched since. We booked 3 different places 3 nights running through booking.com this place was disgusting. We were given twin beds even though we wanted double - 3 floors down with no window and the smell in the corridors was horrible. We complained and they swapped rooms the second night with seaside...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jayne J
Grand724, Manager at Grand Hotel Scarborough, responded to this review

Dear Jayne J Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet with your expectations during your stay with us. Our City rooms offer amazing value for money for the budget traveller as many other reviewers have commented on. We are pleased to read we were able to upgrade you during your stay. The...

2,141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2013)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (413)
Viewed
Room/Suite (393)
Viewed
View from Room (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (100)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (33)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (8)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (911)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (78)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Beach (2)
Viewed
Double Room with Sea View (29)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
2,310 reviews
0.4 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,646 reviews
1.2 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
804 reviews
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
0.3 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the Town Centre, the Grand Scarborough Hotel takes pride of place overlooking the town's harbour and South Bay. One of the town's landmark features and instantly recognisable on the skyline. Our location is ideal in Scarborough from which to enjoy beautiful sandy beaches, promenade walks and all that Scarborough has to offer, all within a short stroll away. LIVE entertainment is available every night with our dazzling cabaret shows featuring professional dancers and entertainers dressed in stunning costumes. We offer free wifi with all of our public spaces, along with dedicated PC terminals (small charge) for customers who do not bring their own computer. We have a range of meeting rooms, conference space with break out area and our stunning Palm Court Ballroom with majestic views of the south bay for hire, including weddings (ceremony & function). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Scarborough

Address: St. Nicholas Cliff, Scarborough YO11 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Price Range: ₹ 3,341 - ₹ 9,509 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Scarborough 3*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Scarborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Grand Hotel
Grand Scarborough
The Grand Hotel Scarborough
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and other travellers.
121 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (121)

Questions? Get answers from Grand Hotel Scarborough staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The ground floor rooms have been re done and are clean but you can't choose a room”
409lindaT, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best views are overlooking the sea”
Jonah61, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“up grade is worth it for the view”
151paulinec, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't be mis-lead by the name”
billyboy2802, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“another hotel”
211garthd, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$ 50* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$ 51
TripAdvisorUS$ 50
Priceline
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates